We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,307)
Filter reviews
2,307 results
Traveller rating
1,782
348
120
41
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,782
348
120
41
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews apple tv ocean pool villa our honeymoon island guru koh phangan garden suite small village the general manager speedboat transfer luna lounge ocean front cold towels little touches private speed boat beautiful beach local village sun loungers
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 2,307 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

We made reservations at Buri Rasa but when we walked in there the feeling wasn’t right and we decided to change to Anantara. And from the moment of checking in we were happy about our choice.

At hotels in this range we expect a high standard in general and Anantara matched our expectations.

Wonderful grounds, pool, restaurants and a beach with enough sunbeds which are set up very spacious. The hotel offers kayaks and SUP boards. We didn’t check out yet so I don’t know if there is a fee involved or not but it is very nice to use them to paddle to one of the nearby other beaches.

Our room was big enough for the three of us and was very comfortable.

The SPA is very good and offers Yoga and great massages. Our son of six became a regular for the 30 minute massage they offer for kids.

All staf at Anantara was truly nice. Staf at the reception, the restaurant and the Spa in particular.

It looks like staf is enjoying their job in this hotel which has a positive reflection on the guests.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank JeanUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

The hotel is on the most beautiful beach on the island. The staff are friendly and helpful and the location gives you easy access to a village with a wide range of restaurants and facilities. The pool area could do with reconfiguring but it's a minor issue given the beauty of the location.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
2  Thank andyrdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla P, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Dear andyrdavies,

Thank you for staying at our resort and sharing your travel experience with future and fellow guests.
We do have the ultimate beach location and the surrounding area is fun to visit and explore.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our team members they will be delighted to read your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Thank you
Carla Puverel
cpuverel@anantara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

We have been here before a few years ago. We liked it, and so we returned. And we were not disappointed.
Speedboat service (including pick-up at previous hotel on Koh Samui and transportation to the airport when we left) worked perfectly, but is not cheap (about 4000 THB round trip per person).
This time, we had the Thai Villa 34, which is unfortunately located next to kitchen, and therefore sometimes noisy (especially in the morning) and you can sometimes smell the kitchen.
The villa has a large open-air living area on the ground floor, but this is not worth the extra money for a Thai Villa.
The rooms are equipped with everything you may need (including a Nespresso coffee machine).
Food was excellent. It was absolutely no problem to get lactose-free food. The cook and waiters were well-informed about ingredients and told my wife that she could get any meal without lactose. They even showed us a packet of milk that was clearly labeled as containing “0% lactose”. Breakfast buffet has many choices and does not leave anything to be desired.
The beach is beautiful and clean. There are enough beach beds available. The beach boys even reserved a group of beach beds for us, which we could then use throughout our stay.
Behind the hotel, there is a small village with a few shops and a pharmacy. It is also possible to rent a car here.
Internet is fast and works without any trouble.
The service is virtually perfect, staff members are very friendly and helpful, without exception.
We’d like to specially mention Duan, Nui Nui, and the excellent massage by Jan.

Room tip: Avoid villas close to the kitchen
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank gueLinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla P, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Dear gueLinz,

Thank you for returning to our resort, it is the biggest compliment a guest can give us. We look forward to your third visit.
We are delighted to read that you all enjoyed your time with us and all our facilities and services.
We are blessed with the most beautiful beach location and the team are a delight to work with. Thank you for the special mentions they will be very proud.
I have noted your comments about the kitchen noise in villa 34, and will see how we can prevent this, thank you.
Please let me know if we can assist you with anything in the future.

Thank you

Carla Puverel
cpuverel@anantara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

We could not fault our stay at the Anantara Rasananda.We went there to relax in a nice resort and that's exactly what we got. We were given a double upgrade to a Thai Pool Villa which was fantastic,beautiful private outdoor area with a private pool and very quiet. Great location on a beautiful beach, great pool area, swim up bar and restaurants. A stroll to a small village with lots of shops, taxis and good restaurants. The hotel breakfasts were fantastic. The best part however was the staff, they are excellent and do everything they can to help you enjoy your holiday. We could mention them all but in particular we would like to thank Luffy and all his staff in the breakfast/food area particularly his supervisor and Jessie, and Sun in the bar. Keep fishing Sun ! They really go out of their way to make your stay memorable. We cannot wait to return both to this hotel and the Island, a hidden Treasure which Australians should explore. Thanks again and see you soon, Ron and Annette

Room tip: Thai Pool Villas are great have both indoor and outdoor facillities
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Annette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla P, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Dear Annette R,

Thank you for staying at our resort and sharing your vacation experience with future and fellow guests.
We are so glad that you relaxed during your time here and departed feeling rejuvenated.
Luffy will be very proud to read your review thank you he is a gem. Jesse and Sun will be overjoyed to read this thank you.
We strive for improvement daily and our team members are so passionate and dedicated.

Please let me know if I can assist you with anything in the future, we look forward to your next visit.
Thank you
Carla Puverel
cpuverel@anantara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018

this resort is on a lovely beach, with beautiful garden, what a shame they do not have a standard of a 5 stars resort.
dirty rooms and terrasse, no tooth brush or tooth past provided in bathroom amenities, beach mattress with holes, food is good depending on what chef is there.( after 13 pm food is great ) Overall a bad and expensive experience.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnsgardensamui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla P, General Manager at Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018


Dear johnsgardensamui,

Thank you for staying at our resort and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
I am so sorry we were not able to exceed nor even meet your expectations.
We work very hard every day and strive for improvement daily.

I have noted your comments regarding cleanliness- thank you.
We do have a dental kit on request, we will ensure this is explained properly in the future.

I am delighted to share that all our sun loungers have been replaced with brand new Sunbrella ones, I am so sorry that the shipment was delayed and you could not experience them.
As you are aware we are in a remote location, none the less this is our error and it should never happen.

All our chefs follow the same recipes and method and we strive to ensure each dish is consistent. I can guarantee you that I will put more effort in here as the guest experience is first and foremost.

I wish I was aware of your issues while you were here and we could have found a way to ensure your time here was restful and happy.

Please let me know if we can assist you with anything in the future, I have reached out to you directly too.

Thank you

Carla Puverel
cpuverel@anantara.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews