We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$135
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$133
View deal
Hurb
US$115
View deal
Hotels.comUS$133
TravelocityUS$133
Trip.comUS$176
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (793)
Filter reviews
793 results
Traveller rating
491
210
59
18
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
491
210
59
18
15
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 793 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2019

we didn't expect such a beautiful architecture .....and Petropolis has many others that
you can hardly see in one day ! don't forget the top ranking restaurant with original cooking....! we apreciate fitness room and swimming pool !

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank francois b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 January 2019 via mobile

Pros:
-The hotel is gorgeous, inside and outside;
-They have spa, indoor and outdoor pool, gym, massage therapy and jacuzzi(on maintenance);
-Awesome food, all day, everyday;
-Kitchen and dining room staffs are the only ones who know exactly what they are doing;
-Fantastic location;

Cons:
-You have to beg for cleaning service;
-We could hear the traffic really really loud in our room(42);
-In our room, one person can barely fit inside the shower;
-The toilet lid couldn't stand by itself so I had to hold it up;
-Smallest swimming pools I have ever seen in a hotel;
-Food is extremely expensive;
-Really poor and intermittent wifi signal. Good luck if you need to use it for working;
-Way too overrated. Not worthy the price.

With a bit more of investment, care and planning, this hotel has the potential to be an hotel of excellence.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank danibracara
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

We came to Petropolis for a two nights stay at Solar do Império. Our room was on the adjacent house (room 41) and oh boy it is noisy at night. It is next door to a busy street with city buses going through all night long and, to make matters worse, it has a taxi stop right under our window where the drivers start speaking loud at 6am. Bring earplugs. Like another reviewer said, all the charm of an older home goes away with the lack of soundproof - we can hear our next door neighbors too.
If that wasn’t enough, the rooms are not well cleaned. The rugs are filthy, the potty is simply disgusting- picture below.
Lack of power outlets around the room is just another reason why I would never recommend this hotel to a friend.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank mfgoldin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

Old private house converted into small hotel, very much faded in respect of fixtures, furnishings and decor (for example our blackout window curtains were ripped and torn).

Virtually no space in our room to open a suitcase, and bathroom is open to the outside at all times so you need to watch out for mosquitoes.

Former guests hair still present on the wall of our shower did not inspire confidence in their cleanliness.

We had dinner in the dining room and while the salad starter was good the main course was inedible. It was advertised as Chicken breast on a rosti with sage sauce and Brie cheese.

When it came it was a massive pile of almost raw shredded potato, topped with a chicken breast over cooked until leathery, smothered in a gloopy green custard with the promised melted Brie all over it. It looked dreadful and tasted as it looked.

No gluten free bread or other food which was unusual in our experience of 6 hotels in Brazil.

If you want to visit Petropolis for the history, the guide books say this is one of the best hotels, maybe it is, but don’t go to stay there as a destination hotel as you will be disappointed.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank RicDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
jane a, Proprietário at Hotel Solar do Imperio, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Dear Sir , thanks so much for your kindness to share with us your impressions of our service.
We are sorry for the cleaning procedure failure inf the shower box and for the execution of our Chicken breast with rostie of our menu. In name of chef Bertrand Martene we apologyze for that - chef Bertrand usually talks to the clients during the service , not only to answer any question but specially to check if flavour and execution was ok. We are sorry , he was not at the kitchen at this date.
We customize very frequently the service to our guests - we should also have asked to you if any dietary restriction would be necessary. It has been very frequent the request of glutenfree ingredients - usually we purchase fresh products as per each client request . We also could have been done better if we had raised the question to you previously about any restriction to gluten.Sorry about that.
We are very proud to be recommended as on of the best hotels in Petropolis and strongly desire to keep this reference due to our services. For this reason , we again thanks you for your comments - for sure will be taken into action and adjusted immediately . Would be very happy if in a future visit to Petropolis you would demonstrate confidence on us to be hosted at Solar do Império again.
kind regards
jane assis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

The hotel is wonderful, located in a huge area at the most beatiful avenue in the city (Köeller). Some apartments are located in the main building (aged 140 years) and others (like ours, Visconde de Rio Branco) in a mansion also within the same area. Our room was very large although the bathroom was a little small. Breakfast was excellent. Both hotel and restaurant teams were lovely and helpful.
Almost all rooms suffer from traffic noise coming from the square in front of the hotel. Even with the restrictions because it is a historic building something should be done to mitigate this effect. During the night there's virtually no traffic.

Room tip: Rooms with view to the internal yard are quieter.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elias H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews