We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View is excellent, service is below average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo
Ranked #6 of 211 Hotels in Jiuzhaigou County
Reviewed 12 October 2014

I arrived in October, so the weather is getting colder and colder, The day I arrived, the night temperature was about 5 Centigrade, that is about 41 Fahrenheit.

1. The hotel didn't turn on the heating at that night. From lobby to room, all cold. You definitely will not have a warm welcome feeling.

2. Both window and door to the balcony were not sealed well (very obvious gap), so you have cold air coming to the room as well as noise from the passing traffic.

3. They did turn on the heating at second night when the temperature dropped even lower and snowed, but the heating was not enough. And, they turned it off in the day time, with outdoor temperature at around 10C/50F.

Based on above, if you plan to visit Jiuzhaigou in October, I won't recommend you stay in this hotel.

Beyond weather, some other suggestions:

1. The hotel is pretty far from the entrance of Jiuzhaigou National Park, it is around 25 to 30 kilometers according to Taxi drivers. You always need to arrange round transportation ahead.

2. They don't exchange new version of US Dollar to RMB, they only exchange US Dollar bill before 2006. This is ridiculous and basically ruined my second day trip to Huanglong because I didn't have enough RMB to pay Taxi and park ticket. So bring enough RMB to Jiuzhaigou.

Other than above, my room was at the back of the hotel and had a stunning view, you can see the pictures I attached. I am not complaining individuals but I do dislike some hotel policies.

Room Tip: Room at the back of the hotel with views facing the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Park_2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzy F, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2014

Gear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo and feedbacking your experience. Firstly, we do appreciate your opinions. We're sorry that you do not have a pleasant journey at Jiuzhaigou. We will forward your feedbacks on the US dollar issue to the Management Team for improvements. Due the weather condition, we have opened heat system to warm up the hotel. We still prepare heaters and extra quilt for you. The hotel is about 30 miles away from Jiuzhaigou. The hotel provide car rent service with different types of cars. The concierge can contact the taxi for you either. Please do come back again in the further to see the improvements.
Thank you and have a nice day!
Lizzy Fan
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2014

This was the hotel that I stayed at for two days while I was in Jiuzhaigou.

When I first entered the room, I thought that the room looked VERY outdated and does not look 4-5 star at all. Also, there is NO WIFI in the room. If you wanted wifi, you would need to go to the freezing lobby and use it there (being a Canadian, this didn't really bug me). The bathroom was also pretty horrible with hair all over and water leaking out of the bath area easily.

Also, during the second day, my bed became slanted because I put too much force on it (yeah, its a habit).. I had the worst sleep that I ever had in my life..

When I boiled water in the room, the result was very whitish coloured water, and I thought "Disgusting, I don't know if this is drinkable or not..."

The breakfast and one night dinner was also pretty bad.. The food was cold and the selection was rather poor.. I had the same stuff for two days straight due to the low food selection.

Finally, there is NO WAY to control the temperature in the room, and the central heating system was not operational, which means you better wear some clothes while sleeping or you would freeze..

If you are not part of a tour, I DO NOT RECOMMEND this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TKWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzy F, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2014

Gear Guest,
Thank you for stayinging at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo and sharing your staying experience. We're sorry to know that your stay was an unpleasant one. All your feedbacks are very much appreciated. We shall forward your opinions about room
and breakfast to Housekeeping department and FB department to improve. We're working on the WIFI coverage program. You may be able to enjoy WIFI in room on your next visit to Jiuzhai. We have prepared heater and extra quilt in guest service centre. We shall provide them on your request.
We sincerely hope you can come back in the future to see the changes we make. Thank you and have a nice day!
Lizzy Fan
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2014

Quick Summary, you can read the whole story below: We were mislead on the price through trip advisor and Booking.com. We are now paying $200 USD a night to stay in this property. this hotel does not have 24hr hot water. Wifi costs a additional $8 a day. When breakfast ran out of coffee the servers would not brew more. there are no food outlets open between 4 and 6PM. Our bathroom had disgusting globs of someone elses hair. Absolutely not worth any of this money.

My Husband and I have been traveling in China for a couple weeks. We recently were in Langmusi at 3500M and came down with devastating flu's while on a trekking tour. After 2 feverish, "I can't move, i think we're dying" type nights in a remote guesthouse, we were able to hire a driver to bring us down to the Holiday Inn in hopes that we could recover in a little more comfort.

First of all I booked through TripAdvisor, and when booking this hotel, they advertise 169RMB a night through booking.com. Turns out it's a different hotel! A different, imposter Holiday Inn that is linked to the real Holiday Inn's page and theres a discrepancy on tripadvisor. Im normally a smarter traveller than that, but this was booked in a feverish, "Get me out of Here!" type mood and it went totally over my head. I showed up at the Holiday Inn after 5 hours of driving, feeling like I was going to keel over and faint at any second, with my husband feeling the same way. They hotel staff speaks very little english, so it was very frustrating for them to explain what had happened with my reservation. Turns out the real price is actually 1200RMB a night! That is a insane difference, but I felt so sick, our driver had already left us, and it was a additional 400rmb to get a new taxi to the impostor Holiday Inn, that I decided to to just pay it. Anything to crawl into a warm bed a sleep. Gary Xing, the duty Manager was kind enough to call booking.com and cancel our imposter reservation for us so that we didnt get charged twice. We got to our room, crawled immediately into bed and fell fast asleep.

After 12 plus hours of glorious sleep, we woke up the next morning at 9am feeling a little better, but starving. we went down to breakfast, and I guess we came in right at closing because the servers rushed us through the buffet line and there was no coffee left. No matter which way I phrased it, they wouldnt brew me new coffee. I needed a hot cup of coffee so bad! Just the thought of the warm liquid soothing my sore throat! ugh, this left me very upset, but I came back to my room and drank the instant coffee they left us with the hot pot.

This next part is what has left me most upset, and it is the entire reason I'm taking the time to write this review. I went to take a hot steamy shower, get some of the phlegm, snot and other nasty stuff out of my chest and there is no hot water! After an hour of calling the front desk trying to find a English speaking employee, getting transferred and hung up on repeatedly, Finally I hear from Jack, todays duty manager. Turns out this hotel doesnt offer 24hr hot water! ARE YOU SERIOUS? 1200RMB/$200 USD a night and I can't get the most basic of amenities? I've stayed in hotels for $25 USD a night that offer 24hr hot water. I checked into this hotel and spent the extra money just so I could be comfortable and recover, but I can;t even take a hot shower until 6PM? Im appalled. This is absurd and un-acceptable from such a expensive and nice hotel. Jack offered to take us up to the inter-continental spa to shower, but I dont think he understands that we have the flu, we feel like garbage, and we dont have the energy to even leave the room. I paid $200 a night so i can hole up in this room, not drive 20 minutes to a different property to take a shower.

So now I'm sitting in this room, upset and disappointed. 4 more hours until I can take a shower. We're already depressed to be so ill in the middle of our china trip, we wont get to see Jiuhaizagou, and we've spent almost $700 on this hotel and do not feel like it is at all worth it. This whole Holiday Inn experience has been one mishap after another. This is just terrible and I cannot wait to get out of here. Please be aware!

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Princessjili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzy F, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Gear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo. Firstly, we're sincerely sorry about all the problems you have encountered during your stay. We understand your expectation from us. We're sorry to say that we did not completely meet your satisfaction. We have checked the link issue you mentioned. It did link to a local Holiday Inn which have a different name and have no relationship with our property. We are trying to contact TripAdvisor and booking.com to solve this, so that no one else will encounter the same problem. We recommend all the guest to choose our official website ihg.com to reach us. We'll follow up and improve all the other aspects you have mentioned in our property. We did hope you have a perfect experience in our hotel. We would like to do all the best to help you enjoy the stay.
We sincerely wish you can come back again to feel the improvement.
Lizzy Fan
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2014

It may not be a hotel located at the entrance of Jiuzhaigou Park, its about half an hour drive, but it would be a prefect hotel for those who intend to visit Jiuzhaigou on your own without any guided tour and Mandarin is a challenge - .have the hotel to arrange the transport and itinerary for you. Believe me, it even cost less than I would have taken a package tour myself.

My entire 3 days program in Jiuzhaigou was arranged by a great Assistant Duty Manager, Daniel. Despite being based at IC Jiuzhai Paradise Hotel, Daniel had been a great assistance of seeing to every detail of my stay at Holiday Inn and even getting the Duty Manager, Bryan, to meet me upon arrival to ensure that everything is fine. Being a hotelier myself, I am truly impressed with Daniel's forward thinking and his "can-do" spirit in delivering customers' needs.

Due to the well-arranged itinerary by Daniel, I managed to visit Huanglong upon arrival from the airport before checking-in, spent a whole day at the Jiuzhaigou Park on the 2nd day and on the last day, even visited Song Pan, an ancient town, before catching my flight back to Chengdu later in the afternoon. The drivers for the arranged transport were very professional and committed to their duties. Since this is a pre-arranged transport by the hotel, there were no stops for those hard-sell shopping in which could have saved many of my valuable time to be spent on just sight-seeings..

The entire hotel and room were well-designed with beautiful Tibetan touches. Had a well-planned 3 compact days visit to Jiuzhaigou, thanks to Daniel and his entire team at Holiday Inn Jarpo who are very helpful staff in every aspects.

Room Tip: As this is a pretty large hotel and if you don't enjoy walking to your room, ask for a room on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Canny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzy F, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo and sharing your feedbacks. It's a great honor that our Duty Manager Daniel's service and arrangement impressed you. We‘ve forwarded your comments to Daniel and his team. We'll continue to deliver the good service spirit to make this property a great one. We sincerely wish you can come back in the future to stay in interContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise and meet Daniel and his team in person. Thank you and have a nice day!

Lizzy Fan
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

When we arrived at the Holiday Inn, it was not a good start. We had heard the bad reviews on Trip Advisor, but there is not very much choice in Jiuzhaigou, especially before the big tourist season starts (around July-October), so we bit the bullet and booked four nights here.

To begin with, it was FREEZING. We came into the lobby, which was pretty but super cold, and the rooms weren't any warmer. I had seen reviews saying it was cold, but I assumed that meant in winter, not early June. Nope, it's REALLY COLD even in June. They don't use the central heating which is present in the rooms either.

Secondly, the room we were given was a twin when we had booked a double. When we told staff, they said it would be an extra fee to have a double. An extra fee for something we had already booked and paid for?!

Furthermore, the outside door of the room we were in didn't close properly, so it had a huge gap about 5-10cm wide out into the freezing air. When we told staff, they said 'every room has this', despite the pictures advertised in the lobby clearly not showing this fault...

However, eventually things turned out well. After much pleading, the staff moved us to a double room with no door gap, and gave us a small portable heater to heat the room. After that, we found the room to be quite comfortable. The bathroom was nice, the hot water worked, and the views from the room were truly spectacular. The bed was comfortable for Chinese standards, although perhaps a little hard for Western standards.

The breakfast was good. Despite previous reviews, the breakfast buffet had a variety of both Chinese and Western dishes (toast, eggs, sauages etc).

As for the location, it turned out to be really nice. Yes, it is a half hour drive to Jiuzhaigou park, however it is half an hour closer to the airport than many other hotels. Also, we found the location to be really beautiful, with spectacular views of the mountains. Regarding the location, it's actually not where google maps says it is either. Google maps puts it inside the actual park. It's on the main road into town.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to people who have adequate clothing if you're not travelling when it's super hot.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cath G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzy F, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo. We're glad to see your stay experience has been improved. Thank you for complementing the breakfast and environment. The hotels is located in Ganhaizi. The landscape is really beautiful here. We provide shuttle bus to Jiuzhaigou on daily basis. Please contact the concierge for more information. We'll forward your opinions to the related department to follow up. Hope you can come back again.
Lizzy Fan
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jiuzhaigou County hotels
3.8 km away
InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise
InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai ...
#3 of 211 in Jiuzhaigou County
1,177 reviews
13.2 km away
Hilton Jiuzhaigou Resort
Hilton Jiuzhaigou Resort
#5 of 211 in Jiuzhaigou County
11 reviews
12.5 km away
Howard Johnson Tianyuan Resort Jiuzhaigou
Howard Johnson Tianyuan Resort J...
#4 of 211 in Jiuzhaigou County
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18 km away
Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort
Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort
#1 of 211 in Jiuzhaigou County
671 reviews
15.5 km away
Angelie Hotel
Angelie Hotel
#16 of 211 in Jiuzhaigou County
141 reviews
12.7 km away
Jiuzhaigou Tibetan Barley Inn
Jiuzhaigou Tibetan Barley Inn
#2 of 211 in Jiuzhaigou County
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo

Address: Ganhaizi, Zhangzha Town, 623402, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Sichuan > Jiuzhaigou County
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Jiuzhaigou County
Price Range: $176 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo The Gem of Jiuzhaigou, situated on the renowned Jarpo Town, the hotel is located on Jiuzhaigou's scenery and activity boulevard. Enjoy a mountainside getaway at the Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo that integrates with Tibetan culture and its customs. Boasting a beautiful climate and picturesque mountain scenery, Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo is the ideal location for a vacation or weekend getaway. Jiuzhaigou Valley is situated approximately 28 kilometers or 30 minutes drive from the hotel. Its location in the very heart of all that Jiuzhaigou has to offer and couldn't be more perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jiuzhaigou County Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing