We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$64
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$63
View deal
Hurb
US$52
View deal
Hotels.comUS$63
PricelineUS$64
TravelocityUS$63
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,028)
Filter reviews
1,028 results
Traveller rating
483
421
90
20
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
483
421
90
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valet service comfy bed rooms are modern historic town beautiful hotel lobby brazil
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,028 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2019

We stayed here for a single night in mid-September 2019 and were not disappointed. We had two single rooms, one facing the street with a cute balcony, at R$450 each, with breakfast. The hotel is well-appointed and the rooms spacious and well laid out. It is not the height of luxuty but it is sufficient if you want to be in the centre of the town, a classic, rather old-fashioned hotel. Breakfast was very good, and valet parking easy and convenient at no extra charge. Petrropolis is not the most exciting city, but it has pretty streets and is of great historical interest - a good stop, about 90 minutes (depending on traffic and weather: the road gets very narrow, steep and windy in parts) out of Rio if you are travelling later into Minas Gerais as we were. The main reason we stopped here was to see Casa Zweig, which was, sadly, a disapointment as nothing of the interior of the house remains and no atmosphere of the post has been preserved in any way.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jsn_chiaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 19 November 2018

Beautifully refurbished hotel of the beginning of the 20th century, the Grande Hotel Petrópolis offers comfortable accommodations, each with their own workstation. The hotel is environmentally-friendly and has received massive investment for that purpose. There are units adapted for the handicapped. The restaurant is very peaceful, has a very nice menu and reasonable prices. Service is impeccable.

Room tip: strategically located; spacious
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank M8886ZNvictoriav
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 August 2018

Okay so it's not getting a 5 star rating but this is a very nice place to stay if you are visiting Petropolis. It is located right in the heart of this bustling town.
My room was very comfortable. It was a bit cold, it being winter in Brazil, but there were additional bed covers available in the room to overcome this.
There was no iron or ironing board in the room. I didn't check with reception but I'm sure they would have provided one if asked.
Breakfast was adequate. A selection of breads, cakes, fruits and some hot products.
The hotel staff were very friendly.
I would stay here again if I am ever visiting Petropolis again.
I would also recommend Casa D'Angelo just across the street from the hotel for a great place to get a drink and people watch.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank adrianaQ3186UO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Not as "sophisticated" and "design" as on their website description... still keep on falling for the marketing, damnit!! The keyword here should be "standard".

Standard hotel. Standard staff. Standard rooms. Standard breakfast buffet. Nothing fancy. End of story. If you need to stay there, get the front rooms with the nicer view.

Restaurant is a bit of a let down, don't eat there (we had to because it was pouring outside). It seemed they were surprised to have guests, and it tasted like that.

Still, probably one of Petropolis' best hotels. Unfortunately. Petropolis is best done on a day trip from Rio.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seteaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed here recently on a business trip, found the hotel really nice with friendly helpful staff, the rooms were spotless and air conditioned as it would've been too hot without it, breakfast was a bit limited but still of good quality. Would definitely use this hotel again as its in a good central location with bars and restaurants all within walking distance.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Allan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews