We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great low cost option”
Review of Lux Guest house

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lux Guest house
Ranked #10 of 46 Battambang B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 November 2016

The Lux Guesthouse is in a great location, just a couple of blocks from Riverside and right in the heart of the old colonial city. Our 3 person room was, huge and clean though slightly musty smelling, Good A/C and fan, hot water, fridge and very hard but surprisingly comfy huge beds.
The reception staff were a little hit and miss, most were super friendly and helpful arranging transportation and solving minor hiccups but just a couple appeared a bit grumpy during our 3 day stay, reluctant to get off the sofa to take/get our key.
Lovely breakfast at the sister hotel 'Delux Villa' just around the corner. Massive portions and great service from the main waiter. Slight downside is that the manager there does appear to be extremely untrusting of the 'lower class' guesthouse guests - he pounced on us for our vouchers every time we appeared for breakfast or to use the pool (which is also fabulous) engaging in no conversation whatsoever and not even smiling. Sadly we witnessed him behaving very differently towards guests staying in the villa which we found disappointing.
Overall though a great place to base yourself in Battambang.

Stayed: November 2016
1  Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

The location near nat market and night market. Everything good staff friendly and have good air con . Bathroom and have swimming poor and have normal prizes I feel warm when I been there I love that place

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Luhan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Before booking this hotel I read the many reviews here on TA and was surprised to read that some travelers rated this as the best hotel they had stayed at in Cambodia. Others said it was the worst hotel, giving it a very low rating.

I have personally stayed in dozens of similar hotels in Cambodia, Vietnam and Thailand. The Lux Guest House is a typical budget hotel, the likes of which can be found all over Cambodia. It is okay, nothing more nothing less. Perfectly fine for budget travelers looking to spend $20 USD (or less), but nothing rave about.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016

I booked in to the Lux Guesthouse for 2 nights around the middle of September, 2016. I wish I had not. I stayed at this place so I could get some work done on my laptop that I needed to do. After checking into my room I noticed that the wifi did not work and would only connect for short amounts of time. It was totally unusable.
So taking into consideration I needed to get some things done on the laptop I went down to reception and asked to change rooms, I was hoping that if I stayed in a room next to the router/modem I would get some wifi access. After waiting downstairs for around 30mins while the guys at reception made phone calls and walked and sat around they finally swapped my room. And it was another room far away from the router/modem. The wifi still did not work. The guys who work at reception were extremely unhelpful, dismissive but mostly just useless. I sat in the hallway right next to the modem/router for hours as I was able to get a low level of connection when sitting right next to it.
The room that I was swapped to was quite basic and run down and dirty.....the bathroom ceiling leaked water through a lot. To the point where you would need to be constantly movong out of the way of all the drops coming down. I just hope it was not coming from the toilet above.....although it probably was considering that most the drops were coming from directly above the toilet in my room and therefore there would likely be a toilet in the same position above the ceiling. The fan also did not work. I have attached photos of the ceiling and fan where the water was coming through.
The Lux hotel is also located at the lowest point around the town of Battambang, so when it rains it floods easily and it is not possible to walk outside the hotel unless you walk through knee deep water. I eventually did this and walked through the water after hours of being stuck in the hotel. I have attached photos of the flooded streets around the Lux Guesthouse.
After checking out I received an email from the Lux Guesthouse a couple of days later accusing me of breaking a TV, I am not surprised that their TV was broken as more things were broken than not in the room and through the hotel.
The only up side to staying here is that you can use the pool at the Deluxe hotel down the street, and the pool is quite nice. But all in all I would rate this as the worst place I have stated at in over a year of travel through many different countries.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Jarrod A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

Although marginally more expensive than most of the hotels around it, you definitely get your money's worth. Right in the center of everything you are a 2 second walk from all the best restaurants and sites. The room was clean and secure. Since there isn't a ton to do in Battambang my boyfriend and I found ourselves relaxing in our room a lot so I'm definitely glad we upgraded a bit for this stop. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The shower didn't have much pressure but at least the water was warm. Access to the Delux hotel pool right around the corner is probably very nice during dry season, it was raining most of the time we were here so we checked it out but didn't spend much there.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.5 km away
King Fy Hotel
King Fy Hotel
#14 of 26 in Battambang
349 reviews
0.8 km away
Angkor Comfort Hotel
Angkor Comfort Hotel
#10 of 26 in Battambang
97 reviews
1.4 km away
The Sanctuary Villa
The Sanctuary Villa
#16 of 26 in Battambang
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Classy Hotel & Spa
Classy Hotel & Spa
#8 of 26 in Battambang
256 reviews
0.2 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#1 of 46 in Battambang
817 reviews
1.8 km away
Ramchang Guesthouse
Ramchang Guesthouse
#6 of 46 in Battambang
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lux Guest house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lux Guest house

Address: # 79 Street 102, Phum 20uksaphea, Sangkat Svay Pao, Battambang 02000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Battambang
Price Range: $14 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lux Guest house 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lux Guesthouse is a modern luxury guest house which has high quality standard service with the unique Khmer hospitality you expect and deserve. Our fully modernized property which just opened on April 2009 comes with all the usual amenities as well as unlimited water, free bikes, free internet, free pickup. It is only a 5 minute walk to the Central Market and by bike, it is less than 2 minutes. Of course, tuk tuks are always an option as well. Run by Khmer family, it is a friendly place with a warm, cozy atmosphere and it will provide you with a memorable experience of Khmer hospitality . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lux Guest house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Guest House Hotel Battambang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing