We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thomson rooms are disappointing otherwise a lovely break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2017

First time in this area of Croatia and we were very pleased with the week we had there. One benefit is the closeness of the airport, just less than 10 minutes by taxi away. The town of Cavtat is lovely and a short walk from the hotel. We travelled through Thomson and having seen the brochure showing the views from the balconies seemed just what we wanted, however when we were shown to our room we were given a dark room facing a bank of earth and trees with no sun all day. When we complained we were told that was a standard Thomson room. Thomson do not make this clear and reception do not want to help other than charging to upgrade.
That aside, the hotel was a good standard and food was plentiful although a little bland and lacked flavour.
Must dos are Dubrovnik by water taxi, Cavtat at night etc
We would return to the area but not this hotel unless we checed room type before booking again

Room Tip: Ask for sea view but they will charge.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Geoff B,
thank you for the time in sharing your impressions.
I am happy that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. The room you were staying was the room type according to the booking. We are always trying to satisfy all guest wishes, but unfortunately, due to high occupancy it is not always possible to offer an upgrade free of charge.
I do hope we will have the opportunity to greet you again in the future in beautiful Croatia.
Best regards,
Marijo Japaric
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,860)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 2,860 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, brilliant views, staff friendly and very helpful. Food really nice.
Room didnt get cleaned one day and staff immediately rectified it and gave a bottle of wine as an apology do dealt with very well.
Hotel could just do with at least background music in the piona bar on an evening as no entertainment at all.
Boat taxi to Dubrovnik was brilliant with a couple of stop offs on the way .
Fantastic holiday will definitely return .

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lassieq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear Ms Lassie,

Thank you for sharing your 5 star review of your fantastic stay with us at Hotel Croatia.

We are delighted that you highlight our brilliant views, friendly and very heplful staff and really nice food. We are also glad that we managed to apologize to you for this very unusual incovenience.

It would be great pleasure for us to welcome you back again to Hotel Croatia.

Best regards,
Marijo Japarić
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Went with my Daughter for a weeks holiday. Hotel very large, 2 swimming pools indoor and outdoor. Piano bar and downstairs a club/ disco, cant comment on this as never used too tired after being out sightseeing all day. Was impressed with the facilities and staff and would definitely go again. Cavtat is only a small village but has plenty of restaurants and bars, not really suitable for anyone wanting night life. Caught a boat into Dubrovnik which cost 80 Kuna return approx £10. Beautiful scenery.

Room Tip: We had a room over looking Cavtat and the sea. The other side was sea view only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenlouis272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Karen Louis,

Thank You very much for choosing Hotel Croatia and for taking the time to share your experience.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay that much and it makes us so proud that we managed to exceed all your expectations.

It was such a pleasure to have you and your daughter staying with us and we are all looking forward to welcome you again to Hotel Croatia.

Best regards,
Marijo Japarić
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

I stayed here for a week, one of a group of 35 single travellers.

The hotel is huge, but nicely situated so it doesn't dwarf the little town. My room was large, clean and comfortable, with balcony overlooking the Adriatic. Everything worked; I could have used more light to allow me to read on the balcony after dark.

The lifts were a bit quirky - going up, or going down, that is the question? - not helped by Reception being in the middle, between 4th and 5th floors. Down to floor 1 for access to the sea, with sunbathing and swimming platforms; two enormous swimming pools on level 5 + gym and stuff. Outstanding in this aspect.

Part of our half-board deal was meals in the main restaurant, where service was sometimes poor. Breakfast and dinner were buffet-style, but coffee and drinks could be hard to get. Food was variable in quality, certainly nowhere near 4 or 5-star. Other eating options were there, but I didn't use them because of our pre-paid deal.

Also, it Cavtat itself - a delightful resort - there were numerous eateries of all types. I would recommend B&B only at Hotel Croatia, and pay the extra for decent food in the evening.

Incidentally, from the hotel to the Cavtat waterfront involves a climb of 130 steps, which might be a problem for some. There is, apparently, a buggy which runs down from the hotel, but you're supposed to tell them at what time you're returning to get the lift back up.

Minor niggles apart, I would recommend Cavtat in particular and this hotel without hesitation.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Mr Dave,

Thank You very much for choosing Hotel Croatia and for writing a review about your experience.

We are thrilled to know how much you appreciated the hotel room and the view from the one. It is also very nice to read the word “outstanding” when it comes to the swimming pools and wellness & spa area.
We are sorry to hear you found the restaurant service poor which is really not up to our usual high level of service that we strive for and achieve here at the hotel. We normally hear such great feedback regarding our breakfast so we were disappointed to hear that we hadn't met your expectations on this occasion.
The golf buggy service is available for hotel guests 24/7 and it runs on a request. It is not necessary to tell the exact time of returning when there is a hotel number on the back of the room key card which guests can dial and ask for a buggy to pick them up.

Thank You for the recommendation and we hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Best regards,
Marijo Japarić
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

We stayed at this hotel mid-September and really enjoyed it. The hotel is very large and relaxing, and is situated at the top of a hill with the harbour of Cavtat at the bottom. The climb up and down the steps to the harbour proved to be a bit of a cardio workout, and after a few days my husband had to give in to the buggy ride provided by the hotel. It took about half an hour to get to Dubrovnik from Cavtat. We found using an uber was much cheaper than taking a taxi. It rained on one of the days during our stay and as we had also gone with our sons we felt the hotel could do with more activities for younger adults. - pool room, table tennis or even a tennis court. The main negative I had was that the maid service was not to my satisfaction. They were nice and polite but the training needs attention. Used Coffee cups were not taken one day and the bed runner was just left on the floor most days after the bedrooms had been made up.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very far from the main reception, ask for a room closer by if you don't want to w...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kukki79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Kukki,

Thank You for taking the time to leave a review of your experience at Hotel Croatia.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you found it relaxing one with beautiful views.
There are tennis courts by hotel parking and there is also playground with table tennis and volleyball court at hotel garden, but we are aware this is not an option when it rains. We have noted your comments with regards to the activities inside hotel for younger adults and we would like to apologise for the disappointment this would have caused.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the failure with replacing the coffee cups and with leaving the bed runner on the floor.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back again sometime in the future as we are confident that you will find our service much improved on future visits.

Best regards,
Marijo Japarić
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.7 km away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 18 in Cavtat
1,184 reviews
1.2 km away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
14.9 km away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#7 of 18 in Cavtat
289 reviews
0.4 km away
Villa Pattiera
Villa Pattiera
#6 of 18 in Cavtat
162 reviews
9.7 km away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croatia Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croatia Cavtat

Address: Frankopanska 10, Cavtat, Konavle 20207, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Konavle > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#2 Family Hotel in Cavtat
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range: $159 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Croatia Cavtat 5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Croatia is among the leading five-star hotels on the Adriatic. It is the ideal base for exploring Dubrovnik, whether you are here for leisure or business. Hotel Croatia offers private beaches both on the open water and a protected bay, indoor and outdoor pools, hiking trails, state of the art wellness center and award-winning dining facilities. Located between International Airport and Dubrovnik, Cavtat is the perfect location for holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Croatia Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croatia Hotel Cavtat
Croatia Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing