We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at Hotel Porin”
Review of Hotel Porin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Porin
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Makarska
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Just come home from a wonderful stay at Hotel Porin. The staff, especially Sanela and Marco, were amazing. They couldn't have been more friendly, helpful or attentive, and spoke excellent English. We had room 201 on the top floor overlooking the marina and out into the Adriatic - the views were breathtaking and we watched the sunset each evening from the room. The room was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was perfect and always a choice of eggs cooked specially for you and we could either sit in or outside. It was a bonus being able to use the coffee machine at any time.
We could imagine it being noisy during the summer months due to its location but perfect at this time of year. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel and hope to return. Thank you.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank cazand1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2017

Excellent hotel, clean, friendly and central, The front faces the harbour the back almost faces the old town square.We had a lovely 3 days there. The hotel is very clean, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the room wasn't the biggest but it is a central hotel and was fine for us. Nice breakfast was a buffet plus you could order cooked omelettes to your requirements. A thoughtful facility was that you could help yourself to the coffee machine all day so nice to put back and have a coffee sitting outside watching the world go by, There is not a lift as the hotel is a listed building but only two floors and they offered to carry our cases. Now this is right in the centre so there is noise in the evening from the bars BUT open the windows and enjoy or shut them and it's only a muffle and did finish about midnight. We slept well. Reality is hotels is town centres can be a little noisy, if you don't won't that don't stay in the centre. All the staff were very friendly but a special mention for Sanela, she was always there with a smile, making sure we had everything and didi a mean ham omelette. She carried my wife's case up the stairs faster than i carried mine. Thank you for a nice stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Duncan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Really lovely and quaint hotel..Service from staff was exceptional and made us felt welcomed..nothing was too much trouble...clean and tidy hotel although a little dated.. My only negative comment was the location of the hotel near to quite noisy bars, however the hotel was there well before these bars existed...Champagne on the roof terrace watching the sun setting, made it truly wonderful...

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Barney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

Having been on the stunning Dalmatian Coast for almost a week we were surprised to find Porin the highlight of our stay in Croatia. The hotel couldn't be better situated, our room (201 in the top of old tower) had unparalleled views of Makarska and the marina. Behind the hotel opens onto the beautiful old city, with it bars, shops and restaurants. We didn't want to leave.

The building is a just a little dated (probably something to do with being hundreds of years old), but it's impeccably clean and incredibly comfortable. With only 8 rooms it's very boutique, so book early.

Breakfast is a delicious selection of eggs- your way- and a buffet of breads, fruits, meats, cereals, yoghurts and coffee. During the day you come and go as you please and entering the lobby feels like returning home rather entering a business. At night the rear courtyard transforms to a bar/restaurant.

What really sets Porin apart, however, is the staff. Marko is, without a doubt, a rare find. Personable, genuine, helpful and kind. We love him, and may just take him with us back to Australia. Likewise, Salena is incredibly helpful, delightful and all class, they both made our stay so much better that it may have been if we'd encountered a standard level of hospitality.

Porin is to be commended. It's a gem.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank lrsul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

Wasn't sure what to expect but was gladly surprised by this small hotel. The location is very good whit the smaller beach super close and the bigger just a short walk from the hotel. The rooms are tidy and the whole hotel smelled wonderfully after every cleaning time. The furniture is maybe a little older but still clean and tidy. The beds are nice maybe on the harder side. Our room had only one window to another building wall, which was maybe the biggest negative of the hotel. Because of its location there is music and sounds from the street but it didn't disturb our sleep at all and otherwise just bring earplugs. Breakfast was good and kept us full until lunch.

The thing that made me write this review is the people who work at the hotel. It really felt that they genuinely cared about us and helped with every small thing. Even the cleaning lady was super nice. Thank you, Michael and the woman who I don't know the name of.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank I_c_d_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makarska hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Biokovo
Hotel Biokovo
#8 of 18 in Makarska
155 reviews
1.4 km away
The Maritimo Hotel
The Maritimo Hotel
#1 of 18 in Makarska
284 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Osejava
Hotel Osejava
#3 of 18 in Makarska
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Meteor
Hotel Meteor
#4 of 18 in Makarska
468 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Dalmacija
Hotel Dalmacija
#5 of 18 in Makarska
336 reviews
0.4 km away
Aparthotel Miramare
Aparthotel Miramare
#10 of 18 in Makarska
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porin

Address: Marineta 2 | MAKARSKA, Makarska, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Makarska
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Makarska
Price Range: $111 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Porin 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This former noble palace is located in the center of Makarska, a 5-minute walk from the beach. There are 2 sunny terraces where guests can enjoy views of the islands, Biokovo Mountain and the city. With free Wi-Fi, all air-conditioned rooms and suites at Hotel Porin come with a SAT TV, minibar and work desk. Each has a private bathroom with amenities and a hairdryer. Porin's ground-floor trattoria serves a selection of home made pastas and quality wines. Guests can also enjoy open-air dining on the spacious terraces with their adjoining bars. The front desk staff at Hotel Porin can arrange room service and dry cleaning. With available parking on site, guests can easily drive up to/from Split, 37 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Porin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing