We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Silk Road Lodges - The Vines
Nearby Hotels
US$26
Trip.com
View Deal
US$33
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$49
Trip.com
View Deal
US$41
Trip.com
View Deal
US$33
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Liyang Hotel(Turpan)
Trip.com
View Deal
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
35
28
11
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
28
11
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracesilk roadrooms are spaciouslovely placespeak good englishsmall hotellong walklocal villagefresh watermelon juicean ideal placefeel at homeone of a kindquiet areawarm hospitalityhusband and wifehighly recommend this placefried rice
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2017

Very, very friendly staff. I had dinner at the hotel that was delicious. Breakfast the next day was decent as well.
Room was comfortable though some of the furnishings are getting older.
Very quiet location, close to grape vines.
The hotel was kind of hard for the taxi to find which was surprising because it really wasn't far from train station (20min maybe) so make sure you print out directions to hotel to aid taxi drivers with bad attitudes

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTravelPirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raziyanmu, Owner at Silk Road Lodges - The Vines, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Thanks for your review. The older (5) rooms are shortly to be refurbished.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

I stay at the original block by myself and the room is really large and comfortable which made me wish that I could have stayed longer.
Dinner is pretty good but the waiting time for the dishes is quite long. Breakfast is good too.
This place has a homely feel and people are generally friendly and accommodating. There will be something lacking here and there which is ok to make do with so don't expect or compare service level to a luxury hotel.
The best time i had is with Chocolate, their little chocolate labrador which is the cutest and friendliest pup in Turpan, haha.....

Room Tip: Big quiet rooms at old block
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xffern .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raziyanmu, Owner at Silk Road Lodges - The Vines, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Overall I wouldn't say there is anything much about the hotel to shout about. It has only a few rooms, mostly works but don't impress. The maintenance haven't really caught up, and the room's getting a little creaky and worn out. Its location isn't far from the main street, nor is it close enough to walk. Included breakfast was largely vegetables, egg and buns kind of deal, so don't expect much. I won't exactly say it is good value for the rate.

That said, the folks running the place are friendly and speak good English. They also arranged transport to pick us up at the train station and also for a quick tour of Turpan. The surrounding vineyards are probably worth spending a little bit of time in, but we were a little late in the season and the grapes have largely been harvested. Maybe that would have improved the experience.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank WeeKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raziyanmu, Owner at Silk Road Lodges - The Vines, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

This review runs contrary to the general stream of reviews and this is probably reflected in the title "ordinary hotel" - which The Vines definitely isn't. I suspect the reviewer was expecting a typical Chinese hotel and The Vines is very different from that with a local Uighur flavour, in design, in fitout, and in the (fresh and local) breakfast served.

This difference, and the hotel's location, is well explained in the write ups of the hotel on the booking engines, but we do occasionally get guests who seem to expect something very different from what we say we offer.

It appears the guest stayed in one of the older rooms, which are due for refurbishment shortly. And we apologise if the room was not up to expectation. I am sure they could have been moved to one of our new rooms had they asked at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

For context, I'm a Westerner who has lived in China for over 3 years. It's always a pleasure to find a small hotel with a pretty setting and charm.

We were in the original building and there is now a larger new building set around a pretty courtyard overlooking the grape vines. I would request rooms here.

Oscar, the manager, speaks excellent English and is friendly and helpful. The staff was the same.

Breakfast was quite good and included eggs, vegetables, fried rice, yogurt, fresh fruit, flat bread and tea and coffee.

The hotel is about 2-3 km from downtown (which doesn't have much charm), but we really liked the location and found it an ideal place to stay in Turpan.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mitraveler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raziyanmu, Owner at Silk Road Lodges - The Vines, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you very much for your review. The rooms in the new block are, of course, newer - but they are also slightly smaller than the original rooms. So there is choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Located out of town this small hotel has a nice ambiance with very pleasant and helpful owners. The rooms were comfortable enough however are in need of fixing especially the bathroom. The food was good and we loved the fresh watermelon juice.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kathy_rodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raziyanmu, Owner at Silk Road Lodges - The Vines, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for your review.

Now that we have completed our extension, our next project is refurbishment of the older (5) rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews