We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much nicer than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Marco Ipanema
Ranked #193 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed 28 February 2016

Like most of Rio, the San Marco was overpriced during Carnaval, but it was much nicer than we expected based on the reviews here. The rooms were very clean and well laid out (lots of shelf space). The standard room had a large, glass-doored shower (not the simple drain on the floor I had feared). The staff was very helpful, and the breakfast buffet was fantastic. They continually replenish and don't clear things away if you arrive just before breakfast ends (10 a.m.). Wifi is only in the lobby, which is inconvenient. The neighborhood is very safe. The beach is two blocks away. They don't have beach towels, but don't mind if you take the towel from your room.

Room Tip: Interior courtyard rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pigaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for six nights over Carnaval. They upgraded us as soon as we arrived. The room we got was large with a really nice bathroom and the main window overlooked the Main Street but it was still quiet despite being on the second floor. The room was cleaned immaculately every single day, probably the best cleaning service I've had in a hotel.

Front desk were always very helpful and friendly. They helped us get taxis and buses around Rio. Victor was especially friendly and helpful, giving us the best greeting we could ask for! There is a bus stop straight across the road and the location of the hotel is second to none. Near a gorgeous beach (2 blocks) in Ipanema, beside a great supermarket and numerous other stores and pharmacies. We really enjoyed our stay in San Marco.

If you are coming from the airport the 2018 bus drops you in Ipanema (stop 10), for €1 (4 RS), two blocks from the hotel.

Stayed: February 2016
Thank LioDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2015

It is a good hotel, the staff is fantastic, very helpful. It's in the heart of Ipanema, a traditional and considered "chic point". It's near the beach and there are lovely places to go drinking and eating. It's not an expensive hotel. It's worth it.

Stayed: July 2015
Thank EmilianoJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2015

This is one of the more affordable hotels near the beach in Ipanema. It's a proper hotel and has a nice enough breakfast. Lots of restaurants and shops around.

Still, it was quite overpriced for what we got. I suppose that's because it's only one block from the beach.

The room was OK, but it was small (even though superior), worn and the airco didn't work properly. The window was too small. It's ok for a day or two, but I wouldn't want to stay here for an entire holiday.

It's closer to the Lebron end so it's a little far from Gen. Osorio metro and the rua Farme de Amoede area.

I'm not sure whether to give it a 2/5 or a 3/5. However, when I think how much I paid for it, the answer is obvious: 2/5

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank zwerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2015

Stayed here at short notice at busy season so were grateful for the available room. Facilities quite basic, room was a touch depressing as very little natural light and huge pillar in the middle. Did however have a great night's sleep. Breakfast was correct, standard Brazilian breakfast of cold meats, cheeses, bread rolls, fresh fruit. Location great for Ipanema and beach. Would stay here again, but in a better room.

Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Hotel Vermont - Ipanema
Hotel Vermont - Ipanema
#92 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
656 reviews
Ipanema
Promenade Visconti
Promenade Visconti
#159 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
371 reviews
Ipanema
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fashion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fa...
#8 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Mc Flats Ipanema Beach Star
Mc Flats Ipanema Beach Star
#207 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
34 reviews
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#73 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,224 reviews
Ipanema
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
#120 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Marco Ipanema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Marco Ipanema

Address: Rua Visconde de Piraja 524, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22410-002, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $71 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Marco Ipanema 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinct and 100% carioca experience! The San Marco Hotel offers distinct facilities inspired by nautic aesthetics and the graceful Ipanema Beach, located only 300 meters away from the building! Being placed at the city's business and tourism heart , we feel it's our duty to provide all the staple needs able to suit all kinds of guests. From our economic (9m²) to our Suite (18m²), all rooms are equipped with Free Wifi, Cable TV, Air Conditioniners and Bathing Items. We also offer beach towels and Hair Dryers at the front desk ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel San Marco Ipanema reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marco Hotel
Hotel San Marco Ipanema Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing