We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
29
47
22
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
47
22
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chinese tour buffet dinner jiuzhaigou national park tibetan tray tub
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

When we arrived at the Holiday Inn, it was not a good start. We had heard the bad reviews on Trip Advisor, but there is not very much choice in Jiuzhaigou, especially before the big tourist season starts (around July-October), so we bit the bullet and booked four nights here.

To begin with, it was FREEZING. We came into the lobby, which was pretty but super cold, and the rooms weren't any warmer. I had seen reviews saying it was cold, but I assumed that meant in winter, not early June. Nope, it's REALLY COLD even in June. They don't use the central heating which is present in the rooms either.

Secondly, the room we were given was a twin when we had booked a double. When we told staff, they said it would be an extra fee to have a double. An extra fee for something we had already booked and paid for?!

Furthermore, the outside door of the room we were in didn't close properly, so it had a huge gap about 5-10cm wide out into the freezing air. When we told staff, they said 'every room has this', despite the pictures advertised in the lobby clearly not showing this fault...

However, eventually things turned out well. After much pleading, the staff moved us to a double room with no door gap, and gave us a small portable heater to heat the room. After that, we found the room to be quite comfortable. The bathroom was nice, the hot water worked, and the views from the room were truly spectacular. The bed was comfortable for Chinese standards, although perhaps a little hard for Western standards.

The breakfast was good. Despite previous reviews, the breakfast buffet had a variety of both Chinese and Western dishes (toast, eggs, sauages etc).

As for the location, it turned out to be really nice. Yes, it is a half hour drive to Jiuzhaigou park, however it is half an hour closer to the airport than many other hotels. Also, we found the location to be really beautiful, with spectacular views of the mountains. Regarding the location, it's actually not where google maps says it is either. Google maps puts it inside the actual park. It's on the main road into town.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to people who have adequate clothing if you're not travelling when it's super hot.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cath G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzy F, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo. We're glad to see your stay experience has been improved. Thank you for complementing the breakfast and environment. The hotels is located in Ganhaizi. The landscape is really beautiful here. We provide shuttle bus to Jiuzhaigou on daily basis. Please contact the concierge for more information. We'll forward your opinions to the related department to follow up. Hope you can come back again.
Lizzy Fan
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a very nice and unique Tibetan flavour to the hotel lobby and exterior hotel buildings. However, I didn't personally find the hotel room very clean as there was hair in the bathtub when we first checked in and the stopper of the bathtub also could not be released and had to be sucked out and couldn't be repaired. The hotel management did provide a fruit platter as a service recovery but due to the cleanliness of the place, I would be tempted to try somewhere else for a next visit.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Peacetinklyelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzy F, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo and sharing your stay experience. The hotel is designed with local Zang and Qiang characteristics. You will feel an exotic flavor here. We'll forward your experience in the room to the housekeeping department. We truly hope you can come back in the future to feel the improvement.
Lizzy Fan
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed there while visiting Jiuzhaiguo on group tour. The room lighting we dim, not something we are used. The central heating system was somehow unavailable so we were provided with a portable heater. Our bathtub was clogged and slow to drain. Room service was efficient as they attended to the matters without unnecessary delays but it just reduce the satisfaction. I noticed the corners, the gaps between the furniture and under the beds were dusty. The dim light definitely don't help housekeeping in this aspect. The overall decor and the spacious floor area were the only plus points. Breakfast was typical local porridge with various vegetable dishes. It was boring and we have this almost most parts of out tour. The western breakfast only served bread, croissant and butter with bulls-eye egg. No jam, no other choices of eggs.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dogcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilian_Li, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jiapo. We are sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied you’re your stay. Please accept our utmost sincere apologies for your unsatisfying experience. We appreciate you taking the time to bring these matters to our attention and will take necessary action to improve. We hope that another opportunity could be given to better your impression on the hotel. We will definitely make a difference.
Lilian Li
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Imposing lobby in stately stone building.
Location strategy unclear as neither near nature reserve nor near airport. Very remote, 2-3 dusty shops and 2 non-descriptor restaurants
Rooms with stone floors and tepid water...we slept with most clothes on and showered tentatively.
1 restaurant in hotel, reasonably priced, awful breakfast and dinner buffet - but dinner a la carte was pretty good
Staff speak very broken English and was Turing to ask simple things. While we don't expect people to speak English worldwide, we chose Holiday Inn to help us navigate a land as foreign as Juizhaigou.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ReachP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilian_Li, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jiapo. Please accept our utmost sincere apologies to you for your unsatisfying experience at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best way to improve our service. We are bound to strengthen English training for all the staff, and we are improving the buffet standard to meet the different needs of the guests. We hope that you will witness our changes in the near future.
Lilian Li
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Pros - nice looking lobby, very attentive service, excellent buffet breakfast and dinner

Cons - freezing temperatures in the area and hotel has NO heat!!! Apparently they turned off the central heat even though the weather was still close to zero. We asked for a heater but they were all being used (no surprise). They were able to provide us with a heating element similar to a radiator that heated about 2 feet of space. The beds had electric blankets so sleeping was not an issue, but getting out of bed was terribly cold. Also tiny bugs in room but that wasn't a huge issue since they didn't bite.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hxy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilian_Li, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jiapo. We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience may have caused you. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best way to improve our service. We hope that you will witness our changes in the near future.
Lilian Li
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews