We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem!”
Review of View Point Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
View Point Resort
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2011

We stayed for 3 nights after Christmas and felt like we were movie stars! The Villa's (we stayed in Villa 2) are stunning and everything is thought of - there's a DVD player and CD player in the rooms; complimentary beach bags; mozzie coyls etc. The outside bathrooms were glorious (when we build our house I want one of these!) and the sala was the perfect place for sundowners while playing a game of backgammon (they have a set in the rooms). The private pools are AWESOME, as are the views!

The staff were incredibly eager to help but possibly don't have the 5-star training to go with the 5-star digs.

There is a short (100 stairs) walk down to the beach which too is spectacular - little private beaches between massive boulders. We spent the mornings on the beach and then meandered up to our Villa. Evenings were spent down in the town which is very chilled and has a few good restaurant options as well as some bars, with fire dancers on the beach etc. The bay that View Point is in is very relaxed.

Definitely recommend as a honeymoon location!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetotraveldotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 290 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2011

Hello,

They are building new villa's and there is a lot of noise, verry loud.
Only in villa nr 1 and 2 you can not hear the noise.
Did complain by the manager for 5 times, and never a response!!!
(at the last day they gave us an 6.000 bath discount)

If you want to have a nice and romantic hollyday, do NOT go, the only thing you will hear is contruction noise, sometimes even till midnight.

Restaurant outdated!!

(and YES there is a lot off glass on the beach and they do NOT clean it up)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We didn't know what to expect as we booked this place based on previous reviews, which seemed to be very mixed. We stayed in the 2 bedroom pool villa between 12th December to 16th December 2010. All we can say is that our stay was truly wonderful and memorable. The service was excellent and our every need was attended to, from asking for a bucket of ice each day, extra glassware, daily room cleaning to a surprise visit by one of the staff members with 3 coconuts cut from the tree for us to drink. On entering our villa, the view took our breath away. All bedrooms had comfortable beds, mosquito nets and air conditioning. Each bedroom had a private outdoor ensuite and the shower felt like our own waterfall. The private infinity edge pool offered spectacular views of the ocean and sunset every night. The staff were very friendly and did everything they could to help us. Each morning we had breakfast at the restaurant overlooking the ocean. The breakfast itself was simple, but more than adequate. We had room service to our villa most evenings and the meals were delicious and the portions generous. Due to bad roads, access to the resort is limited, however it is only an easy 10 minute walk along the beach and boardwalk into the nearest town. Occasionally the power would go off, however this is a minor inconvenience as it was always restored almost immediately. We would highly recommend this holiday if you enjoy privacy, views, good service, beautiful beaches and a truly Thai experience. Thankyou View Point for a beautiful holiday! :-)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntCate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

My husband and I spent three nights here while on our Honeymoon and we can't say enough good things about this place. While the drive to the hotel was quite an adventure, on a 5 mile extremely rugged dirt road, once we reached the top, all of our worries disappeared. We stayed in Pool Villa 4, which was absolutely stunning and even better than the pictures online (if that's at all possible).

The only negative thing I have to say about The View Point is that they are powered by a generator, which unfortunately, will occasionally turn off in the middle of the night, leaving you waking up in a puddle of sweat since the AC is a coveted item in August. But, then again - just make sure to sleep next to the remote control for the AC and you should be fine ;) Plus, this quirky nature is what we really loved about this place - it was the perfect mix of rugged, tropical paradise and luxury. The outdoor shower and bathroom made you feel like you were Tarzan and Jane living in the jungle together, while the infinity pool with unsurpassed ocean views, the media room, and the private veranda with made to order breakfast delivered every morning made you feel like you were a celebrity living the dream.

We were worried that the location would hinder us from really seeing what Koh Tao had to offer, but we were pleasantly surprised that while our room was high on a Cliff, beach access was just a short jaunt down the stairs. Lining the beach were scuba shops (we got certified at Alvaro Diving School - another great experience), friendly bars, and amazing seafood BBQs. Once on the beach you can reach the main street, where you can catch a taxi and drive anywhere else on the island - or better yet - rent a scooter and explore for yourself.

While we only had three nights at View Point, we had wished we could have extended our stay. Of all the hotels we stayed at in Phuket, Ko Samui and Bangkok, this was by far our favorite. We will definitely be coming back for another visit - maybe this time with some family in tow ;)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KristiNunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

I dont know what these other people expected for the price but I LOVED View Point.
The rooms are very cheap for what you get. I stayed in a V cottage with amazing views overlooking the bay. The rooms could do with a bit of a makeover but we loved them! For the other reviewers who recently gave this place a negative review, you have to get to know the staff and be pleasant and they will bend over backwards for you. Yes, you have to ASK to get your room made up but you could ask everyday and they are happy to do it! We found the restauarant food amazing and the staff there were extremely helpful, pleasant, spoke great English and would service any request we asked.
Yes the trip in was rough on unmade roads but that is part of the charm of View Point. It is remote!
The beach definitely did NOT have glass on it and it was far from mud. It is a perfect, private beach which, after 10 metres of pristine sand, runs into coral reef you can snorkel over for hours. (see photos)

Please do not take the view that ViewPoint is bad, it is extremely cheap for what you get and if you like things a little rustic, this is for you.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fattymcnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
4 km away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
330 reviews
1 km away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,601 reviews
5 km away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,323 reviews
1.9 km away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,314 reviews
1.3 km away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 50 in Koh Tao
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to View Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about View Point Resort

Address: | Chalok Baan Kao, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: $116 - $700 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
View Point Resort believes that absolute privacy creates the perfect setting for a peaceful and restful environment from which our guests will benefit. View Point Resort is located at the pinnacle of Chalok Baan Kao, cut off from the towns & other resorts, but nonetheless at a pleasant walking distance to all amenities. Here you will find a spiritual kind of quiet. Join us in paying homage to Buddha Rock, who watches over our resort, blesses our days & offers us protection and comfort. This is a place to relax, unwind, contemplate, & re-connect with nature. Sometimes life requires you to break away from routine. View Point Resort is your shelter from the storm of everyday life. This is the place to celebrate what is truly important in life - Serenity and Joy. We believe that all of this makes us the most uniquely situated resort on Koh Tao. We hope that you can take pleasure in our efforts, but moreover that you can also share and embrace our concept. Relax, enjoy, & take pleasure in what has been meticulously crafted for your profound satisfaction and pure delight. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
View Point Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing