We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm & Relaxing Stay + Great Views + Yummy Food + Nice Snorkelling Reef”
Review of Baan Talay Koh Tao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Baan Talay Koh Tao
Ranked #34 of 153 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Baan Talay is a great place if you want to relax in a remote location and be away from the hustle and bustle at the main beaches. If you're looking for a place to explore bars and go party, then it is probably the wrong location for you.

My girlfriend and I stayed at Baan Talay in mid-June and had a great time. The staff was wonderful and always helpful, the food was yummy and the view from the deck made breakfast unforgettable. We always used the free shuttle to their dive school in the morning and went diving with their dive school New Heaven Diving or to the beach and took their shuttle back in the afternoon to relax in the hammock of our bungalow, have a good read and a nice dinner. You can go swimming in the ocean, but need to hike a small path downhill from the bungalows to reach a small deck at the stone shore. Access zu the water is not that easy, but bring Snorkelling gear and one is rewarded with a reef teeming with life (especially in the morning).

We would definitely stay again at Baan Talay.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Saad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

We loved our stay at Baan Talay. The staff were fantastic and the 3 times a day free shuttle to Chalok was a fantastic bonus. The rooms were very clean and simple yet sufficient and the view was to die for. The best yoga studio I have ever been to. Dev, who is incredibly knowledgable and passionate about yoga, will take you on a different yoga journey every day!

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Charlotte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

I spent two nights here with my boyfriend and we loved it! Could have easily stayed for longer. The huts are really nice, beautiful and the view and surroundings are also incredibly beautiful.
The way to the sea is a bit steep, yes, and you have to swim a bit to get to the beach-beach (takes maybe 20 minutes incl. swimming to get to the beach). But it is probably the best beach on Koh Tao and bring snorkelling gear, since there are so many colorful fish and corals to enjoy on the swimming trip there.
The restaurant at the hotel made us some delicious food. A bit pricy, but not really compared to similar hotels on the island. And the smoothies are incredible - not the typical Thai smoothie, but really creamy and just delicious!
The staff was friendly and very helpful at all times, very nice!
All in all, beautiful settings for a romantic getaway at the cliff-side! Would love to return one day!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Malene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Baan Talay for two nights and we loved it. The kids had a hut and me and my husband had a sea view suite. Very simple and cosy both of them. The view was fantastic. We felt really relaxed while we were there. Having yoga classes with Dave both evening and he is a really good teacher. The staff was very friendly and funny. We had a lot of good connection even if their English was a little poor. The food was good but we ate our dinner at Blue Heaven 5 minutes away. It is a fantastic restaurant and when you sit on the terasse there you have an amazing view over the see. We will come back to Baan Talay in the future. That's for sure!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rikke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

We planned a four night stay and stayed one more night because we did not want to leave. Everything is so beautiful there. The bungalows are so cozy and tidy. The outside shower is just fabulous.
The view from the bungalows is awesome!!
Excellent food!!
The staff is so friendly and helpful! We can absolutely recommend this Resort and would book it again.
The island had a lot of rain and storms this year so the road to the resort is under construction.
But the resort offers a shuttle three times a day to the diving school in Chalong Bay.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lara2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.5 km away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Koh Tao
697 reviews
4.4 km away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,301 reviews
0.3 km away
Ao Leuk Grand Hill Resort
Ao Leuk Grand Hill Resort
#46 of 79 in Koh Tao
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Coral View Resort Thailand
Coral View Resort Thailand
#46 of 153 in Koh Tao
252 reviews
1.5 km away
Montalay Eco Cottages
Montalay Eco Cottages
#71 of 153 in Koh Tao
37 reviews
3 km away
Sairee Cottage Resort
Sairee Cottage Resort
#8 of 153 in Koh Tao
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Talay Koh Tao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Talay Koh Tao

Address: Moo 3 | Aow Leuk Bay, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 153 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range: $56 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Talay Koh Tao 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco resort for nature lovers, nestled in the tropical forest, with access to first class snorkelling amongst beautiful coral reef. Yoga classes and courses available on scenic open-air sala. Authentic Thai food served throughout the day, peaceful, secluded and natural environment. Amazing location in the gulf of Thailand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Baan Talay Koh Tao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing