We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$196
US$166
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ipanema Inn(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$168
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$154
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$218
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bourbon Barra Premium Residence(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$51
ibis
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Apa Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$46
US$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
104
86
29
23
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
86
29
23
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2014

This really is a gem. Situated in leafy Laranjeiras, Samba Palace has good access to the beaches (at Ipanema and Copacabana), Sugar Loaf and Corcovado (Christ the Redeemer). This is an easy 15 walk to the tram station. If you arrive by bus, the 133 runs from the bus terminal to the door of the property!! The bedrooms are clean and tidy with large lockers and air conditioning; the bathrooms are clean and the water in the showers is hot! Add to this a buffet breakfast with scrambled eggs and sausages cooked fresh daily and juice and fruit and bread and coffee. What more could you want for less than 10 Euros a night? Staff are helpful and friendly and have good local knowledge. Carolina and Valerie in particular speak excellent English. Wi-fi reception varies.
WARNING - the property has no signage. Look for number 97 on the entrance gate.

Room Tip: the larger rooms are cheaper but the smaller ones mean less disturbance from other guests
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Frazer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2014

I stayed 3 nights. The staff was kind, helpful and speaked spanish. My bedroom had good ventilation, lighting and big lockers. The bed was very comfortable. In general it counts with very good facilities (bathrooms, dining room, social area and good wi-fi signal). This hostal has a great location (Laranjeiras is a safe area) and good transportation options. The price was a bit high but during World Cup most of hostels prices were raised.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2014

The hostel is pretty simple, but clean and organized. The coffee break is not full of options, but one can manage it. Staff is very attentive and they're always willing to help. Location is good. Not near the beach, but very easy to access (we took just one bus from the bus terminal).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LFET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2014

A small group of 3 of us stayed here for 2 nights and didn't get the chance to see much of the area or location to Rio, as we had to travel around for the World Cup. The staff seemed helpful and told us about the bar crawl on the evening we arrived we seemed good.

We stayed in a 12 bed dorm which was fine. There were lockers in the room for our stuff and we didn't see that many people in the room anyway. The beds were comfortable enough but nothing special and there was no space for clothes. The showers were clean and there was about 6 of them which was ample. I'm sure the hostel is vibrant when busy but it wasn't that busy for the 2 nights we stayed. There was free wifi downstairs as well which was well used.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyJams12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2014

We stayed here at the beginning of our trip in Rio and returned because it was good value.

The rooms are clean, air conditioned and very good linen. The staff are helpful, and the facilities are great. The in room wifi was not great, we had to go to the central areas for wifi.

The 2nd time we came back I found out one of the blankets on the bed had bed bugs. There was no one on staff at night who could handle the situation (only securtiy staff). We worked out it was just the blanket so we were able to put it in the bathroom and slept without being bitten. But the next morning they were right on top of it. They didn't let anyone else stay in the room and cleaned everything completely. Bed bugs can happen anywhere (I also encountered them on LAN Chille), What is important is they were quite rigirous about how they handled it.

Even though there was fantastic facilities, great tours and ideas for social events there was a surprising lack of social atmosphere, I have no idea why. Perhaps there are too many common areas?

The area is safe and fine, there is not much to do around there but it is easy to get to where you need to be by bus or taxi. Taxi's can be tricky in Rio, most don't speak english and we encountered one who didn't know where we were going and couldn't read the map we provided him with (even though he prenteded).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nadmcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews