We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointment!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Planet Divers

Blue Planet Divers
Book In Advance
More Info
US$44.93*
and up
Snorkeling Day Tour with Professional Guide in Ko Lanta
Ranked #5 of 37 Tours in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Blue Planet Divers offers SCUBA Diving (Courses and Guided Dives), Technical Diving, snorkeling and is the only center offering Freediving courses on the beautiful island of Koh Lanta. We are able to provide two different daily diving locations with our two boats. Our large and spacious big boat is perfect to spend a nice chill out day to meet new friends or stay in family and also to get full diving lessons. We are the only one which offer three dives by speedboat to the farther and best sites around Koh Lanta. Our highly experienced and friendly team members are multi-lingual speaking, French, English, Swedish, German and Dutch. Blue Planet Divers's best value is small ratio teaching because our first concern is high standards learning.
London
1 review
“Disappointment!”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I decided to go Hin Daeng and Hin Muang with Blue Planet Divers after seeing their high ratings here. Picked up from my hotel 45 minutes late after waking up at 5:30am! Not sure if they would have picked me up at all if I didn't call after 30 minutes of waiting. I didn't even get an apology for this! At least 4 other customers that I personally spoke to were picked up very late (or made their way to the boat on their own after pick up delay). We left on the speed catamaran around 7:30am (half hour later than planned). 15-20 minutes into the trip we stopped due to engine failure. Thai boat crew tried fixing for 2 hours or so while about 15 customers hang out on the boat. Several larger dive boats that head to the same dive sites passed by and one handed over some equipment to help fix and then left. I wonder why we weren't transferred onto one of them? They were definitely more than large enough to accommodate. Anyway, about 2 hours of trying, fixing didn't work out and we headed back (slowly). Until this point in time there had been no apologies or a single announcement from the dive crew. People had to go and ask about what was happening, what the plan was now etc. 5 minutes before we reached the harbour someone made an announcement and a very dry apology. So we were back on land around 10:30. Back at the shop the manager was quite relaxed about the situation, no apologies made but he tried to book trips for the next day. I do understand mechanical issues may arise and that was unlucky, but the way everything from start to end was handled seemed quite disorganised with no one taking responsibility really. Hope other customers get a better service. Two stars instead of one because my disappointment is not related to the actual diving experience.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank FakeJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BpDivers, General Manager at Blue Planet Divers, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! We always appreciate having feedback about our organisation and we would like to apologize for not being able to give you a full 5* stars service.

As you said we had an engine failure and not being able to fix it on that day. Our mechanic was going to fix this little issue until he saw a bigger problem and then decide to cancel the trip. We had a few issues before with it and now we send it to a boatyard to make a full check and service. We're not escaping from our duties and we are sorry that it happened to you.

Regarding the apologies I'm a bit confuse as I know our professional team has always been anticipated this kind of problem by announcing cancellation and apologizes. I definitely remember to have sent mine to all guest after being back at the shop and I am sorry if you didn't hear it.

Unfortunately we couldn't send divers from catamaran to our big boat because it was full and adding more people on it wouldn't be safe. At this point when the big boat came to the catamaran everyone was thinking that we could fix it and let it run to those far away sites. Mechanic is a real problem in Thailand and it's not always easy to make proper fixes. But now as said previously our boat is going to have a full engine check and service to make sure it won't happen again.

Pick up shuttle is always an issue when people before you are very late to their pick up point. It makes every other pick up late and people thinks we have forgot them. Anyway it is our problem and we're sorry it affected you.

Please receive our apologize and very sorry again that we couldn't offer you our usual 5*stars service. If you come by again we hope you would consider and give a chance to change your mind about us!

Blue Planet Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    46
    10
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
1 review
“Very professionell diver courses”
Reviewed 17 March 2017

I did my Open Water scuba diver there and was the only Student in my course. That was very helpful because my instructor (Corrina) could Support me the most.
The courses have a Maximum of 4 students and if possible in your motherlanguage.
The atmosphere was always relaxed.

Visited March 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank 341sidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
“Diving holiday in Koh Lanta”
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Diving was wonderful and really enjoyed our holiday. Our Divemaster Dan was competent, thoughtful and helpful. Can't wait to go back.

Visited March 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank francesp126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford
2 reviews
“Indepth Diving”
Reviewed 15 March 2017

An organised and professional dive operation. The guides were polite and thorough with their briefings and we look forward to the new boat being ready!

Visited March 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Indepth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
“Great experience !”
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Been welcomed by a very nice and professional team. Breakfast and lunch is included and really good.
Great vibes on the boat !

Visited March 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Julien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Planet Divers also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Blue Planet Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing