We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$190
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Copacabana Posto 2(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Ipanema Inn(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$173
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$210
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$54
US$51
ibis
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apa Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$46
US$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$34/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (571)
Filter reviews
571 results
Traveller rating
151
279
104
24
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
279
104
24
13
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 571 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2015

While this is my third stay at this hotel within the past year, I notice a slow but steady decline in the status of this property. All services--restaurant, front desk, etc. remain very good, but the property itself (rooms, pool area) are looking a bit worn.

Room Tip: Try to get higher numbered rooms on each floor.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank L R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2015

Based on the reviews I read, and the price I paid, I expected a 4-star hotel and not a 3-star hotel. The hotel is OK, it's clean and it has an OK breakfast, it is adjacent to a great gym where you can work out, but somehow it felt a bit "cheap". I may have been influenced by the fact that it is on a very busy street and you have to take a taxi everywhere. Staff is nice, but not very efficient.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pc2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for my first few days in Rio. Did not care for the location too much since it was away from all the big spots. Staff was friendly, they were always there to help with the messed up door. If you are coming to Rio for the Olympics, I would recommend staying since some of the events are being held in the area.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank Corey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2014

I stayed at this hotel for nine weeks prior to and during the 2014 World Cup. The room was large and clean and suitably comfortable.

At times it could be quite noisy with the major road just outside, but many colleagues found by getting a room at the back it helped this situation. I didn't find it too much of a problem.

The staff were very helpful and friendly and always tried to make everything right. I wanted the minibar emptied so I could put my own items in the fridge and there was no problem with this.

The breakfast was a decent selection, although the juice varied in the amount of water it had. Some days there was more water than juice. The selection was reasonable with many bread items, fresh fruit every day, cereal and cakes.

There is a golf cart that leaves the back of the hotel and takes you to a free boat that takes you over the lake to the beach. Just ask reception for a voucher and for times.

The pool and gym was very nice, but are actually next door to the hotel. But this was not a problem.

The one thing I would consider is the location. There are bus stops right outside so it is easy to get into Rio but takes 45 minutes in good traffic. There is also a taxi rank out the back where you can get the cheaper yellow taxis. You can also ask reception for a taxi and they will organise it. Yellow taxis are cheaper than the white taxis but vary in quality, as some of the cars are older. If you are going to the conference centre it is a bit of a journey best done by taxi. The Rio Design Mall out the front and to the right is a high price mall, but there is a good selection of restaurants available with a variety of food options, although all at higher prices.

Room Tip: Room at the back if noise can be bothersome.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasoninlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2014

Promenade Barra First is a good choice for short trips when your business brings you to Barra da Tijuca – west area of Rio de Janeiro – with nice and clean rooms /bathrooms and friendly staff. The breakfast and Wi-Fi are fair and complementary. Best off all, a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BrazilAca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews