We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$78
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
US$52
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$66
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$125
US$71
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lvye An Jia(Lijiang)(Great Value!)
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$86
US$77
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$199
US$164
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$444
US$338
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
US$171
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
US$154
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveller rating
256
54
9
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
256
54
9
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstiger leaping gorgebeautiful gardenold townprivate balconytaxienglishguesthouseoutskirts
Filter
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 324 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed for 5 nights at this lovely resort. The room was lovely, and the bed was very comfortable. I wanted to pack away the duvet to take with me. The garden was a beautiful oasis to relax in, with a stunning view of Snow Mountain. Bella and Bruce were most helpful in providing advice, arranging for taxi's, etc. Breakfast was really good, with a good combination of Western and Chinese choices.

The walk back from the village is on a pleasant path, but if you are planning to come back after dark, I would recommend a flashlight as there was some construction materials at various points on the path.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn25Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed for 3 nights here (1 night in room with snow mountain view and 2 night in family room). Called for a taxi to bring us to Bruce Chalet but taxi driver didn' bother to find out the exact location. He only dropped us at Shuhe Old Town - Main Entrance, but helped us to contact Bruce, that came about 5 - 10 min later to pick us there, very prompt response & reliable hospitality.... First impression on Bruce hospitality was great!

When we reached Bruce Chalet, was welcomed by Bella, with her enthusiastic tone, sweet laughter and warm welcome. Both of them went extra mile to help us carrying our 2 super heavy luggage and 1 small luggage, using staircase to second floor, where our room were located. Thank to both of you!!

We love the King bed room with Snow Mountain view very much. Unfortunately for the rest 2 more nights, this room was not available, so we moved to Family room - Ground floor (1 double and 1 single bed inside). Both room space are spacious. Bella and her 2 assistants did a great cleaning job!!

The Snow mountain view room comes with big balcony that have wide view of blossoming Canola flower field, covering the ground like yellow blanket and Snow capped mountain as huge backdrop, wonderful & breath-taking view!! We love to read book at balcony area, it gives us serenity and stress reliever, away from hustle and bustle of city life

On the first afternoon, we went ahead to Shuhe Old town. Guess what, they have a very helpful and smart dog that lead and guided us all the way to Shuhe Old Town. My 4 years old boy love the dog so much. Now, even 1 week after our Lijiang trip, he always mentions about this dog and recently he had dream; he played with the dog that made him super-duper happy woken up from his dream :-)

Bruce Chalet is within close walking distance to Shuhe Old Town. Since we can't walk too fast with our 4 years old boy, it takes about 15-20 minutes to reach Shuhe Old Town. Initially Bruce offered his kind help to drive us to Shuhe Old Town, but we would not want to trouble him. Where can you find this kind of service level if not in Bruce Chalet :-)

On the 2nd and 3rd night, we moved to Family Room. As our family room was located on ground floor and we had another Canadian family with 2 young todlers staying on 2nd floor, in the morning we were always awaken by "thump thump" noise coming from running todlers, stumping on 2nd floor. Other than that, the room was perfect!

In the morning over breakfast table, we had chance to get to know other travellers from different countries, speaking different language. With Bella as a great chef, breakfast selection was good, with porridge, prickle, fried eggs, bread comes with butter, jam, etc, some local bread (i don't know the name), hot coffee and tea. Breakfast is optional with additional of 20 yuan per person. Reasonable and good value!!

In the evening, we could gather at reading/living room for some discussion on our plan to explore Lijiang tourism spot and its nature beauty. Bruce is extremely helppful to contribute his advice & opinion, and goes further to help us on booking for Driver; English tour guide, and Hotels if you want to stay overnight (e.g: Lugu Lake, Shangri-La, Dali, or Tiger Leaping Gorge visit).


Wish to stay longer in this place, Bruce!
This is the only place that really make us feel Home away from Home. With its surrounding serentiy & tranquility, this place instill me a feeling that money can't buy!

Having Bruce & Bella companions like having your relatives or good old friends in China. Kudos to both of you and definitely miss you all!

Hope I can organise another family trip about 20 of us, shall we have chance to visit Lijiang in the future. Will love to visit & stay at Bruce Chalet.

Room Tip: King Size Bed with Snow Mountain view.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank zionsg88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I was a little bit afraid of going to Lijiang after hearing from other travelers in China about how touristy the old city is, but this place was perfect. It's ten minutes away from Lijiang proper (and all it's famous sights) in the little village of Shuhe, which also has it's own "old" area for tourists, a few minutes' walk away. The neighborhood was lovely and quiet, full of traditional homes and rice fields. Bruce was also incredibly helpful, taking us to the base of a great hiking trail and even arranging for me to spend an evening with a family that makes the local lentil-based jelly that the area is famous for. Now that I know this place is here, I'm looking forward to going back to Lijiang sometime.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room on the second floor so that you won't hear people above you walking around.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Spent three nights there and it was a wonderful stay. Nice, big rooms, clean and a beautiful setting. The host Bruce and his staff will do everything to make your stay a pleasant one. The breakfast is in a kitchen with a communal table so you meet other travellers so sharing experiences is easy just like sharing taxi's etc to other places. If you do stay here: arrange a pick up by the hotel or make sure your cab driver calls them since it is very hard to find the first time.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank Hautvast11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We had two wonderful nights at Bruce Chalet in Shuhe Old Town very near to LiJiang.
Bruce was always there to assist us with any of our questions about the area. The rooms surround a beautiful garden and his property is on the edge of a quiet street, bordered by agriculture and fields. Breakfast is optional for 20 Yuan and it is very good and plentiful. The breakfast room is very sociable at breakfast and many ideas and recommendations are exchanged. The rest of the time the property is quiet and peaceful.
The beds are western style with quality sheets and linens. The bathrooms are modern and very nice.
Bruce Chalet was of our nicest stays out of two weeks traveling in China!
Very affordable and the assistance Bruce offered was invaluable!

Room Tip: We had the upstairs end room with vaulted ceilings and a patio - beautiful!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews