We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Buzios_PW
Hayling Island, United Kingdom

Excellent value, friendly hotel in great location

Review of Hotel Willisau
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Dec 2018
My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in the Hotel Willisau in a room with a balcony (which I would highly recommend). The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable with all expected facilities, including very good shower, silent air conditioning, minibar, comfortable bed. There is an indoor heated pool and games rooms with billiards (pool), table tennis and table football. The views from the rooms are fantastic, overlooking the city with mountains beyond. The location is ideal, on a very quiet road but a short walk to shops, restaurants and the weekend market.
Date of stay: November 2018
Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony - well worth it.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PauloRBarbosa, Gerente de relações públicas at Hotel Willisau, responded to this review
Responded 5 Dec 2018
Dear PW, Hotel Willisau's staff is truly grateful for the compliments, plus glad to know of your satisfaction! Other travellers will certainly benefit from your detailed observations. We wish the best for you and your wife. Kindly yours, Paulo Roberto, Public Relations Manager.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
S$64
S$61
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
0.4 km from Hotel Willisau
Free parking
Pool
S$66
S$60
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
1.2 km from Hotel Willisau
Free Wifi
Restaurant
S$50
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Hotel Willisau
Free Wifi
S$42
S$35
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
0.9 km from Hotel Willisau
Free Wifi
Free parking
S$253
S$242
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
14.4 km from Hotel Willisau
Free Wifi
Free parking
S$85
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.9 km from Hotel Willisau
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Skyscanner.com
0.5 km from Hotel Willisau
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$55
  • Priceline
2.9 km from Hotel Willisau
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    S$222
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$218
  • Priceline
6.8 km from Hotel Willisau
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$282
  • Algotels
14.5 km from Hotel Willisau
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Teresopolis
Reviews (848)
Filter reviews
848 results
Traveller rating
578
197
41
19
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
578
197
41
19
13
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 848 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

This hotel had the most amazing and friendly staff. They all spoke English and were always smiling and very helpful. Their breakfast was amazing as i gained 5 lbs in 6 days. That shoukd tell you how good it is. The wifi was strong and rooms were very clean. It is also located very close to all the attractions in the area. Beautiful views as well. I would recommend for other English speaking tourists to stay here.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank jamesmB1963RS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PauloRBarbosa, Gerente de relações públicas at Hotel Willisau, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Dear James, we appreciate very much your compliments. All from Willisau's team are truly happy to know of your satisfaction and that you've gained some pounds! Your recommendation is really important for us and other travellers will surely take advantage of your comments. We wish you the best in life. Kindly yours, Paulo Roberto, Public Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Great location, near the main city’s attractions. The heated pool was small but great and the breakfast was very good. All the staff was really polite. We’ll be coming back soon. Plus: the bunnies were the cutest.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 252camillah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PauloRBarbosa, Gerente de relações públicas at Hotel Willisau, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Dear Camilla, we appreciate very much your review and positive comments. Hope to welcome you again. Kindly yours, Paulo Roberto, Public Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018

Special place to rest. Located near os handcrafts street market (Feirinha do Alto) and Santo Antônio church. Ofer a lot os type of roons, but you need take care about excessive stairs between floors, swimming pool and restaurant. Excellent breakfast. No transfer available to bus station. Wonderfull view of the city and mountains.

Room tip: Choise room at basement.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ricardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PauloRBarbosa, Gerente de relações públicas at Hotel Willisau, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear Rima, thank you very much for your review and comments. We have accommodations on ground floor, where are located the pool and restaurant, and suites just one floor up, accessible through only twelve steps. There is a bus stop about 300m to the hotel, which is commonly used by guests arriving from Rio de Janeiro. Kindly yours, Paulo Roberto, Public Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018 via mobile

Located close to the busiest part of town. The staff is very friendly and helpfull.
The room was clean and spacious with a balcony.
There is no restaurant but room service is available. Nice breakfast.
Parking space available.
Internet worked ok.
Will stay there again.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank koenv104
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PauloRBarbosa, Gerente de relações públicas at Hotel Willisau, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Dear Koen, we appreciate very much your review, which will certainly assist other travellers on choosing the right hotel in our beautiful city of Teresópolis. Kindly yours, Paulo Roberto, Public Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018

Expensive for what is offered. The rooms are not cozy at all. We paid more to have a room with hot-tub, but we couldn’t really use it, because it took about 2 hours to fill up. Not to mention that the water was just lukewarm and we couldn’t use any other faucet or shower while the tub was being filled. Their pool is very small and doesn’t look very clean. My interaction with the hotel owner was very unpleasant and their staff tried to take down my review twice. I really hope TripAdvisor owns its commitment to free speech this time and privacy.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarcelloDeDios
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PauloRBarbosa, Gerente de relações públicas at Hotel Willisau, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2018

Dear Vanessa, although asked to e-mail the hotel informing your date of stay and the name upon which the reservation was booked, you did not. Therefore, we can't ascertain the veracity of your review, as there is no similar complaint registered at the time you stated that your stay occurred, July, 2017. Anyway, any of our hot tubs takes about 20 minutes to be filled up, because of its reasonable large size. Att. Paulo Roberto, Public Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews