We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Residence Bintan
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Sampurna Jaya(Tanjung Pinang)
US$21
US$19
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$34
US$26
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pelangi Hotel(Tanjung Pinang)
US$26
US$23
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$47
US$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Laguna(Tanjung Pinang)
US$25
US$24
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Panorama(Tanjung Pinang)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sunrise City(Tanjung Pinang)
Free cancellation until 26/05
US$26
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
Shangrila Hotel(Tanjung Pinang)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
18
5
3
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
5
3
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnewly opened resortbeachfront villaduring the check in processteething issuesrica ricayoga studioshuttle servicekids clubprasadconniecomforttimingpaxtransferlandgymsingapore
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed here after CNY and I enjoyed my staycation away from busy city of Singapore. A friendly Ms Syofia who welcome us during the arrival at BBT and she assisted us too on our departure back to SG and arrange our ferry tickets at the counter.

The land transfer are inclusive and arranged by the resort and it took an hour plus to reach the resort but you may appreciate the green scenery of Bintan, Indonesia..

The staff are friendly and very accomodating to all our enquiries..
Their villa are huge with beautiful garden scenery as we stayed in a Garden Terrace.. I know they just newly opened resort and some area still in progress but for sure the outcome will be amazing. A perfect relaxation and sit on your living room while staring at the garden view.

They provided a bicycle in our villa so we have the chance to roam around the resort and they have other amenities like gym, yoga studio, spa, and even kid’s club which will be good for a family staying the resort.
The food are nice and beautifully prepared by the chef. Thanks to the The Dining staff when we requested In-Villa dinner.

Thank you The Residence Bintan for making our stay memorable and definitely will come back again to experience more of your sports activities very soon...

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
7  Thank vykram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 March 2018

Dear vykram

Selamat siang

First and foremost, thank you for selecting our resort as your holiday destination of choice in Bintan.

We glad to know that you had such a memorable time while staying with us. We greatly appreciate the time you took to share your kind words with fellow travelers on TripAdvisor.

Your personal recognition towards our team member is highly appreciated that will allow them to grow their level of motivation.

We look forward to welcoming you back again with our fun loving and adventurous sporting activities.

Terima kasih
Bagus Paramarta


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

First of, any resort that is just opened wil have teething issues. Should not be the case but Murphy's Law dictates that anything that can go wrong will go wrong.

The negatives first.
The main problem lies in co-ordination. A system is slowly being put in place but maybe that should have be done earlier before the property was launched.

The landscaping is not much to write home about but then you can see the potential. Given time, I believe that things should look better.

The positives
The crew was fantastic. Prasad, Joko, Dida, Urfal and a whole of other staff took it upon themselves to make sure any hardware issues that could be resolved were. Housekeeping was prompt and the buggy rides fun. The Spa was comfortable (the view was under construction though). The food was worth the money (a bit expensive but then it is a resort). The ambience in the Ricia Ricia was nice and the quartet was cool (not Broadway standard but enjoyable nonetheless). The entire build of the hotel was good (athough some parts were more aesthetics than practical). Although there is nothing much nearby, I went there to just chill - and my purpose was achieved.

In summary? A resort in the making and with the staff they have, I think in time a fantastic time to be had.

Room Tip: Ask for the VISTA rooms if on budget but the Villas if not.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank tpk j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 March 2018

Dear tpk j

Many thanks for spending your valuable time in writing this review.

Your personal recognition towards our team members effort is a great motivation for them to perform better and serve our guests with genuine care.

Thanks and regards
Bagus Paramarta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

The hotel transfer from the jetty was a school bus for little children. There were also environmental safety issues like too many steps in the resort. My Son fell down from a step and hurt his knee, back and both hands. He is still complaining that his back is very painful today. ☹️
I generally agree with some of the comments from the other guests. But maybe I should also point out some of the pros there. Most of the hotel staff were very friendly and were trying their best to help. Staffs like Mr Juko and Mr Wiwit were exceptional helpful and made our trip a lot more happier. Most of the staff can speak good English. But I felt the hotel systems and standard procedures are still lacking. E.g. the restaurant couldn’t print out my bill and they didn’t provide standard toiletries like toothbrush, toothpaste, comb, shower cap etc. But in as a whole, the stay was comfortable.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
7  Thank Bobby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 March 2018

Dear Booby C

Thank you for visiting our Resort and it's grateful to hear your constructive comment which we really value in order to improve our service standard that we deliver to our guest.
We understand your concern regarding the bus service and the system failure, which are already resolved.
We are grateful that you have recognised our Team members effort during your stay with us and will convey your comment for their good motivation.

Best regards
Bagus Paramarta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

Booked a 3D2N with The Residence,Bintan over CNY 2018 for a relaxing short getaway. Big mistake! Took 1.5hrs from ferry terminal to reach the hotel and was utterly dismayed to find most parts of the premise still under construction. Felt trapped because there’s really nothing much u can do there. (Beach not ready, kidz clubhouse and playground still under construction, no shade from the harsh sun as landscape is not lush enough, spa room was hot and stuffy as aircon seemed under-powered) The whole place was so underdeveloped with just a small pool. I was terribly disappointed because:
1) staff not adequately trained in service delivery
2) exorbitant prices charged for poor-quality food and drinks. Felt that we were being ‘held hostage’ here as there are only 2 restaurants with very limited menu. Couldn’t go anywhere else as hotel is inaccessible to most places.
3) security measures were lax. I felt unsafe as I don’t think the hotel management has came up with any appropriate safety procedures or protocols. Eg: a) We went for a mangrove trip and driver got lost on our way back at night. It was pitch black and he actually got out of the car to make a phone car, leaving the car door opened!! Anything could have happened!! b) Kid was locked inside a toilet cubicle and they can’t even find a key to unlock the door! They had to hack parts of the door off to unlock the door!
I should have stayed home instead.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
15  Thank Serene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 March 2018

Dear Serene L

Many thanks for taking time to review The Residence Bintan on TripAdvisor.
It was nice meeting you in person and hear your concerns during your stay with us. Rest assured all your concerns has been taken into consideration accordingly for our improvement in delivering competitive service standards.

Allow us to announce that our Kakatu Kids Club has opened its door with a lot of activities specially designed for kids with well-focused programs on being active and learning in and around nature.

Thanks and regards
Bagus Paramarta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

Newly opened resort located an hour & a half drive away from the ferry terminal. Got upgraded to the estate villa upon check in & tried the buffet lunch at the restaurant (duck curry was fantastic!). Great place for a short getaway: large estate that’s well maintained, clean & earnest staff. Though transfer from the ferry terminal and room service left much to be desired, a new hotel isn’t without its teething issues & overall we had a wonderful one night stay at the resort. Looking forward to a more comfortable transfer in the future perhaps? A must-try would be the sate & crackers at the in-house rica rica restaurant. Would have loved to try the in-house spa but the prices were extremely steep by Indonesia standards.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 March 2018

Dear Alex T

We delighted to hear about your feedback and comments.

Truly hope to be at your service again in near future.

Thanks and regards
Bagus Paramarta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews