We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Silk Road Lodges - The Vines
Nearby Hotels
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trip.com
View Deal
Trip.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
36
29
12
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
29
12
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssilk roadspeak good englishrooms are spaciouslovely placetrain stationsmall hotellong walkbeautiful vineyardlocal villagefresh watermelon juicean ideal placefeel at homequiet areawarm hospitalityhusband and wifehighly recommend this placefried rice
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

For context, I'm a Westerner who has lived in China for over 3 years. It's always a pleasure to find a small hotel with a pretty setting and charm.

We were in the original building and there is now a larger new building set around a pretty courtyard overlooking the grape vines. I would request rooms here.

Oscar, the manager, speaks excellent English and is friendly and helpful. The staff was the same.

Breakfast was quite good and included eggs, vegetables, fried rice, yogurt, fresh fruit, flat bread and tea and coffee.

The hotel is about 2-3 km from downtown (which doesn't have much charm), but we really liked the location and found it an ideal place to stay in Turpan.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mitraveler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raziyanmu, Owner at Silk Road Lodges - The Vines, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you very much for your review. The rooms in the new block are, of course, newer - but they are also slightly smaller than the original rooms. So there is choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Located out of town this small hotel has a nice ambiance with very pleasant and helpful owners. The rooms were comfortable enough however are in need of fixing especially the bathroom. The food was good and we loved the fresh watermelon juice.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kathy_rodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raziyanmu, Owner at Silk Road Lodges - The Vines, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for your review.

Now that we have completed our extension, our next project is refurbishment of the older (5) rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

A lovely lodge tucked beautifully in the Grape Vines of Turpan. This hotel offers all the comforts of a major hotel chain but excels in adding in the extra!

We were greeted by warm friendly staff, who were more than willing to help make our experience unforgettable. The outdoor rooftops and terrace were great to relax and take in the scenery! The homemade dinner meals were second to none and the breakfast was a great way to start the day! The owners spoke excellent English and went above and beyond our expectations in making sure we had everything we could need!

I highly recommend this place and hope to return in the future!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank brit677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raziyanmu, Owner at Silk Road Lodges - The Vines, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you back at The Vines in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

This is one of the most charming stay I have had. With the vineyards around, the place exudes a charm of a feel-at-home place. The taxi that we took from the railway station had to make a few phone calls in order to find this place. Getting to town is a bit of a hassle as many of the cars and taxis are always full. The husband and wife who help run this place speaks excellent English and are always willing to help. Although the check out time was 1400 hrs, they allowed us to stay for another two hours since there were no bookings after us as our train was leaving much later in the evening. Great breakfast and free wifi. We had a great learning experience as we walked into the vineyards and discovered the purpose of the buildings among the vineyards. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Steven_Teo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raziyanmu, Owner at Silk Road Lodges - The Vines, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you very much for your review. It is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

An unusual place set in the grape vines just outside Turpan, the Silk Road Lodges was very comfortable. On the edge of town, it had a village guesthouse feel. Ashkar and Mukaram, the managers, looked after us very well. They spoke excellent English and were able to arrange a great driver, Tahir (who also spoke English very well) to take us around various sites. It was hot in June, but we were able to sit up on the roof in the evening and they brought us complimentary fresh watermelon juice and wine glasses for our bottle. The included breakfast was very good with local fruits and nuts, yoghurt, eggs and real coffee. We enjoyed our stay and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newplacesoldcases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raziyanmu, Owner at Silk Road Lodges - The Vines, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you very much for your review. You seem to have appreciated the differences we try to make for guests against a normal hotel stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews