We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$41
eDreamsUS$41
Agoda.comUS$41
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
107
47
17
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
107
47
17
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river walking street hear the live music two nights central location mae hong son loop comfy bed rent a scooter heating privacy mattresses
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed in Rim-pai cottage for 1 night in February having left our last guesthouse. On the basis of our last guesthouse and from having asked around at numerous other guesthouses in Pai, Rim-pai cottage was perfectly good value for money ( considering breakfast is included) at 700 baht for the room. The rooms themselves are perfectly good and are better sealed from insects than many guesthouses we viewed. The rooms included a sink with a hot tap which we found lacking in several places in Thailand and is very helpful for shaving.
The shower is a in a room that is located out the back of each bungalow. The area in which you shower is covered with a slanted roof but the rest of the shower area is uncovered making an unusual and interesting outside shower experience which was enjoyable and different.
The staff were lovely and always happy to help. For example, a male member of staff used his own mobile phone to contact our bus operator to give the details of our pick up after our own phones did not work. Breakfast was perfectly good, consisting of a tea or coffee, eggs and bacon or sausage, and a fruit salad.
The location is within Pai (which is very small, making everything easily accessible) unlike resorts like pairadise which are a dark 10minute walk from the town.
Overall, a nice guesthouse with lovely staff.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank i_am_darshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Had booked for two nights - left after the first night really disappointed. This place is very expensive for what it is - or what it thinks it is !! We decided to pay a little bit extra for the room right on the river - but theres no facilities in the room (apart from a speaker to plug your ipod into - really handy that one). You can't even make a drink and theres no facilities on site either !! We asked the lady who showed us to the room what time the restaurant shut in the evening - she said its not open in the evening it shuts after breakfast - and thats it theres nowhere within the hotel to get a drink. Breakfast took forever - and thats allowing for thai time !! When the breakfast came it was ok - basic fruit and bread and a tea or coffee. All the staff were nice but thats not enough.

The were supposed to light the fire pit at night as part of the facilities as its so cold at night - but they didn't bother. Hardly saw a staff member after mid-day.

Room ok but cold and no heating - shower tiny. We left and went to the Bueng Pai Farm - much nicer place and will do a review soon. Stay there instead.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kev R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We arrived in Chiang Mai, Thailand a few days before New Years, December 2011. We heard about Pai from many people so we thought we'd spend a quiet weekend in the country. Turns out, Pai is a HUGE Thai vacation destination. Totally overrun with new years visitors. And loud, too.

But, we hopped off the bus, walked down the crowded main street that leads toward the river and entered Rim Pai Cottages. Immediate quiet and calm, even though the crowds were just a few feet away on the walking street.

I made our reservation with Moo who was one of the most wonderful people to deal with and that attitude extended across the entire staff. Beautiful bungalows, all on stilts, along the Pai river. There is a riverside set of cheap bungalows directly across the river that may get noisy, at least on New Years Eve they did, but it's New Years Eve.

The cottages were rustic and we had a "riverline" cottage, feet from the river, with a comfortable bed, mosquito netting, a balcony over the river and, blissfully, no TV. Breakfast was pretty good and served outdoors.

Overall, we loved this place and would return happily during quieter times. A little pricey for the area but not pricey for the level of accommodation.

If you have $50 or $60 for a night, do it. Seriously. And location can't be beat.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rkiel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 January 2012

The Lonely Planet has the Rim-Pai cottage in the Top End category, but I suspect that classification may be based on price only as the rooms are distinctly "Mid Range" at the very best (we stayed in guesthouses with similar facilities). It's also their "pick" for Pai but I'm not sure I'd agree with that, although I didn't go see any other hotels.

The setting is really lovely and the individual bungalows are very pretty. You have grassy lawns with a swing and nice views of the river, and even a resident hedgehog. In the rooms however, there are absolutely no facilities, other than a bathroom with yellow paint in the shower that peels as you wash. Breakfast was also quite average. You're right in the middle of town, but then "town" isn't that big a place. So overall it's a nice place to hang out, but the rooms are disappointing given the attention spent on the outside, and it's probably a bit too expensive because of that.

Pai is really nice town to stroll around though, full of hippy backpackers, visiting Thais seeking colder climes and atmospheric cafes. The night market has a really nice ambiance and plenty of interesting food offerings.

Room tip: We had a Garden Superior, which is a bungalow in the garden, but this looked like all the other bungalows from the outside (maybe I'm mistaken, and maybe the inside is different... I'll never know)
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zdfgjkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Just to make this review in context, I should clarify my trip's intention. I was not looking at relaxing at the hotel all day, it was more a base where I should start my daily sightseeing and shopping trips. So if you are looking at a resort where you have everything and don't have to even venture out, this is not the resort for you.

Pai itself is a small community on the mountain top, very backpacker and rustic, though with increasing popularity, more luxury resorts are coming up.

The resort is well located, next to Pai river and along the main street of Pai where there are plenty of local shops, eateries and small bars. Outside the resort just to the left, there are local massages, THB 200 for an hour's worth of foot massage. Bliss.

On weekends, the street just outside turns into a walking street market selling souvenirs, T-shirts and little knick-knacks and food. So beware if you rented a car, the streets will be closed at about 5 pm so you would have to find an alternate way back to the resort.

THe river itself is rather pretty in the morning, all misty and dreamy.

Room itself is basic, we were 4 persons to a room. THere's no TV at all so be warned. Breakfast is at this nice wooden house and you can choose between American style or Thai style.

THe service is really basic. The receptionist who checked us in was also the server at breakfast. By 8 pm there is no staff on standby so forget room service or midnight housekeeping.

All in all I had a good stay as the resort was clean, self-sufficient and very conveniently located. If there are any complains, it would be that the frogs are superbly vocal at night so sleeping can be quite a challenge. Other than that it was a pleasant enough stay.

Room tip: Try to get one closer to the river so you get a view at least.
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrinCessPraze
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews