We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Rin Bay View Bungalow & Restaurant(Ko Pha Ngan)(Great Value!)
US$210
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$405
US$212
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan(Ko Pha Ngan)
US$464
US$338
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$304
US$243
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Papaya Resort(Ko Pha Ngan)
US$151
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
US$122
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Cove Resort(Ko Pha Ngan)(Great Value!)
US$85
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,351
US$1,179
Otel.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,225)
Filter reviews
2,225 results
Traveller rating
1,722
334
114
39
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,722
334
114
39
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsapple tvocean pool villaour honeymoonkoh phangansmall villagethe general managerspeedboat transfercold towelslittle touchesocean frontjip shopbeautiful beachlocal villagespecial thankssun loungershotel restaurantoutdoor shower
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 2,225 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

We spent 12 days here in March. It was our second time here and it was as good as we remembered. We stayed in an ocean pool suite and found it much brighter than the ocean pool villa we stayed in before. Being on the first floor there were lovely views. The beach is great and there are no jellyfish in the sea.
The staff were so friendly especially the beach boys who were always chatty and smiling. The restaurant staff were helpful and the food was good. The hotel organised a half day tour of the island and our guide was very good.
We would love to return.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank SassySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla P, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear SassySue,

Thank you for returning to our shores, it is the biggest compliment to us when our guests return to our resort.
We are delighted that you found your stay as good as before, we strive for improvement daily.
We have such a wonderful team of people working here, they will be very happy to read your review.
The Ocean pool suites are very bright and spacious and the upper floor gives you a beautiful vista of the Gulf of Thailand.
Please let me know if we can assist you with anything in the future we are looking forward to welcoming you back for a third time.
Thank you
Carla Puverel
cpuverel@anantara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

This Anantara was exactly what we wanted: an island escape that felt very removed from the world. The resort is made up of a bunch of "villas" that are on the remote side of Koh Phangan (opposite side of the island from all of the markets and parties). This is perfect if you want a beach getaway that is about a 30 minute drive to the party, but bad if you want to be in the middle of everything.

The beach the resort is located on is a shallow sandy stretch that is very calm and somewhat shielded from the heavy waves and winds during storms. We saw people kayaking and standup paddle boarding along the beach. There are several nearby resorts and a small village right outside of the resort where you can get cheap laundry, food, and/or massages.

The included breakfast was definitely one of the better resort brunches that we had while traveling in Thailand compared to other similarly priced resorts. They had a bunch of different Western and Eastern food options and the food was very flavorful.

The two minor issues you should be aware of before you book: one, there was construction being done on several of the villas while we were staying there. The noise was on and off during the day which could be a little annoying.

Two, the bathroom area is separated from the bedroom area with no air condition. I imagine this has something to do with mosquitos or other bugs, but it didn't really make sense why they designed the rooms like that. While it didn't bother me, it did bother my partner as she likes to take her time getting ready in the bathroom and you can imagine the heat and humidity.

Otherwise, the room itself was pretty nice if a bit dark. We really liked the cocoon-like mosquito net over the bed that made for a romantic enclosure.

We opted to take a public ferry and taxi service to the resort versus using the resort's private speedboat option. I think we would have opted for the speedboat if we were coming to/from the Koh Samui airport since the speedboat includes pick up and drop off from the airport. However, if you take the speedboat it is about 2x time price of the public options. If you do decide to take the resort's shared speedboat, you should be aware that since there is no pier at the resort, you will need to walk through knee deep water to get to/from the speedboat.

The entire staff at the resort were very helpful, friendly, and well spoken in English. I would definitely stay at this resort again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Anon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla P, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Anon Y,

Thank you for staying at our resort and sharing your experience with future and fellow guests.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are very fortunate with our beach front location, we are situated on one of the best beaches in Thailand. The non-motorised water sports are lots of fun and our guests really enjoy being out on the water enjoying the nature and the serene beach front.

the Chef and his team will be delighted to read your comments, thank you.
I have noted your comments regarding the outdoor bathroom, we are working with the architects to put in air conditioning and enclose the bathroom, thank you.
We are not doing any construction, my apologies the noise you heard was from the property next door, they have promised to be finished by the end of the week.

Please let me know if we can assist you with anything in the future, we are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Thank you
Carla Puverel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

This was a really great experience. We can recommend the Ocean Pool Villa. Just amazing with direct private beach access, private Pool and a spacious, super clean and comfy Villa with a great rain shower.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
1  Thank Jens C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla P, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Dear Jens C,

Thank you for staying at our resort and sharing your great experience.
Our Ocean Pool Villa is very spacious and the view is spectacular there is nothing like waking up to the sunrise over the Gulf of Thailand.
The direct beach access is a big plus too.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our shores.
Thank you
Carla Puverel
cpuverel@anantara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

We went in our honeymoon and we spent there 3 amazing days. Despite the weather was no good at all, because of some rains, the resort facilities and the paradisiac location did us spent a great time anyways

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank maxbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla P, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear maxbe,

Thank you for celebrating your honeymoon on our shores, we are delighted to read that you had an amazing stay.
The weather was a surprise for us too, normally it is dry this time of year, I am glad that you still had a wonderful time and enjoyed the resort, facilities and services.
We hope you return for your anniversaries.
Please let me know if we can assist you with anything.

Thank you
Carla Puverel
cpuverel@anantara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful! Ocean front villa spacious. Attention to detail amazing! The best beach in Thailand I have been to! The most important thing to me as a guest is the staff. Most attentive, happy staff I have encountered for a long time! From reception, gardeners, bar, wait staff, housemaids , there was not one who didn’t smile!!I commend whoever is managing this resort...I would be proud to have staff like these!!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank stbriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla P, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear stbriggs,

Thank you for staying at our resort and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted that you loved your stay and enjoyed our special touches and personal service. We are blessed with a wonderful group of team members that work here, I am so glad you liked everyone.
We are very fortunate with our beach location and landscaping, however it is the team members that make the memories.
Please let me know if we can assist you with anything in the future.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Thank you
Carla Puverel
cpuverel@anantara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews