We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nong Khai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mekong Riverside Guest House
Ranked #33 of 47 Nong Khai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

First our booking was wrong and the hotel would not work with us. We had to pay for both nights. They were very rude about it. We finally got our rooms and no wifi in the rooms. The kids went down to tell them and they were very rude to the kids. The kids speak Thai, so they could understand. Our whole stay, the staff would give us mean looks. We felt very uncomfortable and unwelcome. The bathroom was so dirty. The sheets looked clean but you could tell they are old and stained. They also do not have safes in the rooms. We booked two rooms. One was a standard room and one was an upgrade. The upgraded room was smaller and no balcony. The standard room was bigger and had a balcony. The balcony was in a dark alley (better then nothing).

If you decide to stay here all I can say is good luck!!!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Courtney F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 5 of 5 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

I have stayed a few times here - largely because it is next to the river - there have always been some niggling faults; the rooms are pretty small for 800 baht.... and their breakfast was nothing short of dreadful. I've put up with this because I knew where to find the place and it was on the river front I could park my car in view of my room and it was only ever for one night before I went off to Laos. However this time I had a problem with the air. It wasn't responding to the remote and wa only pumping out tepid air.
I told them the problem and they offers me another room - unfortunately it didn't overlook my car. I then found that the air was only working half-hesrtedly in that ROM too. This would have been OK if it hadn't been for the "boss" who then went into a detailed description of how if I waited for ten minutes or slept on the right part of the bed it would be all right. I simply can't understand why when confronted with an obvious problem they don't either fix it offer a discount or a room with air that worked...but no it has to be a lengthy discussion about how to operate the remote despite the fact if you posted the temp required the machine shut down! Although at pains to point out the air was OK - despite the evidence - she said maintenance man had gone home - I'd checked in at about 4 pm.
So I got my money back and left.
If find it so puzzling that rather than accept that a customer has a valid complaint, time and again in Thailand the management or owner will argue the toss.
So if you don't want air or breakfast or reasonable customer service and are prepared to pay 800 baht so you can have dinner in a deserted restaurant by the river - this is the place for you.

PS - there is a triangular light fitting just above the bed-head that you can easily catch you head on - it could cause quite a serious head injury! On an earlier visit I pointed out that one was broken and they tried to charge me for it!

Room Tip: if the service or breakfast don't get you, the light fitting will! Watch out for it! There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWCowslip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Xavier R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: 半地下、一階、二階と部屋があるのでリバーサイドの二階と言えばなんとか。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sugitouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nong Khai hotels
0 km away
Park & Pool Resort
Park & Pool Resort
#1 of 19 in Nong Khai
114 reviews
0 km away
Hop Inn Nong Khai
Hop Inn Nong Khai
#5 of 19 in Nong Khai
35 reviews
0 km away
Nong Khai Resort
Nong Khai Resort
#4 of 19 in Nong Khai
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Royal Nakhara Hotel
Royal Nakhara Hotel
#3 of 19 in Nong Khai
79 reviews
0 km away
Busayarin Hotel
Busayarin Hotel
#8 of 19 in Nong Khai
20 reviews
0 km away
Amanta Hotel Nongkhai
Amanta Hotel Nongkhai
#2 of 19 in Nong Khai
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Riverside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Riverside Guest House

Address: 6 Moo 1 Mechai Road | Nongkai city, Nong Khai 43000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Nong Khai Province > Nong Khai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Nong Khai
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing