We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pura Vida Hostel
Nearby Hotels
Ipanema Inn(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$206
US$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Belmond Copacabana Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
US$324
US$313
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
US$148
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$245
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$44
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Pestana Rio Atlantica(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arena Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$85
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Barra Da Tijuca(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$57
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (644)
Filter reviews
644 results
Traveller rating
365
161
60
32
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
365
161
60
32
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationcopacabana beacharrange toursbig tvgood vibescommon areasstayed longermac cheeseexplore rioclean roomsliving roomnice breakfastair conditioninga great place to staytwo blockspartiesfavela
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 644 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

a de as melhores experiências da minha vida!
One of the best experientes of my life!Pura vida has a great location especially if you like spending time at the beach, you'll be next to Copacabana and Ipanema, and one of the metro stations as well.
I had lots of fun and party, you can meet lots of cool people there.
Breakfast is great!
O hostel está muito perto de praia Copacabana e Ipanema, si você gosta de praia é optimo pra você! Esta perto de estação de metrô também. Voce pode se divertir muito lá e conhecer muita gente!
O café de manhã e optimo também

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Nikolet d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuraVidaRio, atendimento ao cliente at Pura Vida Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Dear Pura Vida Hostel Guest,
Thanks for your preference and for your feedback!
We are very happy to know that everything went well with your stay. :)
If you are thinking of returning to Rio and want to stay with us again, just send us an email informing you that you have already stayed here and we can offer you a 10% discount on your reservation!
AH! This promotion is also valid for your friends!
If you want to recommend Pura Vida Hostel to friends you can tell them to mention the code "PURAVIDAFRIEND" when booking by email. They can also get a 10% discount on their stay!
We hope to see you soon! See you later! All the best and Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

We stayed here during carnival due to the significantly cheaper room prices than most other hostes (approx. £17GBP per night). It is situated at the entrance to a favela and reading some reviews this made me quite nervous. However, from the bottom of the hill, which is what I would consider to be the entrance, you can see the hostel clearly. The door is locked and you will need to buzz to get in, but staff always respond to this quick and there is always someone at reception 24/7. We also noticed that there was always a police car and armed police at the bottom of the hill which was reassuring that they were so closeby. As for the hostel itself, if it hadn't been for the great group of people that were staying there I would've been disappointed. The bar was hardly ever opened and events were run but totally not communicated. For example, we would return when the BBQ's were supposed to be happening to be told that they happened three hours earlier! And when we relied on staff to take us to blocos they were very uninterested. They would rush the group away without waiting on others and seemed to have no interest in keeping the group together. The moment we arrived they would just leave. The rooms were also cramped and hot and the showers were very dirty, especially the shower curtains. There was also no air conditioning. An upside was the breakfast which had a good choice of food available. Overall, this place was a good, cheap place to stay during carnival. The location wasn't an issue but I was glad to meet such like minded people in the hostel rather than rely on uninterested staff and flaky event advertising.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuraVidaRio, atendimento ao cliente at Pura Vida Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Thanks for your preference and for your comments!
Your opinion motivates us to work better and improve our services to our guests.
We hope that in the future we will have the chance to offer you better experience, more PURA VIDA!
We offer you, returning guest, a 10% discount on the reservation.
Just send us an email with your reservation request and let us know when you have stayed with us to get the discount!
AH! This promotion is also valid for your friends! If you would suggest Pura Vida Hostel to your friends you can tell them to mention the Code "PURAVIDAFRIEND" when booking by email.
They can also get a 10% discount on their stay!
We hope to see you soon! See you later! All the best and Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

Nice and friendly staff.

Cool parties at the weekends.

The breakfast is nice, it has clean rooms and assistance for all kinds of tourist matters. I needed a little medical attention and they directed me to a good local public hospital.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Régis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuraVidaRio, atendimento ao cliente at Pura Vida Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Thanks for your opinion and for choosing us!
Your satisfaction is our fuel and it makes us work harder to have more fun with guests here.
Please note that returning guests get a 10% discount!
Just book by email (info@puravidahostel.com.br) and mention the code "PURAVIDA FRIEND".
We are waiting for you as soon as possible - Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

The hostel is very clean and the staff are really nice! The location is awesome! It's in Copacabana the best location to stay if you want to explore Rio at the maximum! Close to the beach, subway and bus stops. I definitely would recommend this hostel to my friends!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Marco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuraVidaRio, atendimento ao cliente at Pura Vida Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Thanks for your opinion and for choosing us!
Your satisfaction is our fuel and it makes us work harder to have more fun with guests here.
Please note that returning guests get a 10% discount!
Just book by email (info@puravidahostel.com.br) and mention the code "PURAVIDA FRIEND".
We are waiting for you as soon as possible - Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

Great hostel but outside of the hostel was a bit sketchy at night if you are a solo visitor
People were lovely and welcoming and the breakfast was nice, but a little bit limited.
I went during the Brazilian Winter so I think the best time to visit this hostel would be at the height of the summer when it would be more busy and bustling with life!
Private room was nice but basic, however excellent value for money!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
Thank Bex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuraVidaRio, atendimento ao cliente at Pura Vida Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Thank you for choosing Pura Vida Hostel and for your evaluation!
Your satisfaction keeps us motivated and gives us energy to do even better next time!
When you return, make your reservation directly with us by email (info@puravidahostel.com.br) and mention the code "PURAVIDA FRIEND" to get a 10% discount on your reservation!
Once again, thank you and Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews