We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (586)
Filter reviews
586 results
Traveller rating
155
284
105
27
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
284
105
27
15
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 586 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2015

While this is my third stay at this hotel within the past year, I notice a slow but steady decline in the status of this property. All services--restaurant, front desk, etc. remain very good, but the property itself (rooms, pool area) are looking a bit worn.

Room tip: Try to get higher numbered rooms on each floor.
Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank L R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2015

Based on the reviews I read, and the price I paid, I expected a 4-star hotel and not a 3-star hotel. The hotel is OK, it's clean and it has an OK breakfast, it is adjacent to a great gym where you can work out, but somehow it felt a bit "cheap". I may have been influenced by the fact that it is on a very busy street and you have to take a taxi everywhere. Staff is nice, but not very efficient.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pc2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for my first few days in Rio. Did not care for the location too much since it was away from all the big spots. Staff was friendly, they were always there to help with the messed up door. If you are coming to Rio for the Olympics, I would recommend staying since some of the events are being held in the area.

Date of stay: January 2015
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank coreyk366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2014

I stayed at this hotel for nine weeks prior to and during the 2014 World Cup. The room was large and clean and suitably comfortable.

At times it could be quite noisy with the major road just outside, but many colleagues found by getting a room at the back it helped this situation. I didn't find it too much of a problem.

The staff were very helpful and friendly and always tried to make everything right. I wanted the minibar emptied so I could put my own items in the fridge and there was no problem with this.

The breakfast was a decent selection, although the juice varied in the amount of water it had. Some days there was more water than juice. The selection was reasonable with many bread items, fresh fruit every day, cereal and cakes.

There is a golf cart that leaves the back of the hotel and takes you to a free boat that takes you over the lake to the beach. Just ask reception for a voucher and for times.

The pool and gym was very nice, but are actually next door to the hotel. But this was not a problem.

The one thing I would consider is the location. There are bus stops right outside so it is easy to get into Rio but takes 45 minutes in good traffic. There is also a taxi rank out the back where you can get the cheaper yellow taxis. You can also ask reception for a taxi and they will organise it. Yellow taxis are cheaper than the white taxis but vary in quality, as some of the cars are older. If you are going to the conference centre it is a bit of a journey best done by taxi. The Rio Design Mall out the front and to the right is a high price mall, but there is a good selection of restaurants available with a variety of food options, although all at higher prices.

Room tip: Room at the back if noise can be bothersome.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasoninlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2014

Promenade Barra First is a good choice for short trips when your business brings you to Barra da Tijuca – west area of Rio de Janeiro – with nice and clean rooms /bathrooms and friendly staff. The breakfast and Wi-Fi are fair and complementary. Best off all, a reasonable price.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BrazilACA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews