We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
J.J. Bungalow & Guest house
Reviewed 9 May 2017

JJ bungalow was our second hotel in the area. Service was good, staff was friendly, we encountered an issue but was solved quickly. Beds are okay.

Liked the fact that it is not too far from the center while still being quiet at night.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Iloon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Had a very bad experience staying here...In the middle of the night (4am) a drunk girl came into our (locked) room with her key! Luckily I woke up just as she entered the room and made her leave immediately!Luckily nothing was stolen and we left this morning... Would not recommend this place...nonetheless rooms are clean but very basic, aircon is very weak and the bathroom smelled and had some mold on the walls...

Stayed: March 2017
1  Thank Tobias V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Old hotel. This is good place if you want to spend days at the beach and looking for cheap hotel. Not good for families with young children. Pool is small and afternoon in the shade. Location is good, because you don´t hear loud music at the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Päivi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Our family of two adults and two children stayed at the JJ Bungalow in Ko Phi Phi Don for two nights in December.

When booking, we found accommodation on the island to be expensive in relation to what was offered in terms of service and offering - and this turned out to be the case for out stay here.

On arrival the pool was dirty and unfiltered - I suspect the owner decided so save some electricity - disappointing for our children who had looked forward to a swim on check-in. We negotiated a 500 THB refund for this (token - should have been 1000 at lest in line with all the penalties that the establishment imposes for various infringements). The pool was restored for use the next day.

We did have help getting our bags to the bungalow - which was a serious climb from the road level - please note, a serious climb up some sets of steeply angles stairs.

Unfortunately the bunglalow had an ant problem - which meant any food was attacked by an army of ants - rather disconcerting. The room was spacious, but the additional bed was a rickety rollup bed not offering a good night's sleep. The toilet and shower room was large but basic.

No breakfast was offered, and we found the 4000 BHT (around 95 GBP/110 EUR) per night to be expensive for a family room. Much cheaper accomodation can be found in the village 5 minutes away - although this could be noisier.

There was a sewerage plant that one has to pass on the walk from the village to the bungalows - terrible smells linger here and piles of refuse in the area point to a hygiene problem.

Positives: The accommodation is not noisy, when the pool was working, swimming was pleasant and this is a nice area. The shop that is part of the hotel is useful. The room was spacious. The porters that take luggage too and from the bungalow are necessary.

Negatives: The staff on reception not friendly and English not good - not service orientated. The climb to the bungalow was not enjoyed and can be dangerous for young children. Lack of breakfast being offered. The Ant problem. The sewerage plant nearly a poor experience. Expensive accommodation versus what is offered - by European and Bangkok standards...

Room Tip: Bungalows near the road would be better for access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paul_Wood_126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

Where to begin. Our one night stay included no hot water, construction noise in the room next door, a massive cock roach that crawled out of the bathroom, and an Aircon which hardly kept the room cool. However, the stench was by far the worst aspect of our stay. There is a sewage treatment plant just down the street and if the wind is blowing in the direction of the bungalow, you'll have a rank smell throughout the room. It was so bad that it kept my girlfriend and I awake all night with our faces buried in our pillows. When I mentioned the no hot water issue the next morning, the staff didn't seem to care. Finally, the walls and floor in the room were grimey and in need of fresh paint. We stayed in the bungalows closest to the street, so maybe these rooms are the worst. Perhaps the bungalows farther up the hill are better, but I wouldn't chance it. Do yourself a favor and steer clear of this place.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Chad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
0.4 km away
JJ Residence
JJ Residence
#6 of 65 in Ko Phi Phi Don
302 reviews
0.7 km away
Kitty Guesthouse
Kitty Guesthouse
#5 of 90 in Ko Phi Phi Don
210 reviews
1.2 km away
Sunwaree Phi Phi Resort
Sunwaree Phi Phi Resort
#36 of 90 in Ko Phi Phi Don
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
Phi Phi Relax Beach Resort
#3 of 90 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,320 reviews
0.7 km away
The Cobble Beach
The Cobble Beach
#17 of 90 in Ko Phi Phi Don
416 reviews
0.2 km away
Papaya Phi Phi Resort
Papaya Phi Phi Resort
#4 of 90 in Ko Phi Phi Don
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J.J. Bungalow & Guest house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J.J. Bungalow & Guest house

Address: 95 Moo 7, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: $50 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — J.J. Bungalow & Guest house 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your J.J. Bungalow & Guest house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
j.j. Bungalow Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing