We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$115
US$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Book now, pay at stay
US$116
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$92
US$85
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$112
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$127
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
184
98
21
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
184
98
21
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfive pointsfull kitchenfront desksized refrigeratoron site parkingkitchen areaone bedroom suitepoints areaoatmealstove topwalking distanceparking feean extended stayroom was spotlessno exceptionconvenient locationwould definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2018

This is a recently renovated downtown Residence Inn, much nicer than many I've stayed at in the past that feel more like an apartment complex. There is a $10 self parking fee but it is walkable to a number of restaurants and coffee shops, plus UAB and the hospitals.
The staff for the most part are very friendly and helpful. Elaine, the General Manager, and Tom at the front desk were extremely helpful in assisting us with an early move mid-stay to a larger room. The free breakfast is nice, with many hot and cold options. The Mon-Weds evening food was hit or miss, but it was free and free beer.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom suites also have a sofa bed. They are like a large apartment and great for two couples or families with kids.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

I stayed for a business conference over the weekend. My room was beautiful. I had a small fully equipped kitchen, small living room with a fireplace and a flat screen tv, and a nice big bed. The room is a little tight but it was still very nice. It was close to the university and the downtown was a few minutes away. Also near a very nice shopping mall with nice little restaurants. The included breakfast was pretty much a continental breakfast but it was also very well served. They had cereal, eggs, bacon, waffles. Would stay here again. You do have to pay to park here 10 dollars a day though.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mariacarrillo94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

This is a very impressive upscale property that I would recommend for anyone...now. Only because the GM took customer dissatisfaction seriously and made an immediate decision , although after the fact, to rectify the situation. I must comment the Sales Manager who went about and beyond to take care of my concerns in the absence of the GM. The rooms are really nice, although, my experience was not quite as positive. Their evening events on different days is awesome and the team that prepares the food is awesome (Female leader on the night I enjoyed the food took note of my allergies and fixed me a special plates. The front desk staff tried to be helpful, but a couple of team members did not follow through on what they promised me they would do to rectify the situation. The GM is relatively new, hopefully, sh will address the issues I surfaced so that 1% who may have a bad experience will become 0%. Please check out the property and if you have question/concern call and speak with the GM. One of best Residence properties, I have stayed in, with the exception of a few challenges.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank eklicea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitney D, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Eklicea1, thank you so very much for sharing your recent experience at the Residence Inn Birmingham. We are most grateful that although you encountered challenges that you allowed us the opportunity to correct them. We hope that you will give us another try on future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Residence Inn as a brand is usually a good deal and this one was no exception. Large and functional rooms that seemed really designed for people who are traveling for business or who are living out of their hotels for many weeks.
For this hotel the PROS: location good. Rooms spacious as expected. Front staff was generally super helpful. Parking was fairly easy.
CONS: You are at a Residence Inn, so the sheets always scream "budget hotel!" which is always a let-down. The breakfast is fairly bare-bones and budget-hotel-standards (there's a decent coffee shop around the corner).

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank OhFranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitney D, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

OhFranklin, thank you for sharing your thoughts with us! We appreciate you and hope you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Great Stay - Room 222- Checked into this Residence Inn with my boyfriend while passing through, and Jontel R. at the front desk was absolutely amazing. We were exhausted and it was nice to deal with someone so friendly at the end of the day. We even got an upgrade for the night!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brianna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitney D, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Birmingham Downtown at UAB, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

So good to hear, Brianna B. Thank you for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews