We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cina Apartments & Rooms(Cavtat)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Book now, pay at stay
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Apartments Dub Cavtat(Cavtat)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (3,079)
Filter reviews
3,079 results
Traveller rating
1,432
1,233
331
63
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,432
1,233
331
63
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiano barbuggy servicegolf buggysteak restaurantoutdoor poolsalt waterspinaker restauranthalf boardsea viewspinnaker barlarge hotelstar hotelthe clifflovely hotelmain restaurantnudist beachbeach area
Filter
Updating list...
197 - 202 of 3,079 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2017

I stayed here for a week, one of a group of 35 single travellers.

The hotel is huge, but nicely situated so it doesn't dwarf the little town. My room was large, clean and comfortable, with balcony overlooking the Adriatic. Everything worked; I could have used more light to allow me to read on the balcony after dark.

The lifts were a bit quirky - going up, or going down, that is the question? - not helped by Reception being in the middle, between 4th and 5th floors. Down to floor 1 for access to the sea, with sunbathing and swimming platforms; two enormous swimming pools on level 5 + gym and stuff. Outstanding in this aspect.

Part of our half-board deal was meals in the main restaurant, where service was sometimes poor. Breakfast and dinner were buffet-style, but coffee and drinks could be hard to get. Food was variable in quality, certainly nowhere near 4 or 5-star. Other eating options were there, but I didn't use them because of our pre-paid deal.

Also, it Cavtat itself - a delightful resort - there were numerous eateries of all types. I would recommend B&B only at Hotel Croatia, and pay the extra for decent food in the evening.

Incidentally, from the hotel to the Cavtat waterfront involves a climb of 130 steps, which might be a problem for some. There is, apparently, a buggy which runs down from the hotel, but you're supposed to tell them at what time you're returning to get the lift back up.

Minor niggles apart, I would recommend Cavtat in particular and this hotel without hesitation.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Mr Dave,

Thank You very much for choosing Hotel Croatia and for writing a review about your experience.

We are thrilled to know how much you appreciated the hotel room and the view from the one. It is also very nice to read the word “outstanding” when it comes to the swimming pools and wellness & spa area.
We are sorry to hear you found the restaurant service poor which is really not up to our usual high level of service that we strive for and achieve here at the hotel. We normally hear such great feedback regarding our breakfast so we were disappointed to hear that we hadn't met your expectations on this occasion.
The golf buggy service is available for hotel guests 24/7 and it runs on a request. It is not necessary to tell the exact time of returning when there is a hotel number on the back of the room key card which guests can dial and ask for a buggy to pick them up.

Thank You for the recommendation and we hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Best regards,
Marijo Japarić
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

We stayed at this hotel mid-September and really enjoyed it. The hotel is very large and relaxing, and is situated at the top of a hill with the harbour of Cavtat at the bottom. The climb up and down the steps to the harbour proved to be a bit of a cardio workout, and after a few days my husband had to give in to the buggy ride provided by the hotel. It took about half an hour to get to Dubrovnik from Cavtat. We found using an uber was much cheaper than taking a taxi. It rained on one of the days during our stay and as we had also gone with our sons we felt the hotel could do with more activities for younger adults. - pool room, table tennis or even a tennis court. The main negative I had was that the maid service was not to my satisfaction. They were nice and polite but the training needs attention. Used Coffee cups were not taken one day and the bed runner was just left on the floor most days after the bedrooms had been made up.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very far from the main reception, ask for a room closer by if you don't want to walk for ages.
Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Kukki79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Kukki,

Thank You for taking the time to leave a review of your experience at Hotel Croatia.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you found it relaxing one with beautiful views.
There are tennis courts by hotel parking and there is also playground with table tennis and volleyball court at hotel garden, but we are aware this is not an option when it rains. We have noted your comments with regards to the activities inside hotel for younger adults and we would like to apologise for the disappointment this would have caused.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the failure with replacing the coffee cups and with leaving the bed runner on the floor.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back again sometime in the future as we are confident that you will find our service much improved on future visits.

Best regards,
Marijo Japarić
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Used the facilities at this hotel and found the hotel to be clean. Manage to get a look at one of the rooms and they were very trendy. Staff were all very polite and were very helpful. There is a sunbathing spot on top of one of the buildings, is a must, with a pool (which isn't heated) but gives you a stunning view across the bay. There is a beauty room and my partner had a massage which was very reasonable price and very relaxing

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Serene-View
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Dear Serene,

Thank you for this fabulous review.

We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved the room and found our staff to be very polite and helpful. It is also great to know that you loved sunbathing by the swimming pool and that your partner enjoyed having massage at our wellness centre.

Thank you very much for staying with us and we hope to see you soon again.

Best regards,
Marijo Japarić
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Stayed for 4 nights with wife and 8 year old daughter. Liked the laid back feel of the hotel from the moment we arrived, big complex but low key among cypress trees and lovely views of the open sea behind reception.

Easy walk in to Cavtat which was really attractive with some nice harbour side restaurants and no end of boat trip options to choose from (good base for visiting Dubrovnik and only 15 minutes from the airport). We booked a one way trip in to Dubrovnik, about £6 per adult and free for children, at a stand on the steps in to town, had to get the bus back as the last boat was 5ish this time of year, nice and easy, number 10 from the lower cable car station.

We had great times at the Spinaker jumping in the sea which was warmer than the outdoor pool and clear to around 5 metres! Tried SUPing too, which I found very reasonable at around £10 an hour.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank matthewabarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Mr Matthew,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Croatia and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay this much. Your comments about our location are very kind and truly appreciated. It is also great to know that you enjoyed the town of Cavtat and had a great time jumping in the sea by our Spinaker restaurant.

It was certainly our pleasure to have you here and we look forward to your next visit at Hotel Croatia.

Best regards,
Marijo Japarić
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Our plane suffered from computer shutdown issues while attempting to taxi on the runway at Dubrovnik Airport. After several attempts to fix the issue,it was decided by the captain to deboard the plane. The airline rounded up all of the passengers and sent us to a designated hotel. Ironically, my wife and I visited Cavtat before we arrived to the airport and saw the hotel while we were there. I said to her while on the bus, "wouldn't it be funny if they sent us to that 5 star in Cavtat." That is exactly where were sent. It is a wonderful hotel and we were given a room that faced the bay area off of the Adriatic. We enjoyed the breakfast the next morning and felt ready to experience the next leg of the flight. I would consider staying there on a return trip, Cavtat is a charming town.

Room Tip: The view across the bay is great.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2LaneTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your Hotel Croatia experience with us.

We are so happy you were sent to our hotel and we are delighted to hear how impressed you were with Hotel Croatia even though you came here accidentally.
Thank you so much for calling our hotel "A Gem" and we truly hope that this was first of many future visits to Hotel Croatia.

Best regards,
Marijo Japarić
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews