We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent! Stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Emeralda Resort Ninh Binh
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Ninh Binh
Certificate of Excellence
Peripatetic member
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Magnificent! Stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2016

The emeralda is an exquisite hotel set in sizeable gardens; rooms of the highest quality, excellent resto at affordable prices ($30-40 for two, eating main course & fruit juices).
Spa is of exceptionable quality, well-qualified staff, discount offers.

The rooms are laid out in small circular groups (they call them clusters), some with a personal pool for the cluster in the centre (rooms 1xx, 2xx, 3xx). Meaning you only see the dozen or so rooms in your own cluster, not a long tower block of hundreds of rooms.
And your cluster is calm - screaming kids tend to stay in the indoor heated pool.
Some reviewers have moaned about distances eg to pool or reception. What, five minutes (max) walk through the gardens is going to kill you? Then call the free golf cart.
Some have said the hotel is far from Ninh Binh: well, it is - but that town has little of interest to tourists. Anyway, you can reach Ninh Binh or Trang An or other tourist destinations for a $10 (metered) taxi ride.
Sightseeing tip: go to Trang An. Then go back to Trang An a second time. It is stunning, varied, temples, 9 times rowing through mountains, 2.5 hrs long - outstanding. Don't bother with Tam Coc which is much smaller, much less impressive, much shorter time on boat - and has grasping boatmen. Don't bother with the boat trip near the emeralda either.

Room Tip: In clusters with rooms 1xx 2xx 3xx; unless you have kida, then choose 6xx 7xx or famiky rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yogayogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldaNinhBinhGM, General Manager at Emeralda Resort Ninh Binh, responded to this review, 6 January 2017
Dear Yogayogi,

Thank you very much for taking time to write such a helpful review.

We are thrilled to read that you loved the rooms, Organics restaurant, La Cochinchine Luxury Spa, and more, and really appreciated your lovely words about our facilities and services.

It certainly sounds from your review that Trang An did wow you with its stunning beauty. Actually Tam Coc and Van Long which is adjacent to our resort is worth a visit too, especially if travellers would hear about these places’ attached stories told by our knowledgeable English speaking tour guide.

We are looking forward to your soonest return to Emeralda Resort Ninh Binh.

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    276
    61
    13
    7
See reviews for
197
370
21
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Givat Ada, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Had a very nice time there. A little peice of nature and tranquilty after visiting Hanoi.
Very cosy and relaxing rooms, good facilities, a very nice spa and gym. Had a great massage there - highly recommended. Good dinner, breakfast was O.K.
The staff was welcoming and friendly

Stayed December 2016, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Guy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldaNinhBinhGM, General Manager at Emeralda Resort Ninh Binh, responded to this review, 25 December 2016
Dear Guy L,

Thank you for sharing your kind words, and highly recommending our La Cochinchine Luxury Spa.

It certainly sounds from your review that Emeralda Resort Ninh Binh did not fail to impress you, and you are satisfied with all services and facilities and appreciate your staff’s helpfulness.

Hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

Ninh Binh is amazing and Vin Lan is a place you will remember for the rest of your life. This resort is located in the middle of it, next to Vin Lanh and the service, food (what a breakfast buffet!!!) and villas, pools, gim and every single corner of it is defined by wonderful qualities and a very good taste. I highly recommend the place.

Stayed November 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank osiris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldaNinhBinhGM, General Manager at Emeralda Resort Ninh Binh, responded to this review, 25 December 2016
Dear Osiris M,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing lovely words and photos.

We feel really proud hearing that to you Emeralda Resort Ninh Binh is like heaven and the adjacent Van Long Natural Reserve is such a place to remember.

It is always nice to start your day with tasty food and beverage selections at our Sen Restaurant, and great to know that you particularly enjoyed it.

Do come back soon for more amazing time with us.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCM
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

The most luxury resort in the area connecting with Van Long reserve and not far from famous Tam Coc, We stayed in deluxe room which was huge, confort bed and very very big pillows. The room was designed like an ancient Vietnamese house, lovely !!!! I liked the outdoor shower with small garden, romantic.
Breakfast was adequate and acceptable for me.
During our stay we found some cockroaches running around and even a dead ones inside the pillow. We called the reception and they send some staffs to change and did some cleaning. They offered us to change the room but we decided to stay cause it was midnight and everyone tired. No apology being said!!!
Overall, it's a good resort in term of facilities, design, location but the service and maintenance must be improved

Stayed October 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldaNinhBinhGM, General Manager at Emeralda Resort Ninh Binh, responded to this review, 24 December 2016
Dear Vu D,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback.

Please accept my sincere apology that we were not able to deliver the best guest service as per your expectations, and that you had to experience inconveniences at midnight after a tiring day.

Meanwhile, we extremely appreciate your kind words on the Deluxe Room, the most gorgeous room of ours, and other nice impressions about ‘the most luxury resort in Ninh Binh’.

Hopefully you will return one day to this beautiful resort, allowing us the second chance to give you lovely memories only.

Best regards,
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

Beautiful beautiful hotel in a gorgeous setting. Perfect for relaxing and treating yourself at the spa. It's a very large complex so be prepared for nice walks around the area.

Staff are pleasant but on checking in no one told us the main restaurant will be closed for dinner for a private event so we walked there only to walk all the way back to the pool side for dinner.

We had issues with the wifi but was sorted in a couple of hours.

The food was nice but quite rubbish for vegetarians.

It's a nice get away for a few days but I'd get bored if I stayed much longer.

Stayed November 2016
Helpful?
Thank Sajal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmeraldaNinhBinhGM, General Manager at Emeralda Resort Ninh Binh, responded to this review, 27 November 2016
Dear Sajal P,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Emeralda Resort Ninh Binh.

We are proud that the resort’s beauty really impress you, and you truly enjoyed our food and spa treatments.

Please accept our apology for not clearly letting you know upon check-in which restaurants are open for lunch and dinner during your stay. Also we do take your notes on food options for vegetarians into account, and will work on this to diversify choices.

We are looking forward to your soonest return.

Best regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ninh Binh hotels
16.7 km away
Tam Coc Garden
Tam Coc Garden
#2 of 26 in Ninh Binh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
17.1 km away
Nam Hoa Hotel
Nam Hoa Hotel
#3 of 26 in Ninh Binh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
12.5 km away
Ninh Binh Legend Hotel
Ninh Binh Legend Hotel
#6 of 26 in Ninh Binh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 km away
Vietnamese Ancient Village- Lang Viet Co Hotel
14.8 km away
Ngoc Anh Hotel 2
Ngoc Anh Hotel 2
#7 of 26 in Ninh Binh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.0 km away
Bai Dinh Hotel
Bai Dinh Hotel
#16 of 26 in Ninh Binh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emeralda Resort Ninh Binh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emeralda Resort Ninh Binh

Property: Emeralda Resort Ninh Binh
Address: Van Long Nature Reserve | Gia Van Commune - Gia Vien District, Ninh Binh, Vietnam (Formerly Ana Mandara Ninh Binh)
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ninh Binh Province > Ninh Binh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Ninh Binh
Price range (per night): $146 - $251
Hotel Class:4 star — Emeralda Resort Ninh Binh 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of calm in the first imperial capital of Vietnam, Ninh Binh; perhaps the most historic province in northern Vietnam. Only 90 kilometres from Hanoi’s centre, you will find a more leisurely pace of living.Nestled in the Van Long Nature Reserve- a primeval tropical forest- and surrounded by spectacular mountains, the Emeralda Resort Ninh Binh has been built and furnished in the style of traditional Tonkin Vietnamese villages, but with modern comforts and environmental commitment.Wake up to a mountain view from an elegant superior room orupgrade to, and make yourself comfortable in, an Emeralda deluxe room, including spacious bathrooms with garden views and an outdoor shower and a private terrace where you can stretch out on a comfortable armchair and sip a cup of tea among nature.Discover Ninh Binh’s attractions by bike is a great activity for the whole family -, stimulate the senses with rejuvenating treatments for mind and body at Spa LaCochinchine, re-charge yourself in the fitness center, mini golf course or hang out with the kids in the four outdoor pools and indoor heated pool.Choose from mouthwatering Vietnamese specialties or healthy international favorites in our three restaurants and bar, or enjoy the weekend BBQ night at the pool bar, where an extensive cuisine awaits.Our two conference rooms – Van Long and Van Trinh - can accommodate up to 450 attendees for international conferences, company meetings or team building sessions. Take advantage of the modern audio-visual equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emeralda Resort Ninh Binh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing