We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$190
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ipanema Inn(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$160
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bourbon Barra Premium Residence(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$222
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$53
US$51
ibis
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Apa Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveller rating
245
36
3
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
36
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscopacabana beachguest kitchenhome away from homeguesthouseriobankssugarloaf
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 288 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2011

I stayed at the guest house 9 days with my family and it was a fantastic experience. I have been to Rio six times and stayed at all the major hotels in Ipanema and Copacabana and I'm happy to have chosen Marta's guest house on my trip with my parents.

I would highly recommend this guest house to families and couples. The views are fantastic and the penthouse is really nice and I felt at home there.
Marta is a fantatic Brazilian lady who is very helpful and friendly. She speaks fluent German and English.

The only improvement I can recommend is to change the windows to double glazing and sound-proof as the Cariocas like to use their car horn :-)

Lots of amneties are walking distance including the Ipanema metro station. Marta also arranges a private driver and tours if you are not so adventerous to discover Rio on your own.
Hope to be back as this is the best place I have stayed in Rio.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tolga_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

My husband and I joined another couple for about a week at Marta's Guesthouse. We stayed in one of the rooms with an in-suite bath, which was great. (Our bath was small, but functional). But even those with the bath across the hall had a lot of privacy. We also appreciated the community computer, which Marta made available to her guests. The apartment itself is a two-story structure at the penthouse level of a building right across the street from Copacabana Beach. The private bedrooms are pleasant, but the shared living areas and enormous balcony/ terrace are spectacular! Since only a few guests are there at any time, you really feel like you have moved into an upscale condo with beautiful furnishings and fantastic views of the activity at the beach . On the second floor of the guesthouse, the outer wall is all glass, and open most of the time to allow sea breezes in. There is a large dining table where wonderful breakfasts are served family style by Marta and her staff. Most of the time, Marta or her husband John were on the premises (they have an adjoining apartment). Both of them were extremely helpful, and really worked hard to make sure we got to know every good thing about Rio. The building has a 24 hour doorman, who lets owners and guests in and out at ground level. Then you take an elevator to the guesthouse. For those with security concerns, this will put your mind at rest. Banking, groceries, and restaurants were in easy walking distance, and Ipanema is just a 10 minute stroll through a neighborhood. All in all, we had a great time for our "intro' to Rio. We would definitely recommend this beautiful spot for other visitors.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linsa2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

I couldn't have been luckier! Rio Guest House is a wonderful penthouse in an art deco building on the side of Copacabana bordering with Ipanema. Marta is a dream of a hostess - she will give you all the keys to decode the city, advice on best itinerary, places, taxi drivers...everything you might need will be taken care of. All in a wonderful setting with breathtaking view and with a charme that will make you feel welcome and at home.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JazzFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

Our favourite things about Rio Guesthouse:

It's a comfortable air-conditioned room in a gorgeous penthouse on Copacabana beach with a large sunny terrance with a 180 degree view of the beach. Enjoy a cold glass of your own wine or beer from the guest fridge while taking in the sun, the sea breeze, and the view.

Marta is warm and generous hostess who treats you like visiting relatives, and is more than happy to arrange taxis to/from the airport, private tours, and recommend favourite restaurants and attractions.

It's a safe and secure base of operations for exploring Rio on foot, by subway, or by private tour. On the beach, and close to restaurants, grocery stores, and the subway.

Advice: Ask Marta to arrange taxi pick up at the airport. That removes the uncertainty normally associated with arriving in an unfamiliar city, and ensures that you waste no time getting to the enjoyable part of your trip.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Fabulous place, great views and one of the greatest hospitality we have ever experienced! The hole family is willing to help and advice you with everything you ask for. If not and you want your privacy, they even respect that!

Thanks to Martha we have seen so many and extraordinary places of Rio, we will never forget this experience!

Martha thanks again for everything!

Mahalo, Rick

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wavemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews