We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic retreat”
Review of Sagu Mini Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sagu Mini Resort
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

We spent 3 days in this idyllic retreat on the waters edge. Very comfortable accomodation full of character. Lovely breakfast Great scrambled eggs. 10-15 minutes walk to the village. Need to be reasonably sure footed. Very nice and helpful staff

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DSF13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

Spent 5 nights with a friend at Sagu. We were the only guests due to it being low season. But we enjoyed it very much.
We had arranged pick up at Rio airport which was no hazzle and the driver met us at the airport on time. The drive to the port from where you take a boat is about 2 hours. Then the boat is about 15min to Abraao. When we arrived in Abraao we were picked up by Sagu's own boat. There are no cars on the island.

Breakfast was included and was lovely with a good choice. Sitting on the terrace overlooking the ocean it magical.

Our room was very comfy , clean and wifi worked well.

The resort has a restaurant but it was closed in may due to low season. We were looking forward to having some caipirinhas in the evening so were a bit disappointed. Unfortunately they did not tell us when booking. That was the only minus.
However they did provide us with dinner 2 nights in a row because my friend was sick with the flu and wasn't able to walk 15 min into town to get some food. So that was very kind of them.

Communication with the staff can be a bit difficult if you don't speak Portuguese but Ilton spoke very well so it was all good and he was there most of the time.

Overall highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Holidaytravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

Arriving by boat with my wife and another couple to the most beautiful place on the island. Natural setup gives it a special atmosphere with a fantastic layout. The staff were very friendly though they were not perfect in English, but enough to understand what we were asking for.

The nice rooms were very cosy, furnished with lively colors. A hammock on each balcony with an ocean veiw. I guess the many many photos taken by guests can give a good idea about the resort, and prove how interesting the place is. I tried to add a photo, but I could not find a corner that have not been photographed and posted.

The food in the hotel's restaurant is good and reasonably priced, but the choice was very limited. A happy hour between 4:00 and 6:00pm offers a "Pay one and get one free" drink, and a free coffee and tea are offered everyday at 4:00pm. The breakfast is acceptable though very classical.
Free internet was offered though sometimes it was disconnected for short times.
A paid transport to the main peer and market is available back and forth, or a 15 minutes walk on the beach is another option, but in this case it is suggested to walk with flip flops because in some places you need to cross very small water streams.

Bottom line, it is a very nice place to be, and wish we could stay longer, and if we have a chance to go back, we will not hesitate to do so.

Room Tip: All rooms have nice ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaguResort, Manager at Sagu Mini Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Thank you so much for your review, It was an honor to welcome you as our guests.
The comments were very productive and we are working to improve the aspects mentioned.

Regards,
Sagú Mini Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Extraordinary location. Nice room, even if are not what you say on website pictures. Perfect for visiting Ilha Grande. English spoking. Free shuttle from arrival pier to hotel at check in and check out

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gillesvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaguResort, General Manager at Sagu Mini Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Thank you so much for your review, It was an honor to welcome you as our guests.
The comments were very productive and we are working to improve the aspects mentioned.

Regards,
Sagú Mini Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Overall: The staff of Sagu are really what make the place, having traveled throughout Brazil, they are some of the most attentive and willing to help we have experienced. Parabéns Sagu staff!
They helped us to charter different boat tours (group and a private snorkel tour) and made navigating the ship-shore boats an even simpler process.
To those who are concerned about language, there is one fluent English speaker on during the day/evening. Others staff will have varying levels, learn some Portuguese and you'll open a lot of opportunities.

Location: Probably the most important to note for some. We loved the location being removed from town, especially as it was Carnival during our stay. It is a 10/15 minute walk to get to town over beaches or a very short taxi-boat ride. Sagu is the only Resort/Pousada near town with its own dock which also meant the boat tours came to us and we didn't have to walk into town to get them, a very nice perk. Plus you can see tons of aquatic life right from the dock.

Food: Breakfast is usual Brazilian fair, excellent fruit, bread, meat, cheeses, cereals, eggs/omelettes available on request. We had dinner at the resort restaurant one evening after a long day out. The menu is short, but the food was good and well plated. There are also some of the highest rated restaurants between Sagu and the main town (Lua e Mar comes to mind).

Rooms: All have AC, hammocks, tables etc. We had a large room (two beds/two floors), and the AC did struggle a bit on the hottest days, with two fans it made for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XPatTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaguResort, General Manager at Sagu Mini Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Thank you so much for your review, It was an honor to welcome you as our guests.
The comments were very productive and we are working to improve the aspects mentioned.

Regards,
Sagú Mini Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.4 km away
Asalem
Asalem
#5 of 17 in Ilha Grande
306 reviews
1.9 km away
Hospedagem Acorde
Hospedagem Acorde
#17 of 17 in Ilha Grande
38 reviews
1 km away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#3 of 17 in Ilha Grande
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Pousada Naturalia
Pousada Naturalia
#1 of 17 in Ilha Grande
570 reviews
0.8 km away
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
#12 of 17 in Ilha Grande
330 reviews
0.4 km away
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
#7 of 17 in Ilha Grande
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagu Mini Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagu Mini Resort

Address: Praia Brava | Praia Brava, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ilha Grande
Price Range: $235 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagu Mini Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sagu Mini Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagu Mini Hotel Ilha Grande
Sagu Mini Ilha Grande
Sagu Mini Resort Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing