We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean & cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Samba Palace Hostel
Reviewed 20 November 2014 via mobile

A friend and I arrived at the hotel with two suitcases, some bags and jackets! We rang the doorbell, and what greeted us was a helpful staff who quickly came to helping us with all the things!
We Checked in and found our room! The suitcases were fighting heavy.. but that was no problem! They took them up the narrow stairs. Thank you for that!
The pictures you see when booking online is not the way it looks now! It may have looked like this once .. but it is not so now. Now it's a little spitter sofas, chairs and tables. I thonk it is a very kind of homey! Breakfast is very ordinary, good! -
It is a very cozy and quiet hostel, it is only 10-15 minutes from the train that goes up to the Christ the Redeemer! Otherwise there are buses that go all the time!

Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
Thank MarieOren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2014

This really is a gem. Situated in leafy Laranjeiras, Samba Palace has good access to the beaches (at Ipanema and Copacabana), Sugar Loaf and Corcovado (Christ the Redeemer). This is an easy 15 walk to the tram station. If you arrive by bus, the 133 runs from the bus terminal to the door of the property!! The bedrooms are clean and tidy with large lockers and air conditioning; the bathrooms are clean and the water in the showers is hot! Add to this a buffet breakfast with scrambled eggs and sausages cooked fresh daily and juice and fruit and bread and coffee. What more could you want for less than 10 Euros a night? Staff are helpful and friendly and have good local knowledge. Carolina and Valerie in particular speak excellent English. Wi-fi reception varies.
WARNING - the property has no signage. Look for number 97 on the entrance gate.

Room Tip: the larger rooms are cheaper but the smaller ones mean less disturbance from other guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Frazer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2014

I stayed 3 nights. The staff was kind, helpful and speaked spanish. My bedroom had good ventilation, lighting and big lockers. The bed was very comfortable. In general it counts with very good facilities (bathrooms, dining room, social area and good wi-fi signal). This hostal has a great location (Laranjeiras is a safe area) and good transportation options. The price was a bit high but during World Cup most of hostels prices were raised.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2014

The hostel is pretty simple, but clean and organized. The coffee break is not full of options, but one can manage it. Staff is very attentive and they're always willing to help. Location is good. Not near the beach, but very easy to access (we took just one bus from the bus terminal).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LFET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2014

A small group of 3 of us stayed here for 2 nights and didn't get the chance to see much of the area or location to Rio, as we had to travel around for the World Cup. The staff seemed helpful and told us about the bar crawl on the evening we arrived we seemed good.

We stayed in a 12 bed dorm which was fine. There were lockers in the room for our stuff and we didn't see that many people in the room anyway. The beds were comfortable enough but nothing special and there was no space for clothes. The showers were clean and there was about 6 of them which was ample. I'm sure the hostel is vibrant when busy but it wasn't that busy for the 2 nights we stayed. There was free wifi downstairs as well which was well used.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyJams12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Jacarepaguá
Midas Rio Suites
Midas Rio Suites
#216 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
165 reviews
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#73 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,220 reviews
Copacabana
CabanaCopa Hostel
CabanaCopa Hostel
#91 of 842 in Rio de Janeiro
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
3,443 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#23 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,681 reviews
Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Praia Ipanema Hotel
#96 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samba Palace Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samba Palace Hostel

Address: Rua Alice 97 | Laranjeiras, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22241-020, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 842 Speciality Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Class:2 star — Samba Palace Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Samba Palace Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing