We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, delicious, clean Myanmar cuisine in a lovely, elevated, open-air restaurant”
Review of Inn Thar lay

Inn Thar lay
Ranked #6 of 51 Restaurants in Taunggyi
Cuisines: Burmese
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 February 2015

A lovely elevated view of the canal from this open-air restaurant, with beautiful fresh Myanmar food & friendly, but unobtrusive service is the essence of this, one of the many restaurants around the Phaung Daw Oo Pagoda in Ywama, Inle Lake, Myanmar.As usual here, we were taken by our boatman who is a friend of the owner. The place is very clean & quieter than other restaurants in the area, being around the corner from the Pagoda & its many busier eating places. The food was superb, especially the stir-fries, with fresh meat & vegetables & less oily or syrupy than many of the tourist-oriented Myanmar dishes found throughout Burma.Food a little bland, as usual here, but can be spiced up by self-service chili, garlic & soy.Very cheap & a welcoming place, with attentive, friendly, but not intrusive, service. Clean Western WC facilities. Takes Kyats & $US. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: February 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SteveandWendy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2015

As our canoes got stuck by Water Hyacinths blocking a briidge, whilst trying to get to our booked restaurant, we had to turn back. Our guides phoned around and the restaurant took us at 30 mins. notice for 37 people-and it was great. How many western urban restaurants could do that?
After our cold Myanmar beer we had a tasty Shan style meal sat watching the canoes zipping past on the river underneath our stilts. While top notch food is not needed, or expected in such remote locations, this was absolutely fine and there were no leftovers or complaints.

Date of visit: January 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BandD59
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 October 2014

After visiting nearby Phaungdawoo Pagoda we went to The Inn Thar Lay Restaurant, which is in a quaint two-storey wooden hut/house, above the brownish lake. It got a very earthy feel to it, a very relaxing place, with the full view of the canal. Food was OK, really not that special, fish was quite small and the taste a bit bland.

Date of visit: October 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kitty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 April 2013

One of the oldest restaurants in the area but still the best. Delicious Shan food in a great setting, although with the way level dropping you may need to walk down from Hpaung daw Oo pagoda rather than mooring outisde

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ohnmarkhin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Our boat slowed down as we approached the Inn Thar Lay Restaurant and I could see that it was chock-a-block full with diners. Our sweet guide, Win Win, must have called ahead for a reservation because we were seated right along the canal with the best view of everything happening. Service was fast and the food totally perfection. We started off with local beer. Normally I'm a red wine gal at home, but the Tiger and Myanmar beers are perfect on a toasty warm winter day that feels just like summer at home. I had some vegetable curry (my standard nearly every meal except breakfast) and my friends ordered Phad Thai or similar. Everyone was smiling at the choices. We so wished we were native to Myanmar as we watched the delicious choices of our guide. Her meal was complimentary which we appreciated. We had her company and help in ordering and only paid for our own meals. Friendly restaurant with great food!

Date of visit: January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Mona2446
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Inn Thar lay also viewed

 
Taunggyi, Shan State
 

Been to Inn Thar lay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.