We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here!”
Review of Rainbow House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rainbow House
Ranked #10 of 172 Pai B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 March 2015

I booked a bungalow at Rainbow House for 4 nights and extended my stay to 2 weeks. Several other guests there at the time also extended their stays. Loved my time there. A pleasant 10 minute walk to town. I had one of the wooden bungalows and was very comfortable. The shared bathrooms are kept very clean and the hot water was good enough. Wifi connection throughout the property is very good. It is so peaceful there. Birds sing throughout the day in the beautiful garden. Each of the wooden bungalows has a platform with pillows to relax on during the day and there are hammocks scattered around the property. Instant coffee available at the reception area, self serve, for 10 baht, also large bottles of water for 5 baht. And free bananas from their own banana trees. But what makes this place so special are the owners. Super sweet and helpful. Their is no outside help. The family does everything, so your stuff is safe and secure. You can put a padlock on your bungalow door, but after meeting them I didn't feel the need to. When I got food poisoning from a restaurant in town (not uncommon in Pai) that put me down for a couple of days the owner stopped by my bungalow several times to make sure I was ok. Just across the road and up a little hill is Fluid Swimming Pool, which is great to spend a couple of hours at in the afternoon when its hot (60 baht entrance fee, good music, food and drinks). When I return to Pai there is nowhere else I would think of staying at but Rainbow House.

Room Tip: Bungalows 6 & 7 are connected and the walls are kinda thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2015

Awesome place- really clean and spacious bungalows, very cheap and way worth the price! 10 minute walk to center so its very quiet and relaxing, the owner is super nice. definitely one of the best budget places I've stayed in ;)

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank balosbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2015 via mobile

Very welcoming owners. Plenty of room and clean bathroom although slight smell of something from drain (unpleasant and biscuity is all I've got and I love a bourbon). Massive bed although slightly solid. Big garden area of bamboo bridge and short walk to town. Was the most expensive place I've stayed in for 2 months though at around £14/night. Would stay again for couple nights of luxury

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrightonTownCrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2015 via mobile

Peaceful, beautiful scenery, attention to detail. Lots of nice subtle touches you may not get elsewhere. Several spots to sit back in a hammock, enjoy the nature around the ponds or watch the sunset behind the mountains. Really felt at home.
Noi and sai are great hosts, so warm and friendly.
Worth noting there at several types of accommodation. Our favourite was the concrete bungalow's by the pond. These were less basic. Lots of space, lovely sense of light from the many windows, enough room to do yoga inside and outside on the balcony. Very comfortable. Such a pretty place to wake up to in the morning. Never wanted to leave!
Short cycle ride into town. Can be on walking street in 5 minutes. Near to the bars that everyone tends to head towards at the end of the night (don't cry bar) which is handy and never kept us awake. We were usually in bed pretty early.
Arranged a monthly rate during low season, great value.
Would love to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josephi draws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2015 via mobile

We love rainbow house! It's clean, peaceful and only a short walk from the centre of pai (straight road down, takes 5 minutes). It has hammocks, ponds and a great view of the sun setting over the mountains. We are in a bungalow with shared bathroom - the bathrooms are ok, clean and pretty much the same as everywhere else in thailand. The only drawback of this place is the hot water - it goes on and off and is lukewarm rather than hot but it's not freezing cold so still worth staying! The owners are very friendly, you can get a bottle of water for 5 baht which is less than in 7/11. We would definitely come back and recommend anyone looking for peace and quiet whilst being near the centre to stay here :)!

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
Thank cc17182123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pai hotels
4.4 km away
Pura Vida Resort
Pura Vida Resort
#2 of 31 in Pai
269 reviews
0.8 km away
LiLu Hotel
LiLu Hotel
#6 of 31 in Pai
113 reviews
0.7 km away
Pairadise
Pairadise
#3 of 172 in Pai
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
The Mountain View Guest House
0.8 km away
Breeze of Pai
Breeze of Pai
#17 of 172 in Pai
145 reviews
5.4 km away
Pai Hotspring Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow House

Address: 101 Maehi Road, Pai 58130, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Mae Hong Son Province > Pai
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in Pai
Price Range: $13 - $18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rainbow House 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are chiefly a budget guest house with 9 chalet bungalows (some en-suite) and one large house (suitable for groups of 12) within easy walking distance of the centre of Pai just off the Maehi Road and close to Fluid Swimming Pool. Running water through our garden ensures a lush green atmosphere throughout the year. We hope to be the choice of independent budget travellers looking for a convenient location for their stay in Pai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Rainbow House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing