We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
32
29
45
16
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
29
45
16
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree parkingbit datedthe main streetgreat viewvelikoritztowncomfortcleanlinessfurniture
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2015

Lets start with the positive:
- excellent location
- easy to park
- nice staff attentive to remarks (except for the lack of tea)
- Nicolas: very nice man that does everything that needs fixing around the hotel

And then the disappointments:
- Carpet is often very tired and does not leave you with a feeling of cleanliness (same applies to some bed cover)
- Bathroom with large tubs not designed to take showers: no curtains, water circles around the tub and goes on the floor where it becomes a pool
- toiletry items (shampoo, etc.) very basic and not 4-star level
- hard pillows
- breakfast is very lame. On weekend there is a buffet, the only warm things are scrambled eggs and some abominable too soft sausage. The rest is basic: processed square ham, yellow and white cheese, tomato, cucumber, one type of cereal. Fruits are missing or few. No real coffee. No real tea (black), only fruit variations. No milk (you get yogurt for the cereal). No tea pot. No toaster. No orange juice, only an orange-colored super chemical drink. On weekdays, it gets worse: the waitress brings you a plate already made of square ham, cheese, tomato & cucumber: a big waste since lots of people eat one part of it and others the other part!
- Nice photos with the pool - stop dreaming! The pool is full only in summer, even if days in April-May are well above 24 degrees. Even the pool inside remains covered and unheated! Even the terrace around the pool which would be very enjoyable is not being used.
- Be careful with children and TV: the porn channels are not protected!!! Maybe that is a positive for some but certainly not for families.

Room Tip: A8 has a great view, A9 after it is renovated.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingCat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadezhda K, Manager at Veliko Tarnovo Hotel Premier, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2015

Dear Guest,
thank you for your detailled comment. As far as we see the breakfst is the service you paid much attention to. Hotel "Premier" is absolutely sincere with his Guests, that's why we do appriciate your honest opinon as well. The factor that we pay attention most is the parity price:quality. The analysis show that according to the "price:qualiry" indicator the hotel takes one of the first positions in Veliko Tarnovo . In order to meet our Guests requirements about the breakfast, now we are leading a questionnaire including a few questions about your preferences and tastes.
We invoke all our Gusts in the coming two months to fill this questionnaire. Our receptionist will supply it. This will help us reach the best parity i.e best breakfast at a best room price.
About the pool - as it is an open one the temperature of the water is still not high enough during April. In case you are in the hotel between the sasons, you'll receive a compensation for that lack of a high temperature pool - a sauna or steam bath in our Wellness center. The temperature of the water in our indoor pool-jacuzzi in that period is about 27 degrees C.
We are glad that you enjoyed the view from your room. Hotel "Premier" also sticks on the personal touch to итс Guests so we appriciate your positive attitude to our staff's efforts.
Thank you for being our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2015

We just got back from the hotel stayed there for 3 days. The location is great and it is close to the restaurants and night clubs in the very centre of the city. Unfortunatelly that is all positive I can say about it. The service in the hotel is terrible. The staff did not correspond to each other. The rooms aren't cleaned accordingly. The most shocking fact was that after we went to bed we found under the pillow a tip of 5 leva with a note obviously left by the last clients prior us. Even the linen didnt been changed ... The food was very disgusting. The dinner was set menu while the breakfast was buffet very poor one. I would say I could not recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Anelia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadezhda K, Manager at Veliko Tarnovo Hotel Premier, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2015

Dear Anelia H,
perhaps there was some kind of misunderstanding as it is absolutely impossible the same linen to be left for the next guests. I advise you to complain about such things immediately at the reception desk that obviously was not done as we take into consideration all the complaints from our Guests the same moment they are supplied.
Thank you for being our guest for 3 days and do not hesitate to contact the Management team of hotel Premier in case you plan visitting us again.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2015

The location is amazing ,the rooms very clean and breakfast with a good variety to choose from.
I stayed in a room with jacuzzi and sauna-it was super relaxing. The view was amazing. The stuff nice and helpful. I will return here with pleasure for city-breaks and not only.

Room Tip: The rooms from the 4th floor have an amazing view towards the entire city and the church.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank catalin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadezhda K, Manager at Veliko Tarnovo Hotel Premier, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2015

Thank you for leaving your opinison for our and our guests' information! We expect you back in hotel PREMIER, Veliko Tarnovo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015

We stayed here for 1 night while travelling from Sofia to North-East Bulgaria. We took one of the "suites" which in fact was nothing more than a large room with 2 beds in it, as well as a standard bathroom. There is a sauna as well, which we didn't have time to use.

A lot of the decor is quite tired and indeed damaged in some places, for example the bathroom ceiling, which is definitely in need of some attention. There is a "kitchen" area in the room as well, although there is almost no equipment to allow you to make any meaningful use of it.

The room overlooks a narrow street which also contains the hotel's garage. There are a couple of large doors leading onto a balcony, which is quite pleasant to use, but you need to make sure you close those doors properly, otherwise you will be suffering with noise from the street all night. It took me some time to discover the source of the noise and how to close them fully.

In general it's a comfortable hotel, and we certainly found the breakfast better than we were expecting, in the light of some other reviews here. Also the staff were very pleasant and helpful: they parked our car in the garage and took it out again when we left (apparently it's quite tight on space) and they were generally welcoming. Only the gentleman who dealt with taking my payment on checkout was rather morose.

If I ever need a hotel in the town centre I would certainly stay here again, but given the quite high price in comparison with hotel prices in general in Bulgaria, I think there are better value and just better options within a short distance of Veliko Turnovo.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chrissw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadezhda K, Manager at Veliko Tarnovo Hotel Premier, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2015

Thank you for leaving your opinison for our and our guests' information! We expect you back in hotel PREMIER, Veliko Tarnovo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2015

We booked this hotel at the last minute for NYE. Took the last 2 rooms and were even offered a discount. The hotel itself is nothing special but the staff makes it outstanding. As an added bonus, this is the first hotel in Bulgaria where I was able to sleep through the night. Noise was absent and walls seem very well isolated (even though the room was near the elevator).

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svetleto33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadezhda K, Manager at Veliko Tarnovo Hotel Premier, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2015

Dear svetleto33,
thank you for being our Guest and sharing your experience with the others. We expect you again.
Have a successful 2015!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews