We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“attractive but not what I want”
Review of Moradok - Thai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moradok - Thai
Reviewed 30 April 2015

I needed a hotel in Ayutthaya, only for 1 night, only for myself. I checked on the internet and i found this hotel, Moradokthay. It seemed quite attractive. It's actually a hostel but the price is more hotel like.
I arrived early in the morning. I told my name to the older lady at the reception and she was like expecting me. I had to wait a while because the room had still to be cleaned. I could wait at the outside bar. I looked around and need to say, its attractive and there is beautiful plantation outside. The bar was clean also. I think most their customers are young European people that want to visit the historical site in Ayutthaya.
After about 1 hour, I could go to my room. The room is quite big but no TV or fridge, only air conditioning. For the rest, a bed, 1 chair, a small table and a stand to put your suitcase on. The bathroom was not clean and you need to take a shower over your toilet because the water from the sprinkler arrives somewhere halfway the bathroom.
If you like to drink something, you need to go to the bar which is quite expensive and the service is not good, even no ice and a beer you need to drink from the bottle. There are a number of spirits behind the bar, so I decided to drink after my beer a vodka/coke. Had to wait a while because the son had to go buy ice in 7/eleven or so.
They serve breakfast but it's limited to 2 dishes. I went into town to get some food.
As I said, it looks attractive but get far from the value that you pay for. I wouldn't recommend it to people. There are many better and cheaper places in the same area.

Room Tip: I saw only my room. If you need only a bed, it's ok. The place is away from the road, so it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daukmai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2015

We stayed here one night on our way to Chiang Mai. It was 5 of us so we had 2 rooms. Both rooms were clean and spacious (Bug free). You have your own bathroom and the water got hot (yay), the beds where just ok.
The lady that runs the place is eccentric and awesome, we called her Aunty. We stayed up late drinking with her and the other guests at the little bar listening to music and playing cards. Breakfast was simple but just what we needed. She was nice enough to have her guy take us to the train when we had to leave (we paid of course) instead of trying to hunt down a tuk tuk.
It is also walking distance from the town visitor center and close to one of the wat's and local market. Easy to get around by foot or bike, but of course tuk tuks are readily available.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kelz812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2015

A lovely place in an ugly, boring city. Rooms are not special but ok, very nice garden and awesome people. "crazy grandma" is one of the cutest persons I ever met. I would come back, but only because of the familiy.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2015 via mobile

This guesthouse is very attractive from the outside with a nice garden area to eat and drink..but for 600 baht a night
The room are so so, no fridge, no tv, no bottled water, the shower is terrible, the bed is ok and the Wi-Fi works.
Located on the busy main road means a lot of traffic noise.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
Thank sja74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, the first night they were clearly full but wanted the extra money so put us in the massage room which was very uncomfortable. The next night we had a room in the house but it was run down and dirty, the bed sheets didn't look clean and the bathroom had old bars of soap in. What made this place bearable was the friendly host Soshee but she could become annoying after a while, she woke us up at 7am unnecessarily so say we left a old piece of paper in the other room. You don't even get a bottle of water, you have to buy everything and its a little over priced.

Stayed: November 2014
Thank Mills T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayutthaya hotels
1.2 km away
Ayothaya Hotel
Ayothaya Hotel
#8 of 17 in Ayutthaya
181 reviews
0.2 km away
PromTong Mansion
PromTong Mansion
#3 of 78 in Ayutthaya
645 reviews
0.2 km away
Muster House
Muster House
#22 of 62 in Ayutthaya
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Silp Pa Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya
0.9 km away
Baan Baimai Boutique Room
Baan Baimai Boutique Room
#8 of 78 in Ayutthaya
144 reviews
1.7 km away
iuDia
iuDia
#2 of 78 in Ayutthaya
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moradok - Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moradok - Thai

Address: 6/12 Moo 1. Rojana Road, Ayutthaya, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Ayutthaya Province > Ayutthaya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Ayutthaya
Price Range: $19 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Moradok - Thai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing