We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$75
Hotels.comUS$75
PricelineUS$67
TravelocityUS$75
Orbitz.comUS$75
ZenHotels.comUS$75
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveller rating
174
129
17
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
174
129
17
7
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 331 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Pousada Monte Imperial is awesome (after 3 weeks in Rio)! I chose it because it was written up as quieter than some of the hotels in the center of town, but during this beer festival weekend, we can still hear the bands from the center of town and we are relieved that we’re not closer to them! It is Saturday, June 23, and the town is crawling with tourists and tour buses. Anyway, the Pousada....what a beautiful setting at the top of a hill with a view towards the cathedral and mountains and wonderful fresh air. The building(s) itself is marvelous, lovely and built with so much character and personality. The proprietors mainly speak Portuguese, but are so kind in trying to understand our English. We are communicating. We arrived at 10:30 a.m. today and were shown directly to our 2 rooms. Breakfast service was in process and the aromas were fabulous. The walk to town is 15 minutes or so—no problem if you don't mind hills. Upon return in the late afternoon, we sat in the garden by the pool and enjoyed some red wine. The room is very comfortable and the bed is firm. We paid R$645 for a room overlooking town and R$645 for another room in the Annex. Absolutely worth it! Lovely. Oh, we are in Room 8 in the main building. I’ll post a photo.

Bed was very firm, and if you like soft pillows: bring them with you! Shower was hot.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank susanmK4092UQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 May 2018 via mobile

I had a very good stay here, in Pousada Monte Imperial!At the last day the waiter brought me my breakfast egg without any asking about! Everthing was perfect, the personal is nice and friendly and the place is really silent and beautiful!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank MartinH7022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 November 2017

small but very cosy rooms, lovely location with view over Petrópolis, very friendly and competent service, night attendants who make excellent caipirinha.

We stayed there for my sister's wedding and were made very welcome. The place is open and even has a bar with an open fireplace

We spent quite a few evenings at the bar and discovered caipirinha with cachaca romeo et juliete.

we have very fond memories and will definitely stay there again if we com to Petrópolis again

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernhard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 December 2015

The room was nice and clean, and the shower was hot. Reasonable breakfast. Good location and nice views. The only issue was that the bedding was damp from the environment which made for a less than pleasant night's sleep. I'm not sure if this is a common issue in Petropolis given the climate but it meant what would otherwise have been a lovely stay was just average.

Room tip: Try the right side, it gets more sun (see review)
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emmaexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 November 2015

as aready pointed out by other reviewers: a excellent location in Petropolis, far enough away from traffic to enjoy a good night's sleep in comfortable beds, but still within walking distance to the most important tourits destinations (around 25 min. to the imperial palace). And you don't have to worry about walking to the restaurants etc after dark. Staff was very polite and the breakfast simply outstanding. As for the rooms: It seems they are extending/remodeling some, if not most of the rooms. Therefore, our room was really spacious. Lobby, breakfast room, in short the whole house has been decorated tastefully with much attention to detail. The only regret I have: Our timing allowed for only one night's stay, I wouldn't have minded to enjoy the whole setting for a couple of more days. If you travel by car: parking is available in the yard of the pousada, so you reaqlly do not have to worry about your set of wheels. WiFi worked fine

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Harry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews