We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy, friendly comfort.”
Review of Lux Guest house

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lux Guest house
Ranked #10 of 46 Battambang B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 October 2012

It seems it is the hotels policy to pick guests up from the bus station. We arrived at around 6:30pm after a very long, hot bus ride from Phnom Penh. I was sick, so I was very relieved when I saw my name pop up on a card outside the bus window. The chap grabbed our bags and before he set off, told us that because he didn't know where we were coming from or when, he had been running from bus to bus since 10:30 am looking for us!!! On arrival we were handed cold ripe bananas and given a brief overview of the area by the same tuk tuk driver. The only issue really was that we were on the fourth floor, and with no lift and feeling sick, it was a challenge going out for dinner!
The room was great. Spacious, beautiful view, clean and cozy. I spent most of our time in Battambang, in bed, but my wife was easily able to explore the town and when I was better, got to see the river which is only 5 minutes walk away. Friendly, helpful staff who booked our bus back to Phnom Penh and trips out at night. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike_auger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 103 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed two nights Ian twin room. The beds are huge, air conditioning runs nicely and wi if connection is great. We also had a bar size fridge. Staff were very helpful and got us the best tuk tuk in town - nicky. It is close to a few great cafes. Battambang is hardly a tourist town so it is great to see the real Cambodia. Very noisy from the street even on the fourth floor, but you are in the city so it is to be expected.

Room Tip: Wear earplugs due to noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jess d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean with strong water pressure. Free banana + water.

However, there was mosquito in the lobby. =(

Very nice location, but not to say very happening. A lil boring.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My experience went from good to great to amazing. The guesthouse is located on a quiet street two blocks from the market and river.

Let's start with good: in low season for under $10 you can get a room with ensuite bathroom, hot water, refrigerator (not all rooms), good bed and bedding, flat screen (sometimes regular) tv with lots of English channels and wifi. Bicycles are available for $2 a day and motorbikes as well.

The great? Rooms are cleaned daily and stocked with bottles of water. They greet you in the afternoons/evenings daily with chilled fresh cut fruit. The wifi is also placed on every floor so that you can get it from every room in the place. The hot water is actually hot, unlike many budget places, and I didn't even have to turn it all the way up to get a scalding hot, good pressure shower. Seems like small things but I have rarely encountered this at the budget level in my months in the region.

The amazing is when I overslept my bus and woke up at 7 for my 6:45 bus. The front desk guy rushed upstairs to help me pack then whisked me to two separate bus stations on a scooter to make sure I got on the next bus with the same ticket. Now that's service!

I did have an ant problem in the room, but they cleaned and sprayed it daily so it's just the persistence of ants out here. The rooms are otherwise very clean.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

having previously lived in Battembang i was aware of the Lux,,,so when i returned for a visit i booked here. Good collection at the bus station avoided any scammers trying to take you elsewhere. Great comfortable rooms,,bright and airy. First hot shower in over a month !!!! always good. and even the tv channels had been sorted into groups by language,,,Great.
Staff are friendly and great location.

Room Tip: no lift,,but only 3 floors high !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justjonnos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.5 km away
King Fy Hotel
King Fy Hotel
#12 of 26 in Battambang
350 reviews
0.8 km away
Angkor Comfort Hotel
Angkor Comfort Hotel
#9 of 26 in Battambang
97 reviews
0.2 km away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#17 of 26 in Battambang
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Seng Hout Hotel
Seng Hout Hotel
#15 of 26 in Battambang
369 reviews
1.4 km away
The Sanctuary Villa
The Sanctuary Villa
#16 of 26 in Battambang
322 reviews
0.6 km away
Classy Hotel & Spa
Classy Hotel & Spa
#8 of 26 in Battambang
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lux Guest house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lux Guest house

Address: # 79 Street 102, Phum 20uksaphea, Sangkat Svay Pao, Battambang 02000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Battambang
Price Range: $13 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lux Guest house 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lux Guesthouse is a modern luxury guest house which has high quality standard service with the unique Khmer hospitality you expect and deserve. Our fully modernized property which just opened on April 2009 comes with all the usual amenities as well as unlimited water, free bikes, free internet, free pickup. It is only a 5 minute walk to the Central Market and by bike, it is less than 2 minutes. Of course, tuk tuks are always an option as well. Run by Khmer family, it is a friendly place with a warm, cozy atmosphere and it will provide you with a memorable experience of Khmer hospitality . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lux Guest house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Guest House Hotel Battambang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing