We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“obrigado pelo carinho.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House)
Ranked #25 of 346 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 March 2009

Marta house is worderful ,Marta is very nice person,true brasilian guest!decent rooms ,we'll be back soon,I was my son 10 moths and my husband,beautiful view,Copacabana is nice place,I feel very safety in there.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlosm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 197 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2009

Based on the reviews at this site, I spent 6 nights at Marta's Guest House in January. My stay was wonderful, and the B&B lived up to its excellent reviews. The duplex apartment is lovely, its location can't be beat, and Marta and John are friendly and helpful hosts. My room was quiet, had a modern, en suite bath and air conditioning which I didn't use as the ceiling fan kept me cool enough. Other reviews have commented on the fantastic terrace, and I can confirm that the view is absolutely spectacular. Breakfast was available every morning and consisted of various fresh fruits and fruit juices, breads, coffee, cheeses & meats, and always a different cake freshly baked by Maria, an employee. This was always an enjoyable start to the day for me, as I got to meet the other guests and talk with Marta and John, who also could recommend places to go and things to see when asked. The building is art deco in style and has 24-hour doorman service, so there were no worries about coming back too late (or early) and not being able to get inside. As one reviewer mentioned, the rooms don't have a TV (although there's a huge one in the upstairs room off the terrace). I didn't watch TV the entire time I was there, and I didn't miss it. I thought the price was quite reasonable, and I'll definitely stay there again on my next trip.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MizMamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

We stayed four nights at Marta´s Guest House and it was a wonderful experience!
The setting of this B&B next to Copacabana is just amazing as are the views from the terrace on top of the 10 storey buidling (the terrace can be used by all guests).
Rooms were impeccable and breakfast on the terrace overlooking the beach was wonderful!
Marta was extremely helpful and welcoming!! She arranged guided tours for us and helped other guests to organize the next hotels to stay at their next travel destination (and even took one couple to Buzios in her own own car as she was picking up her grandchild on the way). The accomodation is not for travelers on a tight budget. However, if you do come you will be rewarded with a very warm Brazilean welcome and priceless views of Copacabana and the sugar loaf.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mannheim09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2009

I planned a holiday in Brazil for my mum's 60th bday and saw all the great reviews on Marta's guesthouse so i booked 2 rooms at BR400 a night each for 4 nights. The ambience of the place is great as is the much raved about view of Copacabana, and Marta is a friendly host, but to be honest after our 1st night we realised that the price we were paying was way too high in relation to the standard of the rooms and the cost the 3* hotel next door - no hairdryer, no TV, no fridge, 'adjoining' bathroom is actually across the hall not next to the room and there was a constant smell of leaking gas in one of the rooms. So we tried to check out but Marta made things v difficult for us, insisting we forfeit our deposit and pay 50% of the remaining nights and for the airport transfer that was initially complementary. Anyway, this made things v uncomfortable and we really felt that making money was the top priority as oppose to customer satisfaction. I would not recommend this guest house to anyone, there are great views of Copacabana from all over Rio and this one is definitely not worth the price!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank TravellerTanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed with Marta for a total of 5 days in August 2008.

When booking our trip, it came down to the Sofitel and Rio Guest House. I am more of a hotel guy and my girlfriend is more of a B&B gal. But both properties are roughly in the same ballpark in price (well - Marta is actually 50-100 cheaper).

I am really glad we went with Marta.

First of all - the apartment is fantastic. It is the top two floors of a building that literally has a front row view to copacabana beach. The apartment faces the beach. The first level has a stunning view through windows - while upstairs there is a massive patio overlooking the entire strip. You can literally see the beach from end to end without obstruction.

While there were a few other guests, we really only saw them in the morning. But not even that often. We woke up a bit later than most but Marta just made sure breakfast was available when we woke up. No deadline or anything. Not Marta's style.

My girlfriend loved the breakfast. I loved the coffee.

Marta also knows a lot about Brazil. Her husband is from Australia and he can also chip in with tips for americans and canadians aka gringos.

Marta provided us with information that we really used in Rio and during our trip. Her husband is also very well read and is always down for a conversation if you are.

We also stayed with them on the tail end of our trip. When John heard we were heading to the airport at the same time - he invited us along and took care of the entire fare. IHe totally didn't have to do that - but he and Marta are just good, hospitable people.

The room wasn't massive - but the bed was comfortable and the air conditioning strong. Each room had a private bathroom and the water was always hot thanks to some instant heat creating machine on the wall.

My only suggestion is that Raphael the tour guide is a very eccentric guy and you either LOVE him (check out his tripadvisor page) or find him odd in a semi hilarious way. His airport pickups are also a bit pricey (though his far e was competitive for the going rate for that kind of serive - but we felt it was just as easy to take a cab). That said - he is a great guy and knows his stuff.


Stay with Marta. She rocks!! And her apartment is amazing!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank aksunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Chez Michel
Chez Michel
#28 of 346 in Rio de Janeiro
84 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Diplomata Copacabana
Hotel Diplomata Copacabana
#47 of 346 in Rio de Janeiro
120 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 346 in Rio de Janeiro
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Fullano Bed & Breakfast
Fullano Bed & Breakfast
#51 of 346 in Rio de Janeiro
15 reviews
Santa Teresa
Mama Ruisa
Mama Ruisa
#2 of 346 in Rio de Janeiro
419 reviews
Copacabana
Jucati Season Apartments
Jucati Season Apartments
#14 of 346 in Rio de Janeiro
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House)

Address: Rua Francisco Sa 5, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22080-010, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 346 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $176 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House) 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer and special service and are prepared to help our guests since the start of the preparation of the trip to Brazil. In a very spectacular location in front of the Copacabana beach, and with the most beautiful views. Our Guesthouse offers comfort and have a very family atmosphere, and Marta is there to help the guests to find the best places to enjoy the city. With experience in tourism, Marta can help you with the best indication of tours, restaurants and what to do in Rio. Welcome to Marta's and be home at our Guesthouse ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Guest House ( Marta`s Guest House) Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House) Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing