We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Dive center ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Planet Divers

Blue Planet Divers
Book In Advance
More Info
US$92.25*
and up
Koh Haa Diving Tour with 2 Dives for Certified Divers
Ranked #4 of 37 Tours in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Blue Planet Divers offers SCUBA Diving (Courses and Guided Dives), Technical Diving, snorkeling and is the only center offering Freediving courses on the beautiful island of Koh Lanta. We are able to provide two different daily diving locations with our two boats. Our large and spacious big boat is perfect to spend a nice chill out day to meet new friends or stay in family and also to get full diving lessons. We are the only one which offer three dives by speedboat to the farther and best sites around Koh Lanta. Our highly experienced and friendly team members are multi-lingual speaking, French, English, Swedish, German and Dutch. Blue Planet Divers's best value is small ratio teaching because our first concern is high standards learning.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Dive center ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

My friends and I went to Blue Planet for a couple days of dives. I was talked in to getting my Advanced OW(which I am very happy about). My first impression of the dive center was quite organized and professional, they also have great reviews which is why I went with them. We were told that we would be picked up at 6:20 am on both days, and we were picked up quite late on both days. All of which was fine once we got to the boat. The boat was nice (tho really crowded the second day)and the local boat captains were awesome. My instructor, Kat, was very knowledgeable and professional, I was so happy to have her as my instructor and dive buddy. I will definitely be back to dive with these guys! I HIGHLY recommend them, especially Kat if you want to get a certification.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BpDivers, General Manager at Blue Planet Divers, responded to this review, 5 February 2017
Dear Emily,

Thank you for your review! It's always a pleasure to receive good review from guest and we are very sorry that this little issue made us a 4 stars review only.

Just to clarify the situation every morning our transfer service has a very tight schedule between all the location starting from the south of the island up to north where is located our pier. Unfortunately it happens often that people picked up first are very late at taxi their appointment and make all the following pick ups late. We're really trying to tell all our customers to be on time but a few people are not always intend to follow our pick rules rules. We're always looking after our drivers and make sure they are on time but again not everyone has a watch on his wrist.

Thanks again Emily and really hope next time we will change your mind about our pick up service. We would even offer you a private transfer if necessary.

Blue Planet Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    45
    9
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great experience ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

Very professional and well run dive shop. We had a disappointing experience with the accommodation we had booked and the staff at the shop went out of their way to make alternate arrangements for us which we really appreciated. We did 2 days of diving with them. One set of 2 dives which were near phi phi and another day of 3 dives at the southern dive location. All the diving was good, the southern dives were particularly pretty and clear and we saw 2 mantas. There was a whale shark around briefly on one of the dives too but we managed to miss it somehow. The dive masters were all great, we had Natacha and Kevin who were both fun and very friendly with a focus on safety. Would definitely dive with Blue Planet again if in Koh Lanta.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank safasandra88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BpDivers, General Manager at Blue Planet Divers, responded to this review, 5 February 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for great review about our dive center! We hope you had an excellent diving time with us and I'm sure we will meet you again in a near future for you to finally meet this beautiful pelagic.

All our staffs closely follow our company safety standards to guide and enjoy every moment. We have all different ways to love and show our passion.

Thanks again and hopefully we will see you again for a new diving adventure!

Blue Planet Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“To avoid”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

It's the best dive school for you, if you like:
- slow boats
- crowded, uncontrolled ways to get in the water (boat stuff rushes you to step in and people don't wait until you swam away and jump on you, how difficult can it be to organise groups?)
- bad food (be careful, all the non-vegetarians in our group got delhi belly)
- old equipment and leaking regulators (staff and manager apologise for it but as a compensation you get only offered a tshirt)



Visited January 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank marion_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BpDivers, General Manager at Blue Planet Divers, responded to this review, 25 January 2017
Dear Marion,

Thank you for reviewing Blue Planet Divers! We all know how important that is to show travelers how companies work in the world and we apologize that you haven't spent a perfect time with us.

We're very concern regarding your idea about our organisation and we will definitely correct your critical point of view.

We are a bit surprise that you're complaining about our vessels as we're offering the best ways to get to our different locations. We use a big and slow boat (as most of companies here in Lanta) to reach our local sites. It is a concept that you new before coming as the travel agency you used should have told you about it. The second day we were using a fast catamaran which one the safetiest boat in bad conditions. Unfortunately and we are sorry about it but the weather turns pretty bad on the second day and we couldn't reach the fare popular places. I understand that made you a little upset but safety first and we will never risk to threaten our guest life for diving. We are all concerned with this unusual climate changes but we think it's happening everywhere in the world now.

We're a very popular company for its safety rules and organisation rules. We're very wondering how could this water entries management would happen as our boat crew and professional staff would never allow anyone to entry the water if the back deck water area is not clear. We are very if it happened and we will make a call and repeat this essential rule to all our staff. They all know how to well organize groups as you can read it to most of reviews so we're very surprise that is happened.

Regarding the food it is the first time that people complains about it are we are very careful and even make personal dishes for guest having special requirements as vegetarians. If I remember you were diving with two other people living in the same place as you were so it might be a "bad food" served in local restaurant. We're buying daily fresh vegetable, meat and fruits so it is very strange that's happened. We will double checked with our cook and see if anything has been done wrong.

Our equipments are maintained and serviced by three technician (included me) who have followed technical classes with professional from group as the well know Scuba pro. We are very aware about our equipment and always keep an eyes on them. What happen to you is not common as O'rings can leak anytime after 5 months daily use. We couldn't fix them during the trip as any failed equipments are send to our work shop to be entirely serviced and controlled. I totally agree with you that it shouldn't happen but it does as we use our equipment every day and sometimes some failed even if we carefully service them.

I've been apologizing and I think it should have been turned in a friendly way as we're not trying to hide anything. We are a friendly company and not a factory. We have luckily only a few cases per season and we have a main concern saying that there is no one perfect but the one who make the difference is the one who grows by rising with little mistake.

We are very sorry that you haven't spent a day like does 99% of our daily guest! Please if you come back again I will just offer you the best trip we have instead of a simple T-shirt.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Friendly and Fun Diving Company”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2017

My wife (PADI open water, 6 dives) and I (PADI open water, 10 dives) traveled to Ko Lanta in January of 2017, and wanted to bring in the new year by getting some diving in. Booking over the phone was a breeze (we did not try online). Ko Lanta is in close proximity to some incredible dive sites, and Rebecca talked us through what it would take to take in a couple different dive sites. While we were tempted by Hin Daeng and Hin Muang, we ultimately opted for a refresher course and a couple dives at Koh Haa island to save some money.

While our driver was 30 minutes late picking us up from our Resort in South Lanta (pick up is included), it did not take away from the amazing experience with Blue Planet Divers. After being dropped off at the Lanta pier, we met our Dive Master for the day (Kevin) and his apprentice (Derek) who were going to look after us for the day. Kevin and Derek were a great mix of friendly, fun, and detail oriented. Kevin did a great job in bringing two divers who hadn't dived since May of 2014 back up to speed (via a quiz, and review), so that we felt comfortable being back in the water and with the game plan for the day.

During our dives, Kevin walked us through all the required skills to complete the refresher, then got on with our dives as quickly as possible without compromising our understanding of diver safety. Kev knew the dive sites inside and out, with a complete knowledge of it's resident fish and crustaceans. We saw many fish (nudibranches, stonefish, scorpionfish, seahorses, a lobster, porcelain crab, porcupine fish) over the course of two dives, along with vibrant coral life.

Blue Planet offered breakfast (scrambled eggs, toast, and juice), snacks (deep fried spring rolls), and lunch (an array of traditional Thai food) in the cost of admission, which was greatly appreciated. After our dives, Kevin went over our dive logs as we ate lunch (make sure that he stamps your log with his rockin' stamp) and talked about life on Ko Lanta. All-in-all, everything went so smoothly and we enjoyed a wonderful day. Keep up the great work Blue Planet!

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Bradleyhugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BpDivers, General Manager at Blue Planet Divers, responded to this review, 5 February 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your high rated review! We're always charmed by reading reviews like your.

We all know pick up service is not always easy to keep on timing when other guests forgot to put their alarm clock or leave their watches at home. It's understandable as we all know that most of travelers come to relax and lost their mind on time. We are sorry that happen to you and we hope and will try to organize better this service.

Besides, we are very glad that all other services have been rated 5 stars and like you said we will keep it up and even try to make it better.

Thanks again and hope we will meet you in a near future for more fun diving!

Blue planet divers Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
“Freediving 3 stars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2017

I was doing a two and three stars course, and i had the best instructor Jan Bareš from Czech republic. He was providing me with patience and passion and his educative and diving skills are at very very high level. I felt really comfortable in all the hard and heavy disciplines. Thanks to him i'm a three stars freediver now.

Visited January 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank balvin_ondra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Planet Divers also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Blue Planet Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing