We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a refreshing find!”
Review of Gargamelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gargamelo
Ranked #1 of 27 Porec B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We decided to travel the coast of Croatia but wanted a starting point where we didn't have to worry about accommodations. Our travel agent, Roxanna of Travelwise in Kamloops, BC put us onto Gargamelo Pension.

Tucked away in a quiet and quaint residential area, we were pleasantly surprised by the obvious care the owners have lavished on their property. With spacious rooms and dining area and a marvelous pool area, it was a relaxing delight to stay here, so much so that we extended our stay at this place from one night to three nights so that we could explore the surrounding area knowing that we had a great place to come home to each night. Slavko, the family owner's son, made our stay that much better. Versed in multiple languages, he was a wealth of knowledge, both of the history and the local geography. When prompted, he gave tips and tricks of visiting his beautiful country. Humble and personable, he also offered editorial comments of the status of his country.

Only small caution is that they do not accept credit cards, only Kunas and Euros. But, Slavko was willing to delay payment until we had a chance in our three days to hit an ATM (by the way, never use a standalone unit, always use one that is attached to a bank). It was extremely pleasurable being treated as a welcome and trusted traveler. Also, the rooms are not very quiet; one can certainly hear one's neighbors plus hall noises (people sure enjoy slamming their doors here!) and some street noises.

Room Tip: We heard that a balcony room was a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KentWong405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2016

This place had an excellent service. The younger man (who spoke english) was everywhere and was extremely helpful and nice. He was the hearth of Gargamelo, made everyhting work and everyone enjoy their stay.

The rooms are very basic and quite woren, but clean and has everything that is needed. The swimingpool area is clearly newer and is very cosy and beautiful. The menues here are again the same than everywhere in istria, and the food (flavour and display) is very home style.
But the overal price of this accommondation is in line with the room and food.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatIh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

I was in a roadtrip with my family (spouse, 3 year old daughter)

We needed a room for one night and found this place from Tripadvisor.

We called them for the reservation (6PM) and luckily they gave us very competive price for a stay.

We had a room in topfloor with Two big beds, balcony, table/4chairs, small kitchen and bathroom.

There is also swimming pool and small restaurant in a hotel.

The Service was very good. The food in a restaurant for OK and prices were very reasonable.

Only Minus they had was, that the restaurant menus were only in Croatia, Italian and germany. Not in English, but helpful waiter/receptionist/everyman Kindly helped us with the order.

Hotel/restaurant is very basic - but clean and nice.

For the restaurant and b&b i could give 3 stars - but comparing the prices in area (value for money) i'll give 5*

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Markus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at Gargamelo in a pleasant room with balcony and street view. Clean and good air con. Nice quiet area. Owner of Gargamelo extremely helpful and friendly with directions to surrounding areas. Breakfast buffet plentiful. Pool area very pleasant on return from beach.
Close to (in a car) Porec centre, but also to beaches with free parking. There are sun beds and shades if you require for a reasonable fee. Lovely little cafe bar for lunch.

Would recommend Gargamelo for a short stay

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Debontheweb69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016

No Tips, only Compliments. Please keep up the standard.
The owner is the Face of Gargamelo and he is doing a perfect job. He welcomes you, he is there for the answering of your questions during the day. He is there at dinnertime. He is just perfect.
The breakfast is plain but surely OK, The room was convenient, clean and big. The beds were OK. The Pool is superb!! Lot of channels on the TV and free Wifi What do you want more

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank patadje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porec
3.1 km away
Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
5.6 km away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
5.3 km away
Aparthotel Adeo
Aparthotel Adeo
#3 of 27 in Porec
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Bed & Breakfast Daniela
39.3 km away
Hotel Villa Stefanija
16.2 km away
al Merlo Olivo
al Merlo Olivo
#2 of 6 in Buje
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gargamelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gargamelo

Address: Dalmatinska 10, Porec 52440, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Porec
Price Range: $85 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gargamelo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 1.5 km from the beach, Gargamelo Restaurant & Gastro Pension is a family-run guest house offering bright rooms with air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and free private parking. Guests can choose from a range of rooms and apartments. All apartments come with fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. There is also a shared garden. Gargamelo Pension also houses the family-owned restaurant, which serves traditional Croatian dishes accompanied by local wines. Buffet breakfast is also available. The guest house is located in a quiet area of the ancient city of Porec, with its historical centre just 2.5 km from the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Gargamelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing