We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$67
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$71/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bomtempo Resort(Petropolis)
US$171
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aconchego Imperial(Petropolis)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Borgo San Felice(Itaipava)(Great Value!)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pousada Riacho Doce(Araras)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ace Suites Inn Hotel(Petropolis)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ace Imperial(Petropolis)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
105
39
11
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
105
39
11
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We went for dinner. The place is so beautiful, with a homey feeling. Great decor and good food. The service is the best you can get. It was a pity that we couldn't visit the garden, as it was already dark when we got there.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank MariseCaetano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We stayed one night and wished we were staying longer. The garden is beautiful with lovely trees and flowers and a large swimming pool. There were great views of the surrounding hills and many birds and butterflies. The rooms were comfortable and had all we needed. The evening meal and breakfast were both delicious. The staff were excellent and the owner spoke good English. I would recommend this pousada if you are visiting Petropolis .

Room Tip: On first floor overlooking the garden and mountains
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alison711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

We've been coming here for 15 years and we're never dissapointed! The garden is simply amazing and the staff goes above and beyond. The food here is also very good. Owners are very kind people. Can't wait to return again!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

We came to Brazil from Oregon to attend the wedding of our friends, Ana and Bernardo, which the held at the Pousada. The place is fabulous. The food was exceptional. The staff made the wedding reception seamless. Highly recommend!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank AdelleGoodrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016

If you like modern, luxury hotels - don't bother to read any further. Pousada Da Alcobaça is a rarity - a beautiful, old fashioned Pousada where everything works! We were told about it by Brazilian friends who live near by - and thank goodness we were! It ended up being the highlight of a really good trip to Brazil! The hotel is owned by a charming lady, Donna Laura, and is managed by her sixth son, who was actually born in the house fifty years ago, long before it became a hotel. He told us to call him William, as he knew we would never manage to pronounce his real name! They both speak perfect English - but none of the other, equally charming staff do. The house is beautiful, filled with art (some of it quite good, some of it less so), sculpture, and a collection of 'bits and pieces' - a real home. We had the best room, overlooking a pool in the garden. Our room was called Alcobaça.The rooms are old fashioned, with crochet mats and old furniture. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was fine - better than many we came across on our travels!

There is a large,beautiful lounge, with a much welcomed wood fire, which leads to a pleasant dining room and a large, gorgeous, traditional kitchen. Breakfast was great and so was the food generally. It is known locally as a very good restaurant. The menu is very short and doesn't change, so a long stay might be a problem. We stayed four nights, which seemed perfect.

The best thing about Alcobaça is the garden. I have never seen anything like it. It is absolutely huge and includes a vast kitchen garden, where much of the food used in the kitchen comes from. Every day we would set off in a different direction and come across areas we had never seen before. Swimming pool, tennis court, a small river, pools, houses - and loads of bamboo, birds and butterflies!

One word of warning. If you want an easy life, try booking through Booking.com or somewhere like that, as communication direct can be a bit difficult - but if Booking.com says they are full for your dates, persevere and contact the hotel direct. They only put three of their rooms out for bookings, so they will almost certainly have space if you contact them direct.

Thank you William - we are already looking forward to our return!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank lynntrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pousada A, Proprietário at Pousada Da Alcobaca, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016


Dear Mss. Trick

We have no enough words to express our gratitude. You've being really kind, what is not a surprise for us after your visit.
William and Guilherme are the same name in different languages, but hard for you in Portuguese.
The Alcobaça will Always be yours.
We hope to hear from you soon.
Warmest regards,

Laura and Guilherme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews