We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sonesta ES Suites Birmingham
Nearby Hotels
US$127
Curio.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$143
US$129
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$159
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$99
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$103
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$83
US$80
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
83
59
22
15
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
59
22
15
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsresidence innsuperior grillfront deskfull kitchenroom was cleanan older propertystaff was very friendlymarriott propertieswafflesextended staya great place to stayexcellent staypenthousefireplacejeffhousekeepingaccommodations
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Do not get a room on the 1st floor if you need to actually sleep in your room! I don't normally complain but WOW! I even took 2 Benedryl, turned on a white noise app on my phone, turned on the ORM fan. I believe there was a children's birthday party going on all night=no sleep

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank CTRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Front Office Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear CTRS ,
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements during our upcoming full property renovation to ensure that we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Sincerely,
Donna Burdette
Front Office Manager
Sonesta ES Suites-Birmingham
205.991.8686

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

I would give this hotel 3 thumbs up If I had them. Not only was the customer service great from everyone, the hotel is in the perfect location to reach any type of restaurant or almost any type of store you want to go to. The rooms were just like home.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
Thank shantikaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Front Office Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear shantikaj,
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Donna Burdette
Front Office Manager
Sonesta ES Suites
205.991.8686

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

The first issue I had with this so called suite, is that upon entering it smelled of mildew, the carpet and sofa was dirty and torn. The room was very outdated, plus Marriott did tell us it sold the place. Not my type of place to stay, should have investigated this property more. Will never stay there again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Breeze334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Front Office Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Breeze334,
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements during our upcoming full property renovation to ensure that we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Sincerely,
Donna Burdette
Front Office Manager
Sonesta ES Suites-Birmingham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

This hotel is actually a low income apartment complex! People live here full time. They stay up all night drinking and arguing. The beds are horrible, the pull out sofa unusable. My room had a horrible smell, the neighbors argued all night and wandered the parking lot at all hours! Got no sleep at all! Could be a good place, decent size room, re done kitchen area and sand volleyball court. Unfortunately the court is covered with dog feces and leaves, the kitchen was dirty I couldn't even make coffee! The coffee pot had while gritty residue in it. Gross! Stained very old carpet, filthy couch with stains and white stuff on it I couldn't even sit on the couch! overall gross! 1 star motel not a all suites resort!!! Do not recommend

Room Tip: Don't stay here! If you do stay on second floor so you don't hear upstairs neighbors all night
Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tansy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna B, Front Office Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Tansy D,
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements during our upcoming full property renovation to ensure that we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Sincerely,
Donna Burdette
Front Office Manager
Sonesta ES Suites-Birmingham
205.991.8686

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Had reservations at Residence Inn by Marriott, 3 GreenHill Parkway in Birmingham AL.
Went to check in yesterday, Sept 30 and found our from the front desk that it was no longer a Residence Inn. Marriott had sold the location last Tuesday Sept 26 and FAILED TO NOTIFY THE RESERVATION HOLDERS THAT THEY WOULD BE CHECKING IN TO A LOCATION UNAFFILIATED WITH MARRIOTT.

Since we have never heard of Sonesta, we declined to stay. Then found out they had already cancelled our reservation for this date and a future date. WOW! MARRIOTT undoubtedly has some problems and issues at the top. Communication with rewards members and reservation holders would be at the top of their failure to communicate list!

Room Tip: It is no longer a Residence Inn and is not affiliated with Marriott at all.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramblin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews