We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family stay at JJ Bungalow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
J.J. Bungalow & Guest house
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Our family of two adults and two children stayed at the JJ Bungalow in Ko Phi Phi Don for two nights in December.

When booking, we found accommodation on the island to be expensive in relation to what was offered in terms of service and offering - and this turned out to be the case for out stay here.

On arrival the pool was dirty and unfiltered - I suspect the owner decided so save some electricity - disappointing for our children who had looked forward to a swim on check-in. We negotiated a 500 THB refund for this (token - should have been 1000 at lest in line with all the penalties that the establishment imposes for various infringements). The pool was restored for use the next day.

We did have help getting our bags to the bungalow - which was a serious climb from the road level - please note, a serious climb up some sets of steeply angles stairs.

Unfortunately the bunglalow had an ant problem - which meant any food was attacked by an army of ants - rather disconcerting. The room was spacious, but the additional bed was a rickety rollup bed not offering a good night's sleep. The toilet and shower room was large but basic.

No breakfast was offered, and we found the 4000 BHT (around 95 GBP/110 EUR) per night to be expensive for a family room. Much cheaper accomodation can be found in the village 5 minutes away - although this could be noisier.

There was a sewerage plant that one has to pass on the walk from the village to the bungalows - terrible smells linger here and piles of refuse in the area point to a hygiene problem.

Positives: The accommodation is not noisy, when the pool was working, swimming was pleasant and this is a nice area. The shop that is part of the hotel is useful. The room was spacious. The porters that take luggage too and from the bungalow are necessary.

Negatives: The staff on reception not friendly and English not good - not service orientated. The climb to the bungalow was not enjoyed and can be dangerous for young children. Lack of breakfast being offered. The Ant problem. The sewerage plant nearly a poor experience. Expensive accommodation versus what is offered - by European and Bangkok standards...

Room Tip: Bungalows near the road would be better for access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paul_Wood_126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

Where to begin. Our one night stay included no hot water, construction noise in the room next door, a massive cock roach that crawled out of the bathroom, and an Aircon which hardly kept the room cool. However, the stench was by far the worst aspect of our stay. There is a sewage treatment plant just down the street and if the wind is blowing in the direction of the bungalow, you'll have a rank smell throughout the room. It was so bad that it kept my girlfriend and I awake all night with our faces buried in our pillows. When I mentioned the no hot water issue the next morning, the staff didn't seem to care. Finally, the walls and floor in the room were grimey and in need of fresh paint. We stayed in the bungalows closest to the street, so maybe these rooms are the worst. Perhaps the bungalows farther up the hill are better, but I wouldn't chance it. Do yourself a favor and steer clear of this place.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Chad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

Booked in for two nights and ended up staying a week. 5 or 10 minutes walk from the bars and beach so easy to get to but far enough away that I was not kept awake until 2 am with the loud music from the beach bars. Pool was lovely and nice to cool off on a hot day. Staff were friendly and room cleaned every day with fresh towels and water. I've stayed on phi phi 4 times and I would say this hotel was best value for money. I stayed in the cheaper room which was still nice and had a terrace area with chairs to relax in the shade. When you get off the ferry look for the man holding the JJ bungalow sign to help with your bags as it is about a 20 minute walk from the pier and not very easy to find.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Lynsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

Stay away from that Resort. Expensive. Dirty. See Photos.........................

....... it's a completely rubbish dump. All is broken. We upgrade our rooms. But for 1600 baht plus you will find excellent places on the island. Avoid these place.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2016

The location is about a 15 minute walk from the pier, on paved pathways. There are no motorised vehicles on this part of Phi Phi, so everything is moved by hand pulled wagons. We were pleased to see a staff member from JJ Bungalow and Guesthouse meet us on the pier and take charge of our bag. He led us all the way to check-in and then carried our bag up the steps to our room. There were many steps, so this service is essential for most people. He also provided the same service when we left, taking us back to the pier.

We wanted a quiet location away from the noise of alcohol-fuelled partygoers, and this was just the spot. They have a mini mart as part of the JJ complex, and the prices were cheaper here than others we checked out. There are plenty of restaurants nearby, and the beach was about ten minutes’ walk.

Our room was very spacious, with a huge bed, dressing table, wardrobe, chairs and table, tv and kettle, and a large balcony. The bathroom was also very spacious with an open shower that was easy to regulate. While the shower was open, it didn’t spray far enough to wet the toilet and vanity areas more than a little mist on the large vanity. The pool was large and clean, with a spa area and lots of lounges. It was in full sun until lunchtime, when the trees provided shade until the sun moved past and it was in full shade and a beautiful temperature for swimming. Wifi worked well, and a/c was adequate.

This hotel is not new and sparkling, but we paid a modest price for a large room in a quiet location. We were happy with our decision, on an island that has so much variety of accommodation. The provision of a porter to manage luggage is an essential service for this situation.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank travelbugbitten10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.4 km away
JJ Residence
JJ Residence
#7 of 66 in Ko Phi Phi Don
313 reviews
0.7 km away
Kitty Guesthouse
Kitty Guesthouse
#5 of 93 in Ko Phi Phi Don
215 reviews
1.3 km away
Sunwaree Phi Phi Resort
Sunwaree Phi Phi Resort
#29 of 93 in Ko Phi Phi Don
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Papaya Phi Phi Resort
Papaya Phi Phi Resort
#4 of 93 in Ko Phi Phi Don
498 reviews
1.7 km away
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
#3 of 93 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,332 reviews
1.3 km away
Viking Natures Resort
Viking Natures Resort
#2 of 93 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J.J. Bungalow & Guest house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J.J. Bungalow & Guest house

Address: 95 Moo 7, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $49 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — J.J. Bungalow & Guest house 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your J.J. Bungalow & Guest house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
j.j. Bungalow Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing