We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic cycling and vineyards - best day of our holiday”
Review of Korcula Explorer

Korcula Explorer
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Working with local people on Korcula Island, we bring you fantastic tours and trips allowing you to experience the best of the island. We offer a range of wine tasting tours which we run ourselves: walking or cycling and wine tasting in Lumbarda, an evening wine tasting on the Peljesac and a combined boat trip and wine tasting afternoon at the Korta Katarina winery. Also working with local partners we can arrange: a relaxing archipelago boat tour which includes lunch & optional fishing, culinary tours at local restaurants including cookery lessons, day trips to the islands of Mljet and Lastovo, cycling tours on the Peljesac and yoga retreats, detox days and private yoga sessions. We can also arrange private driven island & wine tasting tours or arrange transfers to/from Korcula to any destination. If you are looking for ideas of ways to spend your holiday here, please get in touch with us. We have options to suit all visitors to Korcula Island and we are passionate about making sure you have a fantastic holiday here.
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We took the cycling to vineyards tour with John in early September, having been efficiently booked in online/by email by the friendly Rachael in advance. Our group consisted of one other British couple and 2 American couples who were all good company. I see JudiNYC has already reviewed - hi Judi!
We had been nervous about booking this tour as we were concerned about lack of fitness (the last time we cycled was over a year ago on a similar day out on Mykonos!). However our fears were unfounded as John set a relaxed pace and there was no pressure to cycle the gentle hills if you didn't want to. John also stopped plenty of times to talk about the local farming methods etc, and to allow for photos of the lovely scenery (and breathers). The paths are new tarmac and it's very quiet in the lanes with few vehicles so no safety concerns.
The vineyards are both small quiet places so personal service and no pressure to buy, although you may be tempted as the wines and liquors are good quality and renowned locally. There's plenty of time to relax and chat to your fellow adventurers as you sample, and we found ourselves drinking 9 different types between the two vineyards in generous volumes, so the only worry was how we would cycle back to town safely! However there were thankfully no incidents, just a lot of laughs, and it was a wonderful day out - great company, beautiful scenery up close and personal, excellent wines, nice lunch and some exercise thrown in too, so no guilt!
For 58 euros per person we felt this was good value given the duration, small group size, amount of alcohol(!) and lunch. A big thanks to John and Rachael for getting the tone of pace of the day just right. Highly recommended.

Thank Roundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelandJohnF, Owner at Korcula Explorer, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

AAhh Roundy, What a great tour that was! So good to have a group that got along so incredibly well - made my job (which is very tough haha) so much easier. Incidently I have since changed the structure of our cycling tours so that the bikes and group get picked up from the wineries. Not that it was a big issue but thought it was a good change to help all and myself relax just that little bit more after the ride to the wineries.
I wish you all of the best and thanks you so much for the kind review. John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 80 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2016

This was by far our favorite part of our trip to Croatia! We met up with our group, there were 8 of us (I think a perfect number for this trip) and our guide, John- who was awesome! After getting our bikes and a quick run down of the day we were off and started biking through the city towards the countryside. We made a few stops along the way in the countryside to talk about how the locals farming and take some amazing pictures. We stopped at two family owned and operated wineries. We tried all the wines they had bottled and even the grappa- it was delicious! Between the wine and the amazing company- we had the best afternoon in Korcula! I would highly highly recommend this for anyone's trip to Korcula!!!! Thank you John and Rachael for an amazing experience!!!!

Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelandJohnF, Owner at Korcula Explorer, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Erin, this is an excellent review so thank you very much. So glad our tour left such a positive impression. I'm loving being described as "awesome" can't ask for more than that! Thanks for being awesome guests. John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We went on a walking wine tour with Rachael. The walking portion was scenic, but not too long, with Rachael providing some insights into Korcula along the way.

Both wine tasting stops, the winery Grk and a local waterfront restaurant for a tasting and dinner, were excellent.

Rachael was an excellent guide and made the entire tour fun. We highly recommend Korcula Explorer.

Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelandJohnF, Manager at Korcula Explorer, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Thanks so much for the lovely review and for joining me on the wine tasting tour. It was great to meet you and so pleased you enjoyed the experience. Warm wishes, Rachael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Our group of four enjoyed a full day (6+ hours) of biking and wine-tasting with John. He led us along quiet roads (just a couple short segments on busier roads) from Korcula to the Lumbarda region of the island where we stopped at two vineyards, the second of which included a light lunch. A van then picked up our bikes and then returned to pick us up at the end of the day. John led a great tour, both on and off the bikes. He stopped periodically for rests and explained about history and production of the local wine makers. He is smart, funny, and a great guide. We didn't meet Rachael, but she was very helpful in making our reservations via e-mail. So glad we chose this tour!

Thank SarahLynnDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelandJohnF, Owner at Korcula Explorer, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Hello again Sarah, we were so glad you chose to come on our tour as you were a joy to have along. I'm personally very pleased you enjoyed it so much as that's just what I aim for. Many thanks for the kind compliments to myself and Rachael although surely 'dashing' should be added to smart and funny! Only kidding but thanks all the same. John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

What a fantastic way to spend the late afternoon and evening. We were met by Rachael in Korcula town with a few others (6 of us total - nice size group),and were transported to Lumbarda about 10 mins away.
Great walk through the countryside , about an hour to winery . Several wines to taste and delicious snacks.
Unfortunately the second winery normally visited was closed due to harvesting,but Rachael had fore warned us of this and instead arranged a restaurant which was a big hit with us all and no shortage of home made wine . Well done Rachael.
As a dream finish the cocktail in the beach bar included in price was fantastic. Great banter with all others on tour .Rachael was so knowledgeable and it was great to get an insight into life on the island .
Would highly recommend this trip.

Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelandJohnF, Owner at Korcula Explorer, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Thanks so much for the feedback and really pleased you had a fun time, even though we had to make an amendment to the tour. It was a great tour! Warm wishes, Rachael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Korcula Explorer also viewed

Korcula Island, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Korcula Town, Korcula Island
 
Korcula Town, Korcula Island
Korcula Town, Korcula Island
 

Been to Korcula Explorer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing