We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value - Enjoyable Stay”
Review of Tomato Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Battambang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tomato Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2014

This is a very good guest house! First of all, the people are wonderful! Kind and generous, and were happy to help with booking travel, bike rental, etc. Furthermore, the food is excellent! And cheap. Many locals come here to eat at night. Give it a try and you will find out why. The location is OK, just a short walk from the middle of town. It's quiet at night.

The rooms are clean, have comfortable beds and large windows. The shared bathroom in the 4-bed dorm is clean and well-maintained. As others have mentioned, there is no sink, but I doubt that will make or break your stay. The shower water pressure is OK, and there's a faucet down below. I also checked out the private rooms, which looked tidy and clean as well. $1.50 for a dorm bed or $3 for a private room (good for 2 people) with ensuite bathroom. You can't beat that!

Overall it was a great 5 nights at Tomato Guest House. I have recommended it to numerous travelers and would not hesitate to stay here again myself.

Room Tip: WiFi available in the lobby/cafe area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monkey_on_a_bus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2014 via mobile

Local/Family ran guesthouse, it's not the nicest place I've stayed but it IS clean and at (currently) $3 a night (room personal bathroom) it's the best bargain I've come across. The location is good, the beer is cheap and people are great! I'd come back in a heartbeat!

Stayed: September 2014
Thank Evanpppants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed in a private room with own bathroom for 3 usd a night. There's no air con so have to keep the window open at night. But felt safe since the doors are close after midnight and the room are on the 2nd floor. The staffs are very friendly and helpful and cooks a decent meal at the restaurant. Can also rent a bicycle or hire a tuk tuk for a day. I left my Lonely Planet guide book with the tuk tuk driver. The guesthouse called him to drop it off and received it at the end of the night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed in the 4 beds dorm for 1.5$ a night (!). The room is nothing fancy (well, for the price..) but is perfectly fine, as for the bathroom. No sink in the bathroom but just use the water from the shower to brush your teeth. The window allows some great light in the room. One thing tho : it's is very hot in the room as there is only two fans hang on the walls.

The balcony outside is really nice and give a nice street view with the rooftop bar opposite to it (great bar and owners by the way).

But what make this place unique and recommendable, additionally to the great value for money (you can't find cheaper- for a very correct room) and its location (Battambang is not big, the center is a few minutes walk) ? The friendly and happy family that runs the place. Lang Lang is extremely friendly and I've never seen him not smiling. All the rest of the staff has been very nice with the customers and are happy to get to know you (although not everybody in the staff speak great English, but enough for basic communication).

The private rooms are for 3$. You can rent bicycle for only 1$ a day. I will go back to this place for sure !

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Backpacker4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed in a private room for USD 3 per night. It was basic, but still nice and absolutely nothing to complain about.
The staff is very friendly and helpful and I bought tickets through them, a free map and good advices on things to do around Battambang.
I only ate breakfast, which was nice and prices are very fair.
The roof top restaurants was under renovation and therefore closed. But cosy and relaxed atmosphere down in the bar or outside.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jesper R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.9 km away
Here Be Dragons
Here Be Dragons
#1 of 31 in Battambang
228 reviews
0.3 km away
Ganesha Family Guesthouse
Ganesha Family Guesthouse
#8 of 31 in Battambang
144 reviews
0.2 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#1 of 49 in Battambang
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
395 reviews
1.4 km away
The Sanctuary Villa
The Sanctuary Villa
#14 of 26 in Battambang
334 reviews
0.5 km away
Star Hotel
Star Hotel
#9 of 26 in Battambang
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tomato Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomato Guest House

Address: Battambang, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Battambang
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NO BOOKING !!! Don't let messages and don't call, please. Two establishments face to face First one: - Restaurant downstairs (opened for the lunch to the dinner until 11pm) - Rooms & dorms with own bathroom Second one: - Bar/restaurant on the rooftop, perfect to chill out (opened for breakfast until 11am and dinner until 10pm) - Rooms with own bathroom & dorms with bathroom - Motobike and bicycle for rent - Laundry - Bus and boat tickets for booking - Circus tickets for booking - Massage on the rooftop ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing