We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$133
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lovran(Lovran)
US$108
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 30/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Nada(Lovran)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostel Link(Lovran)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
34
85
19
16
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
85
19
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea waternice hotelthe hotel staffhotel garageno tea coffee making facilitiesbreakfast and dinnerindoor poolbeautiful walkspent dayskm walkhalf board optionevery eveningworth the moneyrooms are cleanspa centerwe loved our stayfour star hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Paid extra for a sea view, well worth it. No tea/coffee making facilities in room. Large modern hotel with open spaces, good bar -though somewhat expensive. Nice open air bar/terrace. Breakfast reasonable, but evening meal poor for a four star hotel and no water supplied.. Rooms large and spacious. Poor access to sunbathing/beach area, 62 steps but had handrail. No good for disabled or those with walking difficulties. Short walk into Lovran with just the right amount of bars and shops, no tacky bars with loud music. Found Hotel lacking in atmosphere, but all staff pleasant and polite. Best thing about hotel was its location with good walks along the coastal path. Would stay there again but not my type of hotel, much prefer smaller hotel with more atmosphere.

Room Tip: Definitely worth payin for a room with sea view
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank addlestonelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Few amenities in the rooms. Shower caps and soap dispenser only. Hair dryer attached to wall and need to put towel around when holding because of heat. In bath showers only and very slippery bath to climb into. No tea or coffee making facilities and no iron or ironing board. Poorly stocked room fridge. Dining room had only self service counters with hot food often dry and unappetising. One toaster which was inefficient meaning had to put bread through twice to get toast and then dry. Two machines for drinks but only dispensed half a cup. no water available on the tables and forced to buy this if wanted.
. No disabled access to “beach” swimming pools very small. Outside paint peeling off to rear. Staff were very friendly though, rooms were clean.

Room Tip: All rooms the same. Balconies to all rooms, overlooking coast or road.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

I was one of a group of fifteen single travellers, and I had paid extra for a room with balcony and sea view, a step I would recommend - the alternative being the main road. I found the room large, clean and comfortable, though the bath/shower was difficult to use for the elderly, there being no handle for support getting in or out.

Nor was there a kettle in the room, so you had to buy the hotel's expensive tea or coffee.

The worst feature of the Excelsior was the lifts, which were maddeningly slow to arrive, and frequently going up when you wanted to go down, and stopping at empty landings for no reason.

The lobby/bar area was large, comfortable and pleasant, with superb sea views, and likewise the dining room. Drinks were very expensive, by English standards, and tap-water was not available with the meal, as it would be back home.

Our party was on a 'half-board' deal. Service in the restaurant was outstanding, with friendly English-speaking staff. There was good choice for the buffet breakfast, though I found most of it not to my taste, so I frequently ate little but cereal and fruit, washed down with nasty coffee. The evening meal was better, with good pork especially, and choice of fish; the selection of vegetables I found poor. Fabulous ice-cream!

Waiter-attention was outstanding, but the lack of free water (in a country with excellent tap-water) came across as mean and penny-pinching, given the excessive cost of drinks: £5 for bottle of beer, £20+ for house-wine.

The spa/pool area was lovely and well equipped, with many loungers, at the heated saltwater pool inside, and the unheated pools outside. There was private access to the 'beach' - an attractive swimming and sunbathing platform, though you had to manhandle your own lounger and parasol. Good access to the sea down easy-to-use steps, and deep enough.to dive off the platform, for the young.

Finally, the hotel is in a most attractive area, with the whole seafront for miles linked by the pedestrian 'lungomare', itself a delightful place to stroll, with comfortable benches every few yards. The little village of Lovran, with its shops, bars and harbour, is only five minutes' walk away. There is a large and attractive public swimming beach in the other direction, within easy swimming distance of the Excelsior, or two minutes' walk.

The bottom line: yes, I would stay here again, definitely, for a peaceful and comfortable week or more. recommended.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for sea view and balcony.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

The hotel we visit regularly, is located in a perfect location, has good facilities: wellness, fitness center etc. Hotel cuisine is good, breakfast is excellent. I recommend a beautiful walk to Opatija along the sea.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank VladaDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

We stayed for four days in a lovely room with a beautiful sea view. The closet was a bit difficult to open because the bed was too near, the shower handle was leaking, but it was very clean and nicely furnished and i liked it. My husband somehow fixed the TV because the signal was trembling , luckily he is a technical kind of guy :) You can hear noise from the corridor, but it was not too much. I absolutely loved the sauna -clean, not crowded, spacy, nice atmosphere, the pool is big and the water warm enough, good for swimming. But the food was really too salty for us, to the point it was barely edible, they offered a good variety of food, but we could not say it was tasty. The red wine they serve open as a cabernet was not worth the money, better stay with beer or water . The breakfast was satisfactory, but nothing more. We would love to come again, but we only reccommend to payfor room with breakfast, not half board (especially if you have troubles with heart or blood pressure), for dinner it would be better to dine out. I must praise the staff, the guys at the reception were absolutely superfriendly, waiters, cleaning staff - all very, very nice, the level of hospitality is really convincing. Te location of the hotel is really great, the general athmosphere fine. In spite of food issue, we wold and will come again.

Room Tip: take the sea view!
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Živa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews