We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
29
47
22
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
47
22
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet dinner chinese tour tray overseas tub furniture
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2017

When you first step into the lobby, you're freezing cold as we visited the place in October. The Tibetan inspired hotel had a huge lobby with large Tibetan prayer wheels which are not meant to be turned. The hotel should place a sign to inform hotel guests about this though as I saw a few turning the wheel and were asked to stop by the hotel attendants. Wish fireplaces in the lobby were real though.

We had issues with our room and so did other parties of our tour group. The first room we had poop in the toilet bowl. The flush wasn't working in the room nearby ours. The rooms also had really had strong cigarette smell but that was acceptable as we didn't know we were assigned to a smoking floor.

When we requested to change rooms and mentioned a NON-SMOKING room, the receptionist told us that smoking was prohibited in the rooms and that there were no "NON-SMOKING FLOOR" in the hotel. OK, but there were ashtrays in the room so obviously people would smoke in the room.

We were confused as we read that there were non smoking floors and the receptionist insisted that there weren't any. We were finally re-assigned to rooms on a non smoking floor after some talking. Sadly, there were still faint smell of cigarette smoke. As we walked down the hallway, we realised why. There were several rooms with local tourists happily puffing away!

Food was unexpectedly not so good for an international chain. There were Tibetans singing during dinner and then they also performed in the lobby.

Note, the heater in the room doesn't work so you have to request for separate one. Two complimentary bottles of water are provided daily plus coffee & tea. There are toiletries provided. The shower was really good as the pressure was high & temperature was hot enough. The bed was too hard though, I woke up with a slight backache as I wasn't used to it. Other than that, everything was good.

Room tip: Rooms facing the mountains & the valley
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sher1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzy F, Manager at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Dear sher1208, Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. Regarding of your mentioned, we are very concerned about your comments and rest assured that they have been shared with related departments for improvement so as to ensure we do not have one guest leaving the hotel dissatisfied. We will continue to aim higher to create even better experiences for you in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Please feel free to contact me, when planning your next trip to Jiuzhai Paradise.
Warmest regards,
Vivian Wang
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team
vivian.wang4@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2016

We stayed here for two nights on our tour of Jiuzhaigou. The lobby was impressive with huge prayer wheels as guests enter the hotel. Room was OK, kind of dingy taking into account that it's decor is Tibetan themed, which can be a little spooky at night. We had buffet dinner and breakfast at the hotel and they were fine. They ran out of coffee both mornings and took a long time for them to replace with the fresh pot. Quite nerve-wrecking for those of us who need our first cup of coffee in the morning. Otherwise, it was an OK stay being deep in the remote mountain area of Sichuan.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ROCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzy F, Manager at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Dear ROCruiser, Thank you for posting your review after staying at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jiapo Jiuzhaigou County. We will continue to aim higher to create even better experiences for you in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Please allow me to be your contact point in future if you require any assistance. I will be more than happy to render my services wherever possible.
Warmest regards,
Vivian Wang
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team
vivian.wang4@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Nice ambience all round, Tibetan inspired. Responsive front desk but level of communication in english is average. This well rated hotel was let down by poor house-keeping as the toilet flush was not working. Another couple friend also had to switch room as room was not properly cleaned.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSTan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzy F, Manager at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2016

Dear PSTan62, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jiapo Jiuzhaigou County. Please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience caused. We would like to assure you that we have communicated your feedback with the concerned department and corrective actions have been taken. Once again, thank you for your valuable time in sharing us with your comments and we do hope to welcom you back to Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jiapo Jiuzhaigou County in the future!
Warmest regards,
Vivian Wang
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

The hotel drive way and the lobby is really welcoming and it sets apart the hotel from any other property that I have stayed around the world. The lobby, the room and the rest rooms lacquered floor and wall tiling gives it a real antique at the same time feel that you getting to enjoy the some of the local architecture. The staff was very welcoming,a team came to the room as we checked in to confirm that we were happy with the room. We had a great experience ordering dinner to the room, as we had returned after a tiring day in Huanglong and with the language challenge on the phone , we had one of the managers turning up in the room with an i-pad with the food pictures which made the communication easy and simple and we enjoyed the food we ordered. The breakfast had limited options as a foreigner that was the only challenge we had. The family enjoyed our two day stay at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai and has left a lasting impression in our minds in particular with the ambiance of the hotel and the hospitality of the staff.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TomChackalackal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzy F, Manager at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Dear TomChackalackal, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jiapo Jiuzhaigou County. We are very glad to know that our staff and service helped in making your visit enjoyable. Meanwhile, we take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Please do not hesitate to contact with us any time if we can be of assistance to you for your next stay. Thank you!
Warmest regards,
Vivian Wang
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team
vivian.wang4@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Odd "traditional" stone architecture. One enters the vast lobby on the hotel's second floor, and can take an elevator from the main dining room up to third floor. Our room was on fourth floor of seven total. Lobby has huge prayer wheels to spin and many gifts to buy.
Stayed as part of overseas Chinese tour group. Despite guide's dire warning of poor service from surly minorities, we got excellent response when asking for extra pillow, water slippers etc. Dinner buffet included Tibetan songs and traditional gift giveaway of white (polyester) scarves. (In Shangrila county, Yunnan, the entertainment was more lively and scarves were real silk.) Breakfast buffet ok but not at all Western style food. Price sin the large lobby gift counters were reasonable. Great location for touring the national park. We did not use the advertised pool but were curious about horses grazing out back and nearby riding opportunities - high country riding at its best.

Room tip: Try for rooms overlooking the valley and mountains in back - that's why you visited this hard to get to place.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank R0bert3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzy F, Manager at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2016

Dear R0bert3, , Thank you very much for choosing Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jiapo Jiuzhaigou County. It is our aim to create a warm and hospitable environment for all our guests. So glad you feel welcomed with open arms when you visit us. We look forward to welcome you back again very soon. Please feel free to contact me if you require any preparation in advance to make your next stay with us more like home.
Warmest regards,
Vivian Wang
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team
vivian.wang4@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews