We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop Searching...and book now...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House)
Ranked #25 of 346 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 January 2011

I know what are you doing now. You are looking safe, clean, with good value, with excellent scene, good breakfast, good service hotel. STOP NOW and book for Marta's Guest House.

All of you need at Marta's Guest House. House is perfect like Marta's hospitality. We stay 5 nights and trust me YOU DON'T WANT TO MISS :)

Please look at my photos.. Have good trip

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enginersoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 151 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2011

I stayed at the guest house 9 days with my family and it was a fantastic experience. I have been to Rio six times and stayed at all the major hotels in Ipanema and Copacabana and I'm happy to have chosen Marta's guest house on my trip with my parents.

I would highly recommend this guest house to families and couples. The views are fantastic and the penthouse is really nice and I felt at home there.
Marta is a fantatic Brazilian lady who is very helpful and friendly. She speaks fluent German and English.

The only improvement I can recommend is to change the windows to double glazing and sound-proof as the Cariocas like to use their car horn :-)

Lots of amneties are walking distance including the Ipanema metro station. Marta also arranges a private driver and tours if you are not so adventerous to discover Rio on your own.
Hope to be back as this is the best place I have stayed in Rio.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tolga_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

My husband and I joined another couple for about a week at Marta's Guesthouse. We stayed in one of the rooms with an in-suite bath, which was great. (Our bath was small, but functional). But even those with the bath across the hall had a lot of privacy. We also appreciated the community computer, which Marta made available to her guests. The apartment itself is a two-story structure at the penthouse level of a building right across the street from Copacabana Beach. The private bedrooms are pleasant, but the shared living areas and enormous balcony/ terrace are spectacular! Since only a few guests are there at any time, you really feel like you have moved into an upscale condo with beautiful furnishings and fantastic views of the activity at the beach . On the second floor of the guesthouse, the outer wall is all glass, and open most of the time to allow sea breezes in. There is a large dining table where wonderful breakfasts are served family style by Marta and her staff. Most of the time, Marta or her husband John were on the premises (they have an adjoining apartment). Both of them were extremely helpful, and really worked hard to make sure we got to know every good thing about Rio. The building has a 24 hour doorman, who lets owners and guests in and out at ground level. Then you take an elevator to the guesthouse. For those with security concerns, this will put your mind at rest. Banking, groceries, and restaurants were in easy walking distance, and Ipanema is just a 10 minute stroll through a neighborhood. All in all, we had a great time for our "intro' to Rio. We would definitely recommend this beautiful spot for other visitors.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linsa2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

I couldn't have been luckier! Rio Guest House is a wonderful penthouse in an art deco building on the side of Copacabana bordering with Ipanema. Marta is a dream of a hostess - she will give you all the keys to decode the city, advice on best itinerary, places, taxi drivers...everything you might need will be taken care of. All in a wonderful setting with breathtaking view and with a charme that will make you feel welcome and at home.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JazzFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

Our favourite things about Rio Guesthouse:

It's a comfortable air-conditioned room in a gorgeous penthouse on Copacabana beach with a large sunny terrance with a 180 degree view of the beach. Enjoy a cold glass of your own wine or beer from the guest fridge while taking in the sun, the sea breeze, and the view.

Marta is warm and generous hostess who treats you like visiting relatives, and is more than happy to arrange taxis to/from the airport, private tours, and recommend favourite restaurants and attractions.

It's a safe and secure base of operations for exploring Rio on foot, by subway, or by private tour. On the beach, and close to restaurants, grocery stores, and the subway.

Advice: Ask Marta to arrange taxi pick up at the airport. That removes the uncertainty normally associated with arriving in an unfamiliar city, and ensures that you waste no time getting to the enjoyable part of your trip.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Chez Michel
Chez Michel
#28 of 346 in Rio de Janeiro
84 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Diplomata Copacabana
Hotel Diplomata Copacabana
#47 of 346 in Rio de Janeiro
120 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 346 in Rio de Janeiro
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Fullano Bed & Breakfast
Fullano Bed & Breakfast
#51 of 346 in Rio de Janeiro
15 reviews
Santa Teresa
Mama Ruisa
Mama Ruisa
#2 of 346 in Rio de Janeiro
419 reviews
Copacabana
Jucati Season Apartments
Jucati Season Apartments
#14 of 346 in Rio de Janeiro
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House)

Address: Rua Francisco Sa 5, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22080-010, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 346 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $176 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House) 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer and special service and are prepared to help our guests since the start of the preparation of the trip to Brazil. In a very spectacular location in front of the Copacabana beach, and with the most beautiful views. Our Guesthouse offers comfort and have a very family atmosphere, and Marta is there to help the guests to find the best places to enjoy the city. With experience in tourism, Marta can help you with the best indication of tours, restaurants and what to do in Rio. Welcome to Marta's and be home at our Guesthouse ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Guest House ( Marta`s Guest House) Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House) Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing