We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Loaction Clean But The Rooms Are Very Small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2015

Stayed here on an all inclusive deal, check-in took a while but we were handed free drinks, given a room towards the rear of the hotel with views of the roof and air con units. Room smelt of cigarette smoke though this was dealt with and given a deep clean. Very tiny amount of wardrobe space and only 1 drawer per person next to bed side unit. Lighting in the bathroom was not very good. Food was buffet style but didn't have much flavour despite a wide range to choose from, the noise in the restaurant was unbearable at times and it could take an age to get a drink. Not sure if the guy who served me freezing cold red wine made a mistake or did it on purpose, pool area seemed a bit cramped for the number of people staying in the hotel, and the French animation team kind of got on your nerves as they constantly went from person to person telling you that they were counting on you being at their show tonight.

The pool bar served a good range of drinks with a friendly barmen but they closed at 5pm, not really sure why. Had a sandwich from the bar and it wasn't very good at all, the bread was dry with no butter or spread and the thick Italian style dried ham was very tough, the cheese was bland and the picked gherkins just caused the sandwich to fall apart, complained as I checked out of the hotel but the guy on reception just wasn't interested. Perfect location near Zlatni Rat Beach where we spent most days, though two beds and an umbrella cost £15 per day , mind you it was worth paying that to avoid the boom boom music around the hotel pool that the French require to have a good time !

Went into Bol most nights down the pathway under the pine trees, lovely restaurants and bars and a really nice walk. Used the hotel spa and have to say it's really classy and seems brand new ,though it is about 7 years old. Great sauna and steam room and you must try the "Shower of Surprises" Overall it's a great hotel it just needs to up it's a game and pay attention to the finer details.

Brac is a super place and Croatia is a truly lovely country to visit and I'm sure we will be retuning soon.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sbdtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2015

Dear sbdtiger,

thank you for taking your time and describing your overall vacation experience to us. We are grateful for your compliments on our wellness facility and surroundings. As for the minor mishaps you have mentioned, we are sorry and hope it did not affected on your holiday enjoyment. We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Vinko Martinic
Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 169 of 771 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2015

We were very pleased our Insight Tour had us booked at this lovely beachside hotel for a 2 night stay on our May trip through Croatia. The room we had overlooked the outdoor pool and patio area with glimpses of the sea beyond the tree branches. Our room was spacious with hardwood floors, a long desk/counter for stuff, several side tables and chairs, a large entry closet, in-room safe, and free in-room wifi connection. The tiled bathroom with shower-tub combo was clean with shampoo and soap, but no hand lotion (at least in our room). We couldn't figure out how to work the warm towel rack. While the room had 2 bathrobes and a good-sized balcony that held 2 plastic chairs and a patio table, it did not have coffee/tea making stuff in the room. The bed was comfortable, but it only had 1 pillow with no extras in the closet. The hotel discourages washing and drying of clothes in the room, but there was a clothes hanger attached to the wall in the balcony, probably more for wet bathing suits and towels.

This hotel is unlike any beach resort hotel I've been at. There was no sand inside. In the lobby area the white marble floors gleamed shiny clean. Downstairs there was a spa with indoor pool, but we didn't make use of those services. Neither did we make use of the bowling alley with several lanes, billiard tables, nor the fitness room and tennis courts. The outdoor pool area had a separate wadding pool for kiddies and the loungers had umbrellas. It was inconvenient getting a towel for these loungers from the indoor spa area. The poolside bar was busier than the pool which only hardy souls were using towards the end of May when it was not that hot and with a chance of showers. There were activities employees around the pool asking those on loungers to join in on their planned program.

Our tour group had breakfast and dinner included in our stay. The dining hall was very spacious and offered many tables for 2 or 4. It was located in the basement area so there were no views. Because the self-serve buffet had many stations, there wasn't a line up to fill one's plate. At each station the plates of food were attractively displayed. It was a joy to eat here. At breakfast there was an egg station with the usual choices of hot and cold breakfast foods with bowls of fresh fruit and baskets of bread and Danish pastry. At dinner, there was a carvery (turkey breast), fish (hake, shark), beef stew, potatoes (boiled, fried), and seasonal vegetables and probably much more than I have listed. Pizza and pasta had their separate station as did salads. Some were already mixed but bowls of separate salad ingredients were also availage to make your own salad with many dressings to pick from. Of course, the calorie-laden dessert table with rich cakes and souffles was a hit, too. Servers quickly cleared off used plates and offered drinks and refills.

The hotel has well planted grounds. The hotel is sort of located between the town of Bol and the famous Zlatni Rat beach. Walking either way on a flat surface (no hills, steps), we could reach these 2 tourist areas in about 10 minutes. We thoroughly enjoyed walking along this wide shady public sidewalk between those points with views of homes on one side and the sea on the other. Just at the town entrance were some souvenir stalls. The town also offers a choice of open air cafes and coffee stops along the harbor and is picturesque. The beach is unshaded with pea size pebbles. For shade there was a grove of pine trees where stalls for drinks and snacks were available, but no benches for sitting. The area was uncrowded and the water was cold at the end of May.

We just have fond memories of our relaxing stay at this hotel on the island of Brac. I much preferred a stay here to our stay on the island of Korcula.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank retireeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2015

Dear retireeVancouver,

thank you for your extensive review and for awarding us with the highest rate. We appreciate that you decided to thoroughly describe us your holiday experience at Bluesun Elaphusa and we hope to have the chance to host you again, it would be our honor.

Best regards from magical Bol,
Vinko Martinic
Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2015

Hotel was nice with a beautiful scenery. We had two rooms with breakfast including. I really hoped to get larger rooms that our family can enjoy vacation together, but it was not possible. Rooms were quite small as well as balconies. Cleaning ladies came to room early in the morning (before 8 am) without knocking and we were still sleeping. This happened 2 times during our visit.
Breakfast and dinner was good at the hotel and service was fluent.
We also used that Thallasson wellness center and it was great! We actually used those treatments 9 times during our stay.
Wifi was working quite well and service was average. Entertainments was really poor.Sorry.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
Thank hulkkonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2015

Dear hulkkonen,

thank you for sharing your holiday experience with us and for being open regarding the cleaning ladies. We sincerely apologize for that, and we will make sure that this behavior does not repeat. Thank you for complimenting our Thalasso Wellness & Spa facility and food section. It would be our honor to have you with us again.

Best regards,
Vinko Martinic
Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2015

Elaphusa Hotel was really clean,staff friendly helpful.Can't think of anythink bad about it.
We state for 5nights at end of hold. I would go back there a again.Food was super with lot of choose for all meals

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank june w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2015

Dear june w,

Thank you for your review and highest rate. We appreciate that you publicly gave us a credit for our staff and food, and for recognizing us as a pleasant and well maintained hotel. Each one of our guests is highly valuable and we do our best to dedicate ourselves to every individual as much as possible.

We would love to see you again in Bluesun hotel Elaphusa.

Best regards,
Vinko Martinic
Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2015

We have just returned from this wonderful hotel, great location, near the golden horn beach with clear blue water. The hotel was spotless and cleaned daily. Our room was large with sea view and pool view. The staff could not do enough for you and really friendly. The animation team were energetic and really did a great entertainment program.the food was varied and lots of choices and freshly prepared. We would highly recomend this hotel to others.

Stayed: June 2015
1  Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2015

Dear Jim D,

thank you for giving us the highest rate and sharing your lovely vacation experience with us and the rest of the Tripadvisor audience. We are happy to see how relaxed and comfortable you felt staying with us, and we appreciate your compliments on our staff, food section and animation team.

Best regards from sunny Bol,
Vinko Martinic
Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bol
0.7 km away
Hotel Bol
Hotel Bol
#1 of 12 in Bol
245 reviews
19.5 km away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
15.9 km away
Hotel Villa Adriatica
Hotel Villa Adriatica
#1 of 7 in Supetar
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Villa Daniela
0.2 km away
Bluesun Hotel Borak
15.9 km away
Waterman Svpetrvs Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa

Address: Put Zlatnog Rata 46, Bol, Brac Island 21420, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Brac Island > Bol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bol
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bol
Price Range: $98 - $572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting the largest spa and fitness center on the island of Brac, a tennis center with 26 clay courts and bowling alleys, the Elaphusa is an excellent choice for an active vacation. Located at the seafront promenade only 55 yards from the beautiful pebble beach, you can reach the center of Bol in a 10-minute walk. Moreover, the Elaphusa is situated close to the stunning Zlatni Rat beach. It has great indoor and outdoor pools and your kids can have fun in the paddling pool; there are also children's entertainment programs available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluesun Hotel Bol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing