We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lo mejor de RJ!!!”
Review of Pura Vida Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pura Vida Hostel
Reviewed 7 July 2017

Vuelvo a elegir este hostel una y mil veces!!! La cocina es amplia, tiene un bar en el deck, que funciona todos los días. Rolan eventos todos los días, desde reuniones de Couch Surf, hasta Vinilos tocados por DJ ao vivo, y churrascos gratuitos!!! El ambiente es de lo más agradable. Y LA PLAYA ESTÁ A UNA CUADRA!!!!!!!!!

I choose once again this hostel!! The kitchen is wide and equiped, the bar in the deck rolls every day, offering Happy Hours with double drinks. Every day there´s a different event. On thursdays DJ´s play Vinyls, it´s sick!!!!!! Free barbecues and the best company. THE BEACH IS ONLY A BLOCK AWAY!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank carlachiarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuraVidaRio, atendimento ao cliente at Pura Vida Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017
Google Translation

Gracias por elegir a Pura Vida Hostel y darnos su evaluación!
¡Saber que usted disfrutó su estadia nos mantiene motivados y nos da energía para ser aún mejor la próxima vez que venga!
Al retornar haga su reserva directamente con nosotros por email (info@puravidahostel.com.br) y mencione el código "PURAVIDA FRIEND" para ganar 10% de descuento en la reserva!
Una vez más, gracias y Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

a de as melhores experiências da minha vida!
One of the best experientes of my life!Pura vida has a great location especially if you like spending time at the beach, you'll be next to Copacabana and Ipanema, and one of the metro stations as well.
I had lots of fun and party, you can meet lots of cool people there.
Breakfast is great!
O hostel está muito perto de praia Copacabana e Ipanema, si você gosta de praia é optimo pra você! Esta perto de estação de metrô também. Voce pode se divertir muito lá e conhecer muita gente!
O café de manhã e optimo também

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Nikolet d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuraVidaRio, atendimento ao cliente at Pura Vida Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Dear Pura Vida Hostel Guest,
Thanks for your preference and for your feedback!
We are very happy to know that everything went well with your stay. :)
If you are thinking of returning to Rio and want to stay with us again, just send us an email informing you that you have already stayed here and we can offer you a 10% discount on your reservation!
AH! This promotion is also valid for your friends!
If you want to recommend Pura Vida Hostel to friends you can tell them to mention the code "PURAVIDAFRIEND" when booking by email. They can also get a 10% discount on their stay!
We hope to see you soon! See you later! All the best and Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

We stayed here during carnival due to the significantly cheaper room prices than most other hostes (approx. £17GBP per night). It is situated at the entrance to a favela and reading some reviews this made me quite nervous. However, from the bottom of the hill, which is what I would consider to be the entrance, you can see the hostel clearly. The door is locked and you will need to buzz to get in, but staff always respond to this quick and there is always someone at reception 24/7. We also noticed that there was always a police car and armed police at the bottom of the hill which was reassuring that they were so closeby. As for the hostel itself, if it hadn't been for the great group of people that were staying there I would've been disappointed. The bar was hardly ever opened and events were run but totally not communicated. For example, we would return when the BBQ's were supposed to be happening to be told that they happened three hours earlier! And when we relied on staff to take us to blocos they were very uninterested. They would rush the group away without waiting on others and seemed to have no interest in keeping the group together. The moment we arrived they would just leave. The rooms were also cramped and hot and the showers were very dirty, especially the shower curtains. There was also no air conditioning. An upside was the breakfast which had a good choice of food available. Overall, this place was a good, cheap place to stay during carnival. The location wasn't an issue but I was glad to meet such like minded people in the hostel rather than rely on uninterested staff and flaky event advertising.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuraVidaRio, atendimento ao cliente at Pura Vida Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Thanks for your preference and for your comments!
Your opinion motivates us to work better and improve our services to our guests.
We hope that in the future we will have the chance to offer you better experience, more PURA VIDA!
We offer you, returning guest, a 10% discount on the reservation.
Just send us an email with your reservation request and let us know when you have stayed with us to get the discount!
AH! This promotion is also valid for your friends! If you would suggest Pura Vida Hostel to your friends you can tell them to mention the Code "PURAVIDAFRIEND" when booking by email.
They can also get a 10% discount on their stay!
We hope to see you soon! See you later! All the best and Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

Pura Vida is a cool hostel in Copacabana. Very close to the beach, and just a short walk away from Ipanema. Very nice building... a little bit mansion/castle-like.

Great staff. All very welcoming with good advice for making the most of your stay in Rio. With knowledge of parties and events each night, how to take public transport to tourist attractions, hiking trails, tours and more.

Will return here on my next visit to Rio.

Room Tip: Dois Irmaos (Two Brothers) is a nice spacious dormitory with access to the balcony, or Gavea as it h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m_fez89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuraVidaRio, atendimento ao cliente at Pura Vida Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Many thanks for choosing us and and for your evaluation!
Your review is important to help us improve and make you 100% satisfied on your next time with us.
By making your reservation directly with us by email (info@puravidahostel.com.br) and mentioning the code "PURAVIDA FRIEND" you will receive a 10% discount!
Once again, thank you and Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

Nice and friendly staff.

Cool parties at the weekends.

The breakfast is nice, it has clean rooms and assistance for all kinds of tourist matters. I needed a little medical attention and they directed me to a good local public hospital.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Régis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuraVidaRio, atendimento ao cliente at Pura Vida Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Thanks for your opinion and for choosing us!
Your satisfaction is our fuel and it makes us work harder to have more fun with guests here.
Please note that returning guests get a 10% discount!
Just book by email (info@puravidahostel.com.br) and mention the code "PURAVIDA FRIEND".
We are waiting for you as soon as possible - Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
El Misti Rooms
El Misti Rooms
#9 of 826 in Rio de Janeiro
652 reviews
Copacabana
El Misti Hostel Rio
El Misti Hostel Rio
#8 of 826 in Rio de Janeiro
840 reviews
Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
#3 of 826 in Rio de Janeiro
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema
Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema
#7 of 826 in Rio de Janeiro
626 reviews
Copacabana
El Misti House
El Misti House
#16 of 826 in Rio de Janeiro
826 reviews
Discovery Hostel
#1 of 826 in Rio de Janeiro
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pura Vida Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pura Vida Hostel

Address: Rua Saint Roman 20, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22071-060, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 826 Speciality Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $15 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pura Vida Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2011 in a beautiful house (almost century - old) and 100m away from Copacabana beach and 15min from Arpoardor and Ipanema. Metro is a 5min walk and we also we offer transfers. TAVERNA - Our Bar: Medieval style offers attractions, concerts, parties, events and promotions. BAR DO DECK: Outdoor, music, TV and connected to the house. SERVICES: Tours. From Sugar Loaf, Corcovado and Beaches to radical tours like hang gliding; climbing; bike rides; surf and trails. Bike Rental; BBQ area; Internet; Lunch; FUN ! DIRECTIONS: corner of Rua Sa Ferreira between Rua Raul Pompeia e Nossa Sra de Copacabana. Metro: drop off at Gen. Osorio Station, exit "D". Walk to the beach. By car:Through Rua Barata Ribeiro, after the tunnel, take 1st left. On the corner of Saint Roman with Sa Ferreira has always 1 or 2 police cars in front of Hotel Ducasse. Our house is the 3rd on the right. Parking: There are no vacancies in Saint Roman Street. Search vacancies in Sa Ferreira or Av. Atlantica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Pura Vida Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pura Vida Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing