We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Splash Inn Dive Resort(West End)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Breeze Inn(West End)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$79
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Roatan Bed & Breakfast Apartments(West End)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$55
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seagrape Plantation Resort(West End)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sueno Del Mar Resort(West End)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lands End(West End)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cocolobo(West End)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$150
US$95
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Posada Arco Iris(West End)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$69
US$63
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach House(West End)
Book now, pay at stay
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
88
30
10
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
30
10
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate roomchilled placestayed here for two nightsstayed longermain areashort walkwould definitely stay here againwest baysophiedormhammocksroatanislanddivingsheetsaccommodations
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2017

You'll just enjoy it. A short walk from the beach and dive shops. I will go bak there for sure!! The studio is large for 2 people! Enjoy the hammocks. Use the common spaces. Great idea to pay 1$/day to refill your water bottle!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nestormelendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophie s, Propietario at Hostel La Buena Onda, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Thank you !!! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

This place is so nice! I wish I could have stayed longer. Sophie and the girls at the reception are incredibly helpful and the place is just so clean and relaxing and exceeds expectations with extras- movies etc.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Haley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophie s, Propietario at Hostel La Buena Onda, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

It`s been a pleasure meeting you Haley! Have a nice trip and come back soon! :)

La Buena Onda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

I rented one bed in a dorm of 8 beds. I was able to use 1 secure locker to store items. There is a very short walk to the shared bathroom which offers a shower with hot water. All of the facilities were clean. The staff was always available to help me in any way, always. There is a sitting room near the kitchen that can be used to lounge indoors. There is also a covered outdoor area upstairs that is more open for those hotter days. Wi-if worked very well when I was there. The staff organized group meals for anyone who wanted to participate; I found this to be a great way to get to know other travels. I spent two full days lounging and resting at this hostel. It was peaceful and relaxing. The next few days I was gone so much that I only slept and showered there. I spent my time scuba diving and met other divers who were diving at the same dive shop as me and staying at the same hostel. I would definitely stay here again, but would request a room that is away from the shared courtyard. That seemed to be the smoking area, and the smoke would come through my window which I kept open due to the heat.

From this hostel, it's a 10 min walk along the main road into the actual town that has restaurants, shopping, the beach, bars, etc. I feel the road is a safe walk, it's a little dark in some places so I'd bring a flashlight if you can, but it's doable without one as well. A lot of people walk along the main road and drivers honk their horn to let pedestrians know they are coming up the road.

Overall, I recommend staying here if your looking for an economical place with clean facilities.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the courtyard if you want to stay away from cigarette smoke,
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TheGypsyVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophie s, Propietario at Hostel La Buena Onda, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Thank you so much for your comments!
We payed close attention to your suggestion and the shared courtyard is not longer a smoking area.
We hope to have you with us anytime soon again!

Kind regards,

La Buena Onda :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017

We stayed here for two nights whilst in Roatan and it was enjoyable. The rooms are spacious and affordable and the owner is very friendly and accommodating. It is situated only a short walk into the main area.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KayleeShepheard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophie s, Propietario at Hostel La Buena Onda, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Thank you for your visit and your comments!
We hope to see you again soon :)

La Buena Onda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

The owner is very nice and sweet, we had a pizza night which everyone designed their own pizza, I think it was a great idea to get people together. I love the balcony especially at night just sitting there enjoy the stars also away from all the bars and parties.

It wasn't very clean at the public area but it's a hostel I mean, I do suggest to change or at least wash the sofa sheet, the smell wasn't too good.

It was a nice stay indeed.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews