We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location disappointing hotel for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2017

We stayed as a family with 2 teenage children. The hotel is in a very good location close to Zlanti Rat Beach yet still in walking distance of Bol Harbour. We had a family suit that had 2 double beds even though we requested twin beds for the teenagers.The rooms were very dark and drab, we did not like sleeping there. The furniture was dark and dated and the yellow carpet old and stained.The staff were very helpful and fixed the broken door that we found on our arrival. The hotel and surrounding area was
were spotless and the spa was contemporary however you had to pay to use it.but No tea or coffee in rooms. Also when we requested tap water with our evening meal we were refused and had to buy a small bottles of mineral water for over £3 each. We would definitely come back to Croatia but felt the hotel was very poor value for money. We paid £3000 for week just for the hotel as a family but felt it was worth no more than £1800. The room and facilities we used were 3 star . We will try a luxury apartment next time.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the old part of this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank runnerbean2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KresoCo, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear runnerbean2017,

Thank you for the feedback. I am glad that you have liked the hotel, its surroundings and the spa. Also, thank you for noting things that you didn’t like, it helps us to improve and we appreciate it. Thank you for being our guest and have a great rest of the year!

Sincerely,
Vinko Martinić
Accommodation manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 771 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

This will be a long one but I'll try to cover all the important bits.

Room: We booked our stay through Otel which had the best price on a double room. Our room, in D wing, didn't have pool view but was still great. The bed was actually two singles pushed together but for my wife and I this was fine and seems the norm in lots of BnBs and hotels in Europe.

Service: I felt that we had excellent service and staff were very helpful whenever we needed anything. There are things that would put Elaphusa over the top. There aren't kettles in the room, I asked to have one and one was brought up only it was broken. I was able to get hot water from the bar near our room but it was obviously not as convenient. That being said the bartenders did ask if we needed sugar, honey, or lemon to add to our tea. On checkout day, checkout is 11am, they let us stay at the pool until our 4pm ferry and offered a room to shower and change when we got our luggage. Adding kettles with free tea and coffee in the room would put this over the top.

Breakfast: We had the included buffet breakfast at the main restaurant. It wasn't anything over the top fancy but theybhad made to order omelettes, two types of eggs, lots of bread varieties, cereal, yoghurt, cheeses, meats, and fresh fruits. Drinks were juice, teas, and coffee. You could upgrade to lattes and cappuccinos for extra kuna. We had no complaints but it was very repetitive and could see after 5 days it not being as outstanding.

Pool: The outdoor pool was surprisingly good. We never had difficulty finding lounge chairs and there were plenty of umbrellas for shade. They do run a few activities during the day but it was mostly subdued and otherwise music played at the bar.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank alexander_rutherford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KresoCo, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear alexander_rutherford,

Thank you for this kind, suggestive and thorough review. I am glad you had a good time and liked our service and staff. Thank you for the suggestions they will sure help us improve. Consider coming back next year, we would sure love to have you here again!

Sincerely,
Vinko Martinić
Accommodation manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Great hotel, we had a junior suite which was spacious with king size bed and two single beds in the other room for our children plus 2 bathrooms and 2 balconies. Lovely view of the tree lined promenade and the sea. Did half board and could swap from dinner to lunch as we went into Bol for dinner a few times. Impressed with the food, great choice and even a fresh pasta bar where the kids could pick their own and have it made for them. I am gluten free and the restaurant went out of their way to ensure I had the right food. Staff are so friendly and go out of their way to sort things out for you (I asked for a kettle in my room). Bol is gorgeous, lovely 10 minute walk down the tree lined promenade to the town, not spoilt by tourism at all and some great restaurants. Loads of beaches to explore, highly recommend the massage shack that is on the beach directly below the hotel, the most amazing sports massage. Sea is beautiful and clear, recommend taking a snorkel. 2 sun beds plus umbrella are up to £20 per day but you can buy a sun umbrella for approx £10 and soft beach mattresses for same price from Bol if you want. Beach is stony so take beach shoes.

Room Tip: Junior suite is roomy for 2 adults and 2 kids below aged 12. Recommend part sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KresoCo, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear Sara V,

Thank you for this great review. I am so happy that you had a great time and liked the food and the staff. Thank you for being our guest and do come back next summer! We would love to host your stay again! 

Sincerely,
Vinko Martinić
Accommodation manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

After having a girls/boys weekend separately my other half and I decided we'd continue the fun for the rest of the week and meet up in Brac (Bol to be exact).
The hotels room were adequate but very basic. One member of staff did seem quite offended when we enquired whether or not we could drink the water 'sir, our water here is as high a quality as you would find anywhere in the world'. We took that as a yes.
Zlatni-Rat beach is a short walk from the hotel with the Auro beach bar servicing cocktails while you listen to either the DJ or the DJ accompanied by a Sax player (depending on the evening you visit).
Breakfast is below average (that was the only meal we ate onsite).
I have a feeling that the four stars are more for the fact that it has a wellness centre/Spa and a bowling alley etc. and not for luxury.
That said everyone we came into contact with both in the hotel and on the island were nothing but friendly. This really was a perfect holiday on an unspoilt island. I really hope it remains that way.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel. The view over the sea is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KresoCo, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear Claire,

Thank you for your feedback and for the kind words. We are happy to hear that your prolonged vacation has been a success. We are happy you liked the beach and the surrounding. We feel sorry you didn’t like our cuisine, our chef is doing his best to provide our guests we the best local food. We would like to see you next year again, so we can convince you in the opposite. Have a great rest of the year and hopefully we will see you soon.

All the best,
Vinko Martinić
Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

Lovely vacation at the nice and welcoming hotel. Everyone is so kind and friendly that we are amazed to have such an experience in Croatia.
Main Restaurant is flawless, pool bar staff very nice, wellness team amazing...
Entertainment team: Anita, Lucia, Lidija i Vedran - thanks a lot for keeping our little one entertained! He loved it.
See you next year!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sejo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KresoCo, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice feedback and thank you for sharing such compliments with us and the TripAdvisor Users. We appreciate it very much. We are really happy to welcome you next year. Thank you for being our guest. Have a great rest of the year.

Warm greetings from Bol,
Vinko Martinić
Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bol
0.7 km away
Hotel Bol
Hotel Bol
#1 of 12 in Bol
245 reviews
19.5 km away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
15.9 km away
Hotel Villa Adriatica
Hotel Villa Adriatica
#1 of 7 in Supetar
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Villa Daniela
0.2 km away
Bluesun Hotel Borak
15.9 km away
Waterman Svpetrvs Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa

Address: Put Zlatnog Rata 46, Bol, Brac Island 21420, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Brac Island > Bol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bol
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bol
Price Range: $102 - $565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting the largest spa and fitness center on the island of Brac, a tennis center with 26 clay courts and bowling alleys, the Elaphusa is an excellent choice for an active vacation. Located at the seafront promenade only 55 yards from the beautiful pebble beach, you can reach the center of Bol in a 10-minute walk. Moreover, the Elaphusa is situated close to the stunning Zlatni Rat beach. It has great indoor and outdoor pools and your kids can have fun in the paddling pool; there are also children's entertainment programs available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bluesun Hotel Elaphusa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluesun Hotel Bol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing