We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
COOEE Pinia Hotel by Valamar
Nearby Hotels
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$103
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$124
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$98
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$109
US$105
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Park(Porec)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
49
93
43
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
93
43
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree bike hiretourist trainhotel facilitiesminute walkthe main hotelthe ground floorporec centreon arrivaltaxisunbedssofabalconycroatiagym
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Just arrived back from a 10 day stay at the Pinia Residence, which is an addition of self catering apartments to the main hotel. The apartments were located over a road, but situated well and with sea views. Gardens in front of the apartments between the coastal path and sea. There are no beaches in and around Porec, but steps but ladders regularly placed into the sea. If you like beach life and the gradual walk into the sea/sand, then this area and a lot of Croatia is not for you I'm afraid. About a 15-20 minute walk into Porec town itself , but you pass half a dozen bars on the way and the views are lovely, so doesn't feel like a long walk. There is a regular mini train every 40 mins (10 kunar each/£1.30 ish) which leaves outside Pinia and takes you direct into centre of Porec. Lovely local bars/restaurants close to Pinia with decent prices and friendly staff were By Willy and De Menegin which is a 5 min walk towards the sea. Small supermarket over the road and lovely Patisserie where we usually bought lunch.
The hotel facilities were adequate for our needs. Sun beds close to pool available up to say 9am, but plentiful around the gardens. Used the gym once, very basic but enough to keep you active. Pool activities were the same each day. Aquafit twice a day and water nets in the afternoon. We used indoor table tennis frequently, and the free bikes were a major plus for our party of 8. We visited the Caves (1 hour)and regularly rode into Porec and beyond to see other coves. We visited the waterski park about 40 mins leisurely ride away. Aquacolours is worth a visit . Cost us 120 kn (£15) each way in a taxi which the hotel organised. Only saw some of the entertainment once, but tended to go out each evening for meals. Drinks in hotel higher than most places, but that's not unusual. 29 kn for a large local beer, compared to 20 in De Menegin.
The apartment was sufficient for 3 adults 1 child (15). Was a bit worried the sofa bed wouldn't be big enough for 2 adults , but it was already made on arrival and stayed that way all holiday. Balcony/view lovely, aircon much needed in the 38 degree heat. The apartment was comfortable but looked a little tired. Everything fully functional, but could do with an upgrade. 3 star rating is about right . Overall we had a brilliant holiday, and Croatia has surprised me by how beautiful it is. Would definitely revisit the country but doubt it would be to the Pinia unless upgraded. We visited Rovinj for the day, and that was simply stunning. Would maybe look at hotels in that area.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Party69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ozrenko, General Manager at COOEE Pinia Hotel by Valamar, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for booking „Valamar Pinia Hotel” and for taking the time to write this detailed review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and it means a lot to us to have our guests’ feedback, so we can use it to constantly improve our service.
We always strive to make our guests’ experiences memorable and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Warm regards,
Ozren Renko, Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

We moved to the Pinia at short notice from the Valamar Pical (no air-conditioning). The first night we had a lousy room on the 3rd floor, clearly designed for single handicapped. Bed too narrow, and no proper sheets. however after complaining the next morning, we were given a fine room on the ground floor.
We would rather have booked breakfast only so we could try retaurants in Porec, but full board was our only option. In fact the buffet meals offered excellent high-quality variety. Only problem is the size of the hotel, so the buffet selection area is very large and you walk miles to fill your plate and glass.
There's an excellent open-air pool, open until late, with plenty of seating and a bar close by (but quite expensive). The hotel is just a short bike ride from Porec centre, and a toy tourist train runs into the centre from the entrance.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank geoffreyLerum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ozrenko, Manager at COOEE Pinia Hotel by Valamar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear Mr. Geoffrey,

Thank you for sharing your positive review of our hotel.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you once again in near future.

Best regards,

Ozren Renko, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

This resort hotel manages to give a personalised service, from the friendly welcome to the help from staff when seeking information. The room was comfortable and felt spacious with an extra space with sofa, desk, tv, etc. the bathroom was small but everything worked.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_MtEden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ozrenko, Manager at COOEE Pinia Hotel by Valamar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear Mr. John,
Thnak you for finding time to share your comments about our hotel.
We are very happy to have met your expectations and we hope to welcome you again in our hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Ozren Renko, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

Lovely staff, views, rooms, location! Would visit again:)

Visited as a family of 8, had spacious rooms with a lovely view, lots of activities to do and a lovely bar on the beach, pay for a drink and you can stay in the shaded sun beds all day:)

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank WilSid9795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ozrenko, Manager at COOEE Pinia Hotel by Valamar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a lovely review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay.

Best regards,
Ozren Renko, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

We were last year at Pinia hotel in Porec and had a good holiday together with whole family and therefore we've decided to book also this year at same place. The only chage was that since we were minus one (our adult daughter was not with us this year) this time we've decided to stay at Pinia Residence (that suits more our teenager's needs).
This year experience was, in my point of view, less successful as last one because of condition of the apartment that we've been staying. First comment is about the condition of sleeping condition in living room. The sofa bad was almost in class of Tudor torture bed and probably from the same period (damages on sofa bed, worn out). The staff did not know how to response on my request to get improvement on this issue. Apart from that we had some smell of mold in the living room and we found out that there was water damage. The staff was again without solution on that and we got compensation at the end that went from 5% to 3% on final bill (I am sure that my Croatian is still OK and that I heard 5% at the beginning). The TV set was also bad and with some issues with receiving of channels. WIFI in appartment is not existing but this was more to our son disappointment and not so much ours.
There were several other less successful experiences from last year, like removal of white sunbeds from the beach, drop in standar at Luna beach bar (both in food and staff with several exception like Sara, Natalia) and lack of smile in general at the staff (this is our third visit of Valamar and maybe too much comparison with Tamaris).
On positive side I can stress that view from room was great as expected and many things are to forget when you are there. The beach is more than fine (I like grass) and not too crowded. The parking is great and posibility for basic shopping are there. All in all, average experience and since I heard "rumors" about facelifting I am looking forward to see the place after that. I am just affraid that the price will be also different.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ozrenko, Geschäftsführer at COOEE Pinia Hotel by Valamar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Dear Mr. Martin,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Pinia Resdince for your vacation, at the same time I would like to appologize for not fully meeting your expectations and for giving you a feeling of dropping quality and inadequate service. Your comments are very valuable as they serve as guidelines for improvement and you can rest assured that we will take them seriously and try to make improvements in all stated points. As we are already in the process of planning 2017 I can promise some improvements in the property. I hope that you have not lost your trust in Valamar and that you will be our guests once again.

Kind regards,

Ozren Renko, general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews