We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$53
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/02/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$52
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/23
Hotels.com
US$52
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/23
PricelineUS$53
TravelocityUS$52
TripadvisorUS$52
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,115)
Filter reviews
1,118 results
Traveller rating
314
509
229
43
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
314
509
229
43
23
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,118 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2017

The best in Petropolis for tourists is try to walk all day long, and having best and more touristic and beautiful places near its a plus, so this hotel is in the middle of that. Affordable rooms and food.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JorgeLuisHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

The hotel is well situated in the center of the city. The first building in the front is beautiful but you will probably sleep behind, in a normal building. The breakfast was good but nothing special. The restaurant is not very good. Probably not the best place to stay in petropolis.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 311j_r_miep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 October 2016

The hotel is situated in the mansion of the Count of Pedro Afonso and preserves most of the original structure (modifications were performed to have bathrooms in each room).
The part net I stayed in was a bit noisy.
Free Wi-fi was fast but with several outages, although reconnected easily.
Breakfast is good, with several options, and served in a old style room.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Manoel-BA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Might be, that the main building is better, the breakfast, which was served there, war really okay, but the annex, where we had our room, is just an outdated installation, which must have seen its last refurbishment more then 20 years ago. Only single beds, although asked for queen- or king-size, virtually no power sockets, damaged door handles, totally uninspired ambience. However, friendly and helpful staff and a central location adjacent to the imperial palace.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank GuilhermeT835
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

The hotel itself is great. Not only the room (we took room 76, which is a room behind the main building, right by the pool) but the whole place. Try to imagine you're staying in a great and beautiful secular mansion! I've never saw a place like that before.
The other, and maybe the most important, point to consider is that this hotel has the best location in the city - and I'm not exaggerating. It's located in the historical downtown of the city, with the great Imperial Museum right next door. We didn't even rented a car to this trip. We left Rio de Janeiro by a bus (we took it in the terminal for around BRL25,00) and then we walked around the city. We just needed to take a taxi to go from and back to the terminal and to the (amazing - a must go) Palacio da Quitandinha, which is far from downtown.
The only thing we didn't like so much was the breakfast. It's just ok, when compared to the rest (although they do have a delicious bread). You can have breakfast sitting in the balcony, which is very nice too.
Oh, and they have a very clean pool, so if you're in for a swim, I recommend you put some swimsuit.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Leonardo_Alvim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews